She Says… Leisurely Lulu

I have written before about how much I love Etsy. It is a treasure trove of unique, handmade items from artwork to clothing to jewelry to baby items and beyond. I could spend hours just pouring over the ads. I also love giving gifts from Etsy, both to spread the word about the site, and also because they are always something special — a cut above a regular registry gift or something you could find at the mall.

Before I had Owen, my sister sent me one of these super special gifts. It was a nursing cape/cover made out of this fabulous fabric. And one of my favorite parts is the terry cloth corners, which are perfect for wiping his little milk face after he eats.

It was made by Lori from Leisurely Lulu. Lori is a mom of three, and knows firsthand what makes a mom happy: practical AND beautiful items to bring her closer to her baby! Lori’s business happened sort of by accident. A close friend of hers who was a big supporter of Lori’s creations was diagnosed with brain cancer and, sadly, passed away. As a tribute to her, Lori has been making the capes since 2008. Her Etsy shop now offers several different products (nursing capes, contoured burp cloths, slings, pillowcase dresses for little girls, and more). Once I saw the gorgeous things Lori made, I had to try something else!

So Lori made me a sling for Owen. The wonderful thing about Lori’s slings is that they are sized perfectly to the Mom. While this means I can’t share it with Benjamin, it’s not really his style anyway 🙂 Lori let me pick my own fabric, and even added a pocket. The pocket is an AWESOME addition, in my opinion, because I’m always wondering where to put my house keys and cell phone when I wear my Baby Bjorn.

Another added bonus? You can wear your baby three different ways in the sling. This is a good thing, since Owen is NOT a fan of the traditional cradle carry (he hates being sideways, unless he’s breastfeeding, and really hates to have fabric or anything else covering his head). However, once I popped him in the Kangaroo Carry hold (Lori sends instructions on how to do various positions), he was happy as a little clam. Once he gets a little bigger we can try the Hip Carry, which I think he’ll love. The sling is super comfy, since it was made just for me, and super stylish (since, ahem, I picked the fabric and Lori picked the coordinating fabric for the pocket).

Lori’s items would be the perfect gift for a baby shower or a new mom. Check out her Etsy site to see all of the lovely items she makes. Also, if you have a blog, Lori will give you 15% off in exchange for a little advertising. Her Etsy page has more info on that.

6 responses to “She Says… Leisurely Lulu

  1. That’s a really pretty sling! I’ll have to keep her in mind once we start seriously looking for that stuff, in, oh, a month!

  2. Slings like that never look sturdy enough to hold my little chunker, but Owen looks super cute in it!

  3. This looks amazing! I can’t wait to try one…..one day soon hopefully! Owen is so adorable! 😉 Glad you are all doing well!

  4. Oh my goodness those are adorable! I love your sling! I have a pocket on mine too and don’t know what I would do without it. I was at the park today and just put my phone and keys in the pocket and didn’t even take my purse with me while I walked around.

  5. that cape is beautiful!! also, i love your hair. super cute.

  6. Jennifer Eckstein Coon

    A friend of a friend has this etsy site with really cute stuff for cloth diaper users.
    http://www.etsy.com/shop/esbaby

Leave a Reply

