She Says… A Must-Read

Not to belabor the sleep training debate, but I just came across the absolute best article on sleep training that I’ve ever read. I couldn’t agree more.

READ THE WHOLE ARTICLE HERE.

With all of that said, I decided to postpone sleep training with Owen until after Thanksgiving. The kid is eating more than I would ever think possible for his size (36 ounces yesterday?!), so apparently he needs it. Once he finishes this growing period, we’ll work together on a sleeping period.

I also stopped swaddling him, which is a blessing and a curse. He’s been really struggling against the swaddle for the last week or so… I think he wants to practice all of his new motor developments in his sleep. And he’s been rocking and rolling on his play mat so much that I think he might be close to rolling over, which would force us to stop the swaddle, so it’s an inevitable shift. Falling asleep at night has still been effortless, but he seems to get woken up more easily. He’s had a few extra wake-ups and I’ve gone in to rock him back to sleep. Now I’m trying to institute the “shhh/pat” method instead of always picking him up to help him understand the valuable skill of how to put himself to sleep. It works most of the time, but daytime naps without the swaddle are still a toss up. Sometimes he goes down with no rocking at all, and sometimes his little arms are flailing until I rock him all the way to sleep. He’ll figure it out, though, I’m sure.

Tonight someone else is going to put him to sleep while Benjamin and I go out to a Boston bloggers event, so we’ll see how that goes.

10 responses to “She Says… A Must-Read

  1. I think I forgot to mention in my previous sleep comments that we did a LOT of ‘shhhing/patting’ while we worked on Eli’s sleep. I vaguely remember doing it at night for while (weird how you forget so quickly!). We did that for naps for weeks though instead of picking him up and it worked great until at some point it seemed like that stimulated him rather than soothed him. At that point (he was probably 16 weeks) we just started giving him a pacifier, kissing his head and leaving him to his own devices. That’s when we started letting him cry for 5 minutes at a time.

    Fantastic article, by the way. I am a big supporter of trying different things until you figure out what works best for you & your child. 🙂

  2. Such a great article! Thank you for posting research based information. I think that so often we get caught up in OPINONS and personal accounts that we forget about unbiased, research-based facts.
    I appreciate the information as we have not yet embarked on the sleep training, but I definitely think about it a lot. (My daughter is 10 weeks old, I’ll wait a bit….)
    Here’s to motherhood, keeping our sanity, and loving out kiddos as best we can! 🙂

  3. Rolling over caused a huge sleep regression for us, with my first child, as did sitting up. He was rolling over to his tummy, which made him automatically push up into “tummy time” position, and he would wake up several times a night. The thing that helped us was that he only rolled in one direction – to his right – for the first few weeks. So we put him down to sleep near the edge of the crib, so when he tried to roll, he would just hit the side of the crib and not roll all the way over. It worked perfectly! By the time he learned to roll in the opposite direction, it was no longer an issue – he would either sleep on his tummy or roll back to his back or side. Obviously this isn’t relevant for every child, but if it becomes an issue with Owen, see if he’s rolling in both directions or favoring one over the other, and you may be able to use this technique.

    It’s hard to give up the swaddle, but once you’re free of it, it’s one less thing to worry about!

    Great article – thanks for posting!

  4. Samuel was a great sleeper and sleep training took all of two day to do. He was four months when we started and everything was going great… until he started teething. Right now, at 9 months, he’s working on tooth #3 AND #4, so, I’m not getting as good sleep as I used to. :/

    Something you might have to deal with. Good luck!

  5. Thanks for the link! I haven’t gotten through the whole thing yet, but it looks awesome.

  6. I am new to your blog but wanted to say thank you for the link as well! My little boy is 4 weeks old so we are not quite at this step yet but this will be great for when we are!! Thank you!

  7. It all kind of comes down to doing what works best for parents and baby, doesn’t it…us research-minded parents often try to make things so complicated, when they needn’t be!

  8. My only wish is that my baby would go to sleep as dependably as the dog 🙂

  9. Oh, the swaddle. It’s so awesome…until it isn’t. We stopped swaddling around the same time because he was busting out of it every night, and it did suck for a little bit until he got over that startle reflex. But it was so nice to have one less thing to deal with at bedtime! And like you, nighttime went better than naps at first for us. I had the advantage (?) of him being in daycare at the time though, where they would not swaddle him. So they got to do the daytime sleep work. 🙂

  10. I know you posted this eons ago, but we’re heading in to sleep training now, and I’ve been wrestling with my feelings on what method would work best for us. Basically, that article just gave me new confidence that we will not “break” our daughter and that we need to find whatever works for DH, LO and myself – not someone else. Every day I’ve had a new worry about this or that and that has been reinforced or opposed by random googling. This article sheds light and comforts me.

Leave a Reply

