She Says… Early Morning Wake-up Call

So this morning I got an early morning wake-up call at 4:30am. And 5:30am. And 6:00am. And by wake-up call I mean Owen crying through the monitor.

Not the best way to start the day (especially at 4:30am), but unfortunately the way I’ve been starting my days since last Tuesday.

In this post last week I described how I’m trying out a sort of modified sleep training to get Owen back to waking up only once (like he used to do on his own). Basically I’m letting him wake up for the first time whenever he does naturally. The past week or so that has been around 12:45am. I feed him a nice, big 8oz bottle (of which he normally drinks about 7oz) and pop him right back in the crib. He falls asleep immediately. Then the plan is to not go to get him again until morning time, even if he cries. I thought it would be the easiest way to get him to remember how to just get up once and to combat this recent return to a 4:00am wake-up as well. Because at this point he’s eating more than enough between his daytime bottles and his midnight feeding (usually 32-34oz a day!), so he does NOT need to be eating again.

I’m not really sure what’s causing the 4:00am wake-up. When I HAVE gone in there to check on him (before I started this modified sleep training thing), nothing was awry. He did not pee/poop out of his diaper. He was not cold or warm. His swaddle/pajamas are fine. When I go to him in the morning, the crying immediately turns to smiles and he’s ready to play. Which leads me to believe that this 4:00am wake-up is purely social. Perfectly normal for his age/development, I know, but not a habit I’d like to ingrain.

One problem (which I plan to fix starting tonight) is that I’ve been leaving the monitor on, turned down as low as it will go, after the midnight feeding. I think this was my way of keeping a foot in the door, so to speak. I guess I felt like if he cried a certain way, I would know something was wrong, and I’d go in and check on him, even if it meant “screwing up” sleep training. I also kind of wanted to know when he was crying so I could keep a mental note of how many nights it took him to adopt the new schedule and how long he cried for (you know, gathering data for future sleep training). But really all it’s done is make me get less sleep (since I’m awake starting from 4:30am when I hear that first “a-WAH”), and frustrate me and make me doubt myself at 5:30am when he’s been crying on and off for an hour.

He’s a stubborn little dude.

  • 1st night: 10 minutes of crying at 4:30am and then he fell asleep
  • 2nd night: 15 minutes of crying at 5:30am and then he fell asleep
  • 3rd night: Perfection — no crying after the midnight feeding, woke up at 6:30am (Overly confident/naive me thinks, “AWESOME! We did it!”)
  • 4th night: 3:00am wake-up followed by nearly 1.5 hours of crying (on and off). Since it was at a weird time (3:00am instead of 4:00am), I thought maybe something was wrong, so I went in and checked on him. All smiles. I picked him up and patted him, got one little burp out of him and put him back in the crib. Ugh.
  • 5th night: 4:30am wake-up, 15-20 minutes of crying, then asleep. Up again at 5:30am, 15-20 minutes of crying, then asleep. Good progress?
  • 6th night: 4:30am wake-up, 15-20 minutes of crying, then back asleep. We’re getting somewhere…
  • Last night: 4:30am wake-up, 30 minutes of crying, 5:30am wake up, 30 minutes of crying. I got up at 6:00am and we started our day. Back to square one.

My goal is to wake up between 6:00am and 7:00am. Before 6:00am is too early for all of us, unless of course he decides to sleep through the night. Then I will happily get up at 5:30am! But if he’s still getting up once, I think 6:00am – 7:00am is reasonable. But the issue I had today is that 6:00am rolled around and he was in the midst of crying for 30 – 40 minutes. I don’t want him to think that I went in and got him because he cried for so long (thus training him to cry for 40 minutes and I’ll give up and come get him). But it was morning, and there was no guarantee that he was going to fall asleep again, so I could have been waiting a long time for that quiet period to go get him.

I thought sleep training was supposed to take only a few nights? Ha. Hahaha. No such luck. Thoughts on how to deal with this? Am I crazy to think that I can “train” him back to the schedule he once set for himself?

33 responses to “She Says… Early Morning Wake-up Call

  1. I’m dealing with the same thing with our 13-month old. We’re weaning from breast to cow’s milk but he’s doing JUST FINE. However, like clockwork, around 4:30 every morning he cries and cries. His daddy has rocked him some to calm him down but even that doesn’t work. It has always been “feeding time” to hold him for a few more hours but now I think it’s just a feed-for-comfort situation. We’re just going to try to push it back in 15 minute increments. We won’t get him until 4:45, then 5, then 5:15, and so on. Good luck! I’ll be interested to hear what you do!

