Daily Archives: November 10, 2010

She Says… We Made It!

We made it on The Bump’s list of top Mommy Blogs (in the Baby Journal Blogger category)! Please vote for us!

She Says… Priorities

I’ve noticed that since I had Owen, my To Do lists have become much shorter. Much shorter and much more prioritized. Whereas before I knew that I could finish everything on my list by bedtime, now I am lucky to do one or two things amidst naptimes and walks and playing and errands. Prioritizing is key. Since our schedule is almost always in flux, I’m [constantly] learning how to be flexible with my never-ending lists.

The morning nap is always the most reliable for Owen. It is usually 1 or 2 hours, which gives me a good opportunity to get ready for my day.

Morning nap To Do’s:
– Pump
– Breakfast
– Shower
– Blogging

That usually takes close to an hour, once I organize milk/bottles for the next feeding, tidy a few things around the house, etc. When Owen wakes up we play for awhile, he eats for awhile, and then right as the next naptime is approaching, I try to get us out for a walk with the dog. If we don’t, the poor pooch may never get out to poop! So I pop Owen in a carrier of some sort (or the stroller, but the carrier is more reliable to put him to sleep) and head out. Once we get home, we repeat the eat/play/nap cycle as best we can until it’s about bedtime.

Since afternoon naps are harder to come by, I can’t be sure I’m going to get to my To Do list. If and when I do, it usually looks something like…

Afternoon nap To Do’s:
– Exercise (usually in the living room — thank goodness for workout DVDs!)
– Fold Laundry
– Prep Dinner
– Tidy up the toys, blankets, books, etc. that we used during the day

Unfortunately that means that things like paying bills, returning emails, baking and other not-top-of-the-list things fall by the wayside. It’s no wonder I feel like I never get anything done. Maybe someday I’ll get back to being as productive as I used to be. For now I’m cherishing every minute with my little munchkin!