She Says… My Little Peanut

Owen had his 2 month pediatrician appointment on Friday. Although we could tell he was a skinny little guy by looking at him, I was a little surprised to see his stats! He’s such a little peanut…

Stats:
Height – 23″ (43rd %ile)
Weight – 10 lb 10.5 oz (19th %ile)
Head Circumference – 38.5 cm (14th %ile)

Despite the fact that he’s gaining about an ounce a day (perfectly normal), and was born at a very average weight… he’s a teeny tiny little guy! While I sort of expected us to have a short baby (I am 5’1″ and Benjamin is 5’7″), I was a little chunker, so I thought my baby would follow suit in the weight department. Apparently not! Somehow we have a long, lean little man. However, at this early stage, his height and weight don’t really mean anything in terms of what he’ll look like in the future.

The appointment was fine; although his naps were not timed very well, and he was due to sleep right when we got there, which made for a pretty cranky kid. Let’s just say hanging out in a chilly exam room wrapped in a blanket waiting for the doctor didn’t help much either! However, he was all smiles for the doctor and showed off his impressive neck control skills.

He had to get three immunizations — 2 shots and some liquid given orally. He took the oral one very easily. He seemed sort of confused by the taste, but swallowed it obediently. Then I held his hands still while the doctor gave him his shots. The first one kind of stunned him. He made a loud grunting noise and then stared into space blankly. When the second one went in, however, he screamed until he was red in the face. After a minute of two of Mama cuddling, he forgot all about them and we were on our way. I imagine that will only get more difficult as he gets older!

After his 1 month shot, I remember thinking he seemed extra cranky for a day or two. This time he was extra sleepy. Not such a bad thing 🙂 We had a nice weekend with minimal tears and some decent naps (not in the crib so much, but I’ll take what I can get).

So, he passed inspection and is cleared for take-off, at least until his 4 month appointment.

7 responses to “She Says… My Little Peanut

  1. Hooray for the peanuts! I have one very petite kid and one small-side-of-average kid, and it certainly has its benefits. They don’t break your back at nine months old! My daughter rode that 3rd-5th percentile for weight for the first two years like it was her job. I think at her two-year checkup, she bounced way up to the 13th percentile (look out!), but that may have just been a big breakfast. 😉

    Sounds like he’s doing great! And yeah, the shots get both a little harder and a little easier as time goes on. Just like lots of other things, I suppose!

  2. My little one is a back breaker (16lbs9oz at 4months!) and she outgrows clothes way too fast! I feel like no matter when I schedule a doc appointment for the baby, on that day it’s exactly when her nap time is 😛

  3. I had a couple of little fatties – my boys were 15 and 17 lbs, respectively, at their 2-month checkups (and my little one was 21 lbs at his 4 month!). It all evens out eventually – they are now in the 40-50th percentile for height and weight at ages 3.5 and 18 months. As long as Owen is growing and gaining the way he should be, you can just enjoy how easy he is to pick up and carry!

  4. Those percentiles are hard not to get hung up on, and I’m glad that Owen is doing what he’s supposed to (growing!!) you’re in good shape. Jr. was 98th for weight and 80th for height and head at his 2mo appt, which I thought was nuts since I’m the same height as you! I have a feeling he’s slowing down now, though, so I think it all evens out in the end.

  5. An ounce a day average gain is perfect! WTG.
    PS: The rotavirus vaccine (the oral one he had) can cause green, slimy poop for a few days. Just in case you notice anything weird in his dipe. 🙂

  6. Also on the rotavirus in case the ped didn’t mention it: Make sure you wash your hands really well after changing him for a few days because that rotavirus vaccine has the live virus and you can get a nasty stomach bug if you come in contact with it. At least, that’s what they told me.

  7. Nancy and Julie, Thank you! I didn’t hear about either of those warnings, and I’m glad I know.

Leave a Reply