  2. Kate, I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but my son went through a four-month sleep regression (google it…it’s super-common) and it took him, oh, 9 months to sleep as well as he slept before 4 months!

  3. for whatever reason i just think this is crazy but i haven’t done the research that you have. you never know when he is going to into a growth spurt or just not feel well…

    i also think that monitors can be the biggest headache when you are trying something new. you will always have your “mom ears” on so for you, you might just shut the thing off after feeding him.

  4. I think you are doing a great job. You know that he isn’t hungry or uncomfortable… he just wants to play! It will probably just take time. If Eli wakes up before we are ready to get up, we definitely turn the volume off on the monitor (we have a video monitor, which is AWESOME!). Our ‘optimal’ wake up time for him is 7:00, so if he wakes up early, we leave him in his crib until 7. He doesn’t usually cry about it… he just talks to himself and eats his feet until we come get him.

    The time change has caused some change in sleep for us… Eli goes to bed between 7:00-8:00 at night and used to wake up between 7:00-7:30 in the morning (we’re lucky, I know). Since the time changed, he’s still gone to bed at the same time, but now he wakes up at around 6:30. He sleeps so well at night, so I have no problem with that… it is just strange to me!

  5. Just a thought but how much does Owen weigh? I know they suggest holding off on sleep training till they are about 15lbs. But that is for the full night with no feed schedule. Since you are still doing one night feeding he should be metabolically able to do but that being said my daughter only started sleeping through the night at about 5 months (she’s just rounding 15lbs now). Prior to 5 months she was still sleeping in the bassinet and waking every 2-3hrs for a nibble. My feeling is that if they are ready it shouldn’t take too much work (maybe like a week or two with some progress along the way). I know it is hard to get up that second time in the night especially if he’s not really needing to eat but maybe in the long run it will help build his confidence and he’ll start sleeping through the night quicker in the end? Just a thought (I’m a first time Mom what do I know)…don’t feel like you are spoiling him…soon he won’t wake up at night at all and you’ll miss the snuggles (even those middle of the night ones LOL)! Regardless you are doing a great job and I hope it all works out!

  6. We are dealing with this EXACT same thing right now. It started about 4 months (the dreaded sleep regression) and has NEVER fixed itself *SIGH*. We have been blaming it on him being sick for pretty much the last month though; he wakes himself up coughing, can’t breathe great, etc. We keep hoping that once he kicks his cold, he will sleep well again. Then he gets another cold! GRRRR! Good luck!

  7. I’ve read that the nighttime “tank up” bottle does not help babies sleep through the night. I don’t know where though – Healthy Sleep Habits Happy Child probably.
    I tried it for a while like you did and then my sister suggested that instead of putting my daughter (12 weeks old) to bed at 8pm I continue the “every three hours” to later in the night.
    So now I wake her at 8am then we eat/play/nap/yaddayadda all day long. She gets cranky in the evening so I let her catnap or swing whatever she needs to feel better but no matter what I start the bedtime routine at 9pm and then give her a bottle. Since it’s not three hours after the last one she takes what she wants and then I put her in bed. Since I started this she has woken up several times in the night to fuss a bit but goes right back to sleep. She sleeps from 9:30/10:30pm to 8am without intervention! I noticed too that she has taken a few more ounces during the days as if she is naturally tanking herself up for the night. I plan to just gradually move up the bedtime routine 10minutes at a time (over a few weeks? I’m not sure) until I get to 8pm. I know every baby is different and I’m def not an expert as this is my first baby but it’s worked so far! Good luck with your training! He sounds like a sweet baby and I know it’ll work out for you soon.

  8. I don’t do any formal sleep training, but I do know from talking to other mothers that every child goes back and forth on sleeping well and then waking up a lot (even 3 year olds still do it!)

    My only tip for the social wake-up is to be as boring as possible. My baby used to do a social wake-up and if I left her alone, she would progress to screaming. So instead I went into her nursery and sat with her in the dark, no playing, no singing, no rocking. She got bored and sleepy enough to go back in her bassinett. I only had to do that twice, so she either learned not to get up or she just was going through a phase.

    The 4:30am wake-ups are hard because they’re not super tired and some days they just might be up. I know how much that sucks because it screws up the nap schedule too!

    Just keep a sense of humor and remind yourself that one day when he’s a teenager you’ll be asking for tips on getting him to wake up! 🙂

  9. This seems a bit intense to me. If you offer to feed him when he wakes up around 4am, does he eat? Even if he doesn’t “need” to eat at that point to maintain a “healthy” weight and survive, if he is going through a growth spurt or cutting teeth (ouch!) and wants to eat, at this point I’d say he should probably eat.

    On the other hand, if you’re going to stick with it – I say definitely turn the monitor off so that at least one of you is benefiting from letting him cry it out!

  10. I think you’re doing a great job! This sleep training business is NOT for the faint of heart! It’s not easy to listen to them cry and stick to your plan. My son did the exact same thing. Everyone told me it would take 2-4 nights and he would get the hint. No such luck. For us it was a good week and a half to two weeks. 😦 And there was no pattern to when he was crying. I was at my wit’s end and one night he just got it! And then the next night too…and the next….and the next… I just think he’s got a stubborn personality. And now, at 2, I can definitely say that is an accurate assessment! Every baby is different. You’ll get through it and you will succeed. I say, stick to it. One of these nights he’ll round the corner and you’ll be shouting for joy!

  11. I read that same sleep book and fantasize about having this perfect sleeping through the night baby. It will happen. When they are ready. I think as a Parent we need to also listen to our own intuition, even if it means it might botch up some schedule. I am NO expert, that is for sure but I do feel like each day is a new start, no matter how well or poor the baby slept the night before.
    SIDE NOTE–My baby still wakes up to feed at 7 months, and she is hungry! In the am her internal alarm is at 715 am. Sometimes she sleeps all the way through 7pm-7am and some times she does not. There are SO many variables involved in each given day. Who knows when they are teething, feeling lonely, or separation anxiety??
    You are doing everything right! Keep it up.

  12. I disagree with a lot of the comments here. I think you are doing the wrong thing by letting him “cry it out.” Babies cry because they need you. I understand that you want sleep and a predictable schedule but those two things and a baby don’t go together! Your job is to respond to his needs, whenever they arise. I think sleep training should wait until he’s older and can understand limits and rules. I never did any type of training with my daughter and right now, she gets up once to have a quick bottle and then goes back to bed. She slowly bumped down her nightly wake ups on her own and I’m sure we’ll soon be down to zero. If we still have a middle of the night wake-up when she’s 1, we’ll think about a different approach. And, as a side note, I work full time so there are no naps for me during the day!

  13. This is all so interesting to me to read. I’m due next month with our first baby (a girl) and my mom swears all three of us were amazing sleepers. I need to ask her what her trick was, but I’m doing a lot of reading on sleep/feeding cycles and I think a lot of it is going to be trial and error. I’m very Type-A and imagine I’ll want Maya on a schedule early on, but from what I’m seeing other new moms go through, unless it’s a generally easy baby, for the most part, they don’t sleep through the night for a couple months and it just comes with the territory. That said, I imagine I– like you –will want to try. I have no real advice to offer as I’m not there yet, but know you’re doing all you can to meet Owen’s needs. I disagree with what BabyWise said (that you can spoil an infant by catering to their every need). My baby isn’t here yet, but I think early on, it’s our duty as parents to respond … but there does come a point where I think it’s appropriate to set ground-rules (or at least attempt to). Maybe Owen just isn’t ready yet and maybe that’s OK??

  14. I think we’re one of the only cultures in the world that expects a baby to conform to our schedule almost immediately. My personal opinion (take it with a grain of salt, as these discussions are generally so frought with emotion) is that our expectations are too high. It’s normal for babies to wake at night, both to feed and to find security with a parent. Some babies do this longer than others, but more 4 month olds wake up at least 2-3 times than sleep for 12 hours straight.

    You’ve said that you think it’s normal for Owen to wake up at night at 4 months, yet you want to alter this so badly that you’ll let him cry intermittently for up to an hour in the middle of the night. I know that we all have different opinions on sleep training, but mine is that all you are teaching him is that his parents won’t respond to him if he’s in distress at night. I can understand waiting 5-10 minutes to see if he really wants something or is just fussing himself back to sleep, but refusing to go in after 40 minutes of crying so that you don’t “train him” that this is good behavior is beyond what I’m willing to do for any of my children. I don’t think he has the capacity at 4 months to manipulate you.

    You know him better than any of us internet strangers and you obviously take great care of him, but I think you might be putting too much pressure on yourself and him with this sleep issue. I don’t need to tell you how lucky you and I are to have healthy, growing children, especially after your long struggle to have him in your arms. You’re also lucky to have raising Owen be your only job right now. Many women work, raise other children, and get up at night with a baby and are still functional (although some days are better than others for me!). It may not be convenient to your ideal amount of sleep, but what IS convenient about babies? My suggestion is to take a deep breath, stop stessing about scheduels and sleep, and just enjoy babyhood. He’ll be big and independent before you know it. Having just gotten my 3rd child to start sleeping for 9 hours straight (at 9 months and without crying it out), I can say that what you remember from your child’s infancy isn’t the fatigue, it’s the sleepy smiles, milk breath, cuddles, and joy of seeing your child grow, change, and be happy.

  15. I just re-read your entry and can’t help but say it this way–I think letting a baby who is barely 4 months old cry for 1.5 hours at 3 AM is crazy. Not criminal, but crazy. I wouldn’t even let my 2 year old cry this long. We fired our pediatrician for suggesting that we get some earplugs and let our baby cry until he was so exhausted that he fell asleep, having given up that we would provide for his needs. He suggested that we were bad parents for not doing this to “train” him. My response was that he was not a dog, he was a baby, and doing what the pediatrician suggested for our then 4 month old might not be best for the baby, even if it worked for us. I have the same response for you. Keep in mind that this too shall pass, as do so many of the frustrations you encounter as kids grow up.

  16. All I can say is GOOOOOD LUCK!!!!!!! My son slept 14.75 hours last night with 3 wake ups. I don’t mind the 2 AM wake-ups; what I do mind is the napping troubles he’s having during the day. I did resort to having him cry in his crib last week. I thought I was making progress too until one day when he cried 2.5 hours and slept like 30 minutes. I sort of gave up for that week because I felt so bad.

    I think sleeping and babies is just something every parent is bound to struggle with!!!

  17. I totally feel your pain. It’s such a tease when they start sleeping well, and you start sleeping well, and then, BAM!, up all night again. My son (now 8 months) started sleeping through the night at 3 months, but it only lasted a couple of weeks. If you google “4 month wakeful” or spend a little time on the 3-6 month board on thebump, you’ll see this is really common! It took him until probably 6 months before he was sleeping consistently again.

    (Grain of salt…) I can’t help but agree with some of the previous posters that you might be expecting a little too much of Owen and yourself right now. I do agree that letting him fuss or cry for 5-10 min to see if he settles down is a good idea, I think that much beyond that he might just not be ready for. 4 months is still really young in that sense. It totally sucks, but I swear it will get better. (and then worse, and then better…I was up at 4:15 this morning, too!) And I also agree with the poster who said when you do get up with him, keep it all business so he knows it’s not playtime. I used to avoid eye contact with him, because if he smiled I would have been done for. 🙂

    When it’s all said and done though, you’re the mom, and you know what’s best for you and your family! Sweet dreams tonight, fingers crossed!

  18. Do you think this may be a growth spurt? It can change his sleep habits and make him more hungry if it is. Also, 3-4 months may be too young for him to start sleep training. Every baby is different so just go with the flow. 🙂

  19. I’d say he’s hungry- feed him! I think it is too much to expect at this age to go that long without waking up/eating. Nothing wrong with letting him ‘cry it out’, but I’d way until 8 months. (at least thats what my pediatrician told me and we followed it- after many hours of crying he started sleeping through the night)

  20. We let our baby cry herself to sleep at 4 1/2 months, so I understand the desire to try it early. You know your baby best, just like we do, but it sounds like Owen might be telling you that he’s not ready to self-soothe. As far as alternatives, I’m not quite sure, but I would consider either talking with your pediatrician or think about postponing crying it out until Owen is a little older. I am a huge proponent of sleep training, but most of the books that I read pointed to 6 months, some 4 or 5, as a ready point.

    With that said, I remember the feeling of being so exhausted that I felt like I couldn’t be a good mom. Depending on the way that you and Benjamin are divying up sleep and wake-up duties, maybe this might be a place to adjust to cope until Owen’s a little older and ready to give sleep training another go.

  21. Oh dear! Sounds like you’re working hard on this!

    My little one is just two months now and he already sleeps to around 5 or 5:30am but there are nights (like Friday when he’d gotten his vaccines) when he needs some extra comfort and will wake up a couple times.

    I think I must be incredibly fortunate with my little one. I hope he doesn’t go back to more feedings at night! I know it happens. Good luck with your training. You’re so much stronger than I am. I don’t know if I could handle even ten minutes of crying!

  22. It seems like it might be too soon for him. I just went to an Isis breastfeeding drop-in at Isis and we discussed how most research really indicates that sleep training should not begin before 6 months. I am a huge fan of sleep training, but I do think it is beneficial to wait longer. Our son is 6.5 months old so we are starting to think this. From what I understand about Ferber’s method, a child should not be left to cry for an extended time period. I think he recommends checks every 10-15 minutes at first, but I may be wrong about that. I know that extended crying can elevate blood pressure and contribute to higher risks of anxiety disorders. I really do not think that sleep training is bad but I do think this is most likely too early for Owen. Baby’s sleep schedules change as they grow and develop and you may be trying to get him back to a schedule he did not mean to “set” for himself. It may be difficult now, but he could be working towards finding an even better schedule! Good luck, the sleep deprivation is so difficult.

  23. I agree with Molly. I feel that babies cry for a reason. If we wanted a life of convenience and perfect schedules, we wouldn’t have babies. It seems too early for Owen and he’s try to show you that they only way he knows how. Some babies aren’t ready for solids until after 6 months, and some babies aren’t ready to sleep through the night until later…there is no set date. Don’t persist just because it is what YOU want. And even if he is only waking for comfort- what is wrong with that? Comforting is our job as parents. Think about it if it were you in the bed crying for your parents, night after night. Do you remember how it physically feels to cry? Babies feel that too. The Dr. Sears “The Baby Sleep Book” puts it nicely (and I’m paraphrasing) by saying something like: do you want your child to associate sleeping with happiness and warmth or loneliness and cold? By making them cry it out they are learning something alright, but not necessarily what we want them to. Babies grow up so fast, you will want this time with him back one day. And you will survive, whether you get 6 or 8 hours of sleep.

  24. I just want to chime in because I am not sure that Kate will say much. It’s great to get feedback and comments, but I definitely think some of the comments are a bit judgmental towards our decisions. Obviously in having a blog, sharing personal information and decisions, and allowing comments means that we opening up to people’s critiques, but I think it’s also important to be cordial in how certain comments are phrased.

    I think that Kate’s doing an awesome job at being a mom. And I honestly believe that everything she is doing now in her life is to benefit Owen. I don’t think that Kate is trying to create schedule and order to benefit our lives, but to help Owen. And so far, I think he is such a good baby because of his routines. I also know that Kate researches things a ton, and reads up on stuff way more than I do. I don’t think her “sleep training” routine was just “made up” in order to make our lives easier at the expense of Owen’s well-being. We would not do that. Now it’s possible we are a trying this out a couple weeks earlier than normal, but he’s been pretty ahead on many things so far, so we thought we’d try out what is common sleep training principles.

    Anyway, I don’t want to rant, but I just felt that some of the comments snowballed into a bit of a personal attack, and I guess I sort of wanted to defend our decisions a little, and defend Kate too a little. She (and we) is really doing everything she can to help Owen, and I can’t thank her enough for all she has done.

  25. Sleep training is such a hot topic and I feel you have to do what’s best for you and the baby. I am a big believer in routine and schedules just because I know it makes for a more happy, well adjusted child. My oldest is two-years-old and there were many times that I let him cry it out. Believe it or not, he still loves me and comes to me for comfort and is a great sleeper (has slept through the night since he was 4 months old and still sleeps 12 hours a night and takes a long afternoon nap). I am currently working towards some sort of a “routine” with our almost 4 month old because I know it’s what’s best for him and us as a family. Some days are better than others but I find that’s true of parenting in general.

    Again, you know Owen best and the bottom line is you will have to return to work in a few months and getting some sort of a routine established is going to be important for your sanity. Just keep doing what you think will work for everyone and it will all work out.

  26. I didn’t comment before because I’ve seen these arguments so many times in my own research. There are people who feel very strongly about sleep training – those who are for it and those who are against it. There is no way to prove which is right, just as there is no way to know exactly what is going to work for your child. In my own experience, sleep training has worked (for the most part), but I never let my children just cry and cry until they were exhausted. I don’t think any modern sleep training methods really do that. And I think it’s clear that’s not what you are doing. I have read Dr. Sears’s books, and I do understand the arguments against sleep training, but I can’t get on board with the idea that any one author or expert has a foolproof method of getting your child to sleep through the night.

    After reading all these comments, I can see how they might be hard to read, but it’s the same old argument I’ve seen dozens of times, and I don’t think people are attacking you personally. You are so in tune with what Owen needs and it’s very clear you are doing everything you can to keep him healthy and happy. Maybe it’s a little too soon to start sleep training, but if so, then you’ll figure it out on your own and try something else. Good luck! Don’t ever doubt that you’re doing a great job as a mother.

  27. I agree with Julie, except that one commenter who went by “Anonymous”. 1) posting an anon comment is CHICKEN and 2) that was a way judgy comment.

  28. Kate I think you are doing a great job with the sleep training. We had a similar experience, a couple of good days at the beginning, then a couple of really bad waking up often days and then back to good days, and it has remained like that ever since (that was about 3 years ago)of course when they get sick is a different story(but thats a whole different topic). I am a firm believer that babies/kids need routines and schedules from early on; for feeding, sleeping, playing time, etc. Kuddos to you !!!

  29. Sleep deprivation is hard. Being a mommy is hard. You’re obviously an awesome and caring mom, and Owen is one lucky kiddo. Perhaps he isn’t an awesome sleeper – hopefully he’ll get there soon. I have my fingers crossed for you – but I have absolutely no advice – our first didn’t sleep through the night till 13 months, and his younger brother is almost 7 months and wakes at least once still…
    If you find the answer, please let us know. In the meantime, you are obviously an incredible mom – enjoy your successes 🙂

  30. Hi Kate,

    Contrary to what a lot of commentators are saying, I actually think sleep training is a good idea with Owen. My daughter is 14.5 weeks old and we just started sleep training her. We had several good weeks of sleeping through the night with her and then she would start waking up multiple times. We felt that she was more than able to sleep through without needing a feed most nights and that we were only waking her up more by going in frequently to soothe her. 4 days of crying it out later she is sleeping through the night again (8:30 to 7:30am!). My policy is I am happy to feed her once a night but she hasn’t needed twice a night feedings since she was 6 weeks old so I find it hard to believe that she should need them now!! This is not about babies being “manipulative” or moms being selfish. This is about creating healthy sleep habits that lead to a well-rested happy baby and a sane mom who can take on the day. Keep up the great writing.

  31. I agree with both the responses that Molly posted…
    I think Owen just wants his mom…and the way I see it is if when Owen is 4 years old and he cries in his bed because he wants to cuddle with you would you simply close the door and leave him to cry for an hour? Probably not…heck, I dont even like sleeping alone in a dark room and Im an adult! I did try the CIO method and everytime I felt that I was ignoring my instincts as a mother. I think you are a great mom and you are just trying to figure out something that works…I am in the same boat. We are about to hit the 4 month mark and I am in fear that the sleep regression might hit us…we will see. Good Luck 🙂

  32. I just want to say don’t let anyone tell you how your baby is suppose to sleep – that is totally your call. Everyone has different ideas of how and when a baby is suppose to sleep. I think it is important to have the baby become adjusted to your schedule (with of course flexibility) and as parents you not totally changing your life to become apart of the baby’s schedule. I can not tell you how important it is for a baby to learn the self-soothing skill early one. I take care of a toddler (16 months) and she still can not put herself asleep in her crib. We have to go on walks for her to take a nap (that she desperately needs) I don’t think it is healthy as it affects the rest of her social development. Have you looked into the Ferber book – it can be extremely controversial but if you read the updated addition you will see it is not as extremely as it is rumored. Anyways just remember to do what is best your family, that is all that is really important.

  33. There is an interesting theory out there that some babies release tension when they cry while others gain tension, which might explain why parents end up using very different methods. Some parents find that it is best to let their baby cry for a little while, because those babies go to sleep faster and sleep longer that way. Other babies just get more and more upset (mine would be super tense for at least 12 hours if he ever got really crying hard and have a very hard time sleeping at all), and those parents don’t understand why someone would let a baby cry. There must be lots of babies in between too. (There’s a post about it here: http://www.askmoxie.org/2006/06/babies_and_cio.html) There’s no single method that works will for all the different of baby temperaments, so that may explain why people disagree so much. I’m sure you’ll figure out what works well for Owen, and it doesn’t matter what anyone else thinks you should do. Sleep regressions are hard and frustrating for everyone, but don’t worry, you’re obviously doing a great job! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

