She Says… Houdini Strikes Again

This is the scene I woke up to yesterday morning.

Just for the record, that is not how we swaddled him the night before. And again last night, he woke up with the swaddle loosened and his legs untucked from the pocket. Believe me, he starts out as the tightest little burrito of a baby you ever did see.

He’s like the Incredible Hulk at night or something. My little Houdini may have mastered the Miracle Blanket. I didn’t think that was possible.

13 responses to “She Says… Houdini Strikes Again

  1. My daughter is 6 weeks old and has broken out of the Miracle Blanket (mostly because she is too small), a random swaddler I bought at Walmart, and any attempt I’ve taken at swaddling with a blanket like the guy in Happiest Baby. My husband just ordered two Woombies for me to try though – I have heard only good things about them!

  2. Allison, I hope the Woombie works for you. Unfortunately I tested the Woombie at a store and he got his little hand out within 5 minutes! The store owner said she’d NEVER seen a baby get out of the Woombie… but Owen proved her wrong. He’s just going to have to learn how to sleep without a swaddle, I guess! Although that scares me, because it’s the only thing that calms him into sleepyland reliably.

  3. My younger guy broke out of every swaddle, too. He actually ripped one at the seam, and he was only like 3 months old at the time. I used the swaddle for a long time with my first, and I didn’t want to give it up with the second so soon, but I had no choice. We switched him to a sleep sack with long sleeves (Carter’s makes cute ones) and he was still cuddly, warm, and contained, but not wrapped up tightly. It took a few nights for him to get used to it, but he eventually did fine. Maybe you’ll appreciate having done it now when Owen is still waking up regularly, instead of down the road when you’re used to getting 8 hours of uninterrupted sleep! Good luck!

  4. My little Nora (5 1/2 weeks) can’t break out of the Miracle Blanket yet, but she gets gassy at night and HATES that she can’t move her arms and ends up screaming (think ear piercing!). So – I’ve given up swaddling at night just to avoid the lung exercises. ๐Ÿ™‚ The last couple of nights she has had two 4-hour stretches (with a feeding in the middle) without the swaddling, so my parenting guilt at leaving her swaddle-less has abated.

    Owen is absolutely adorable. I just love his hair!!! Nora is starting to lose hers and is going to be sporting a comb over before we know it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. myhusbandisannoying

    Wow, that is impressive! My 4 month old daughter can only get out of the miracle blanket when I swaddle her because I’m so bad at it but when my husband does it, she’s a perfect little burrito all night long. I swaddled her the other night because my husband was busy and she woke up at 4:30 am, flailing her arms around. Lesson learned…mommy doesn’t swaddle!

    Your little guy is so cute!!

  6. Mine always breaks out, I think she sees it as a challenge. I see it as a good way for her to spend 20 minutes after she’s woken up (it keeps her busy enough to not start crying). My latest problem is that she doesn’t fight the swaddle at sleeping times, but she’s getting too long for the Aden and Anais blankets! I don’t know what I’m going to do, they don’t make a supersize one ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    I see swaddling as a tool to help babies go to sleep easier and stay asleep longer, but I think it’s funny how much they enjoy escaping once they wake up!

  7. I’m going to preface this comment by letting you know that I don’t yet have any kids, and while I think I know a few things about babies, I don’t have a ton of experience with them. If Owen breaks out of the swaddle, why not just let him? I mean, do you absolutely have to swaddle him? Or, maybe it’s ok that he goes to sleep swaddled and wakes up not? Just wondering why it’s so important! Fill in those of us who are childless and clueless ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. you should send that in to the company, just for kicks. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. My daughter broke out of the Miracle blanket eventually too (although not until 4-5 months) and we just let her! It calmed her down enough to fall asleep, and in the morning she had her legs out usually, and one arm. I just wasn’t ready to give up the comfort and ease of the swaddle yet!!

  10. Hey Kate, I noticed you have Owen on a sleep positioner. I just read an article in the NYTimes about how those can cause SIDS and FDA is asking baby stores to take them off the shelves. Babies R Us stopped selling them this Thursday. I just wanted to let you know.

  11. My daughter did the same too and every night she is crying like she doesn’t want to be covered up with this blanket.

  12. Sara, You raise a great question. The main reason I began to swaddle was because I read the “Happiest Baby on the Block” book, which is an excellent resource for learning how to soothe a fussy baby. He talks about swaddling like it’s the best thing since sliced bread. When Owen was born, his arms and legs were so spastic and jerky that his own movements would (and still do) wake him up. Also, he’s such a skinny little guy that his limbs get quite cold, especially when he sleeps. So the swaddling, in Owen’s case, is twofold: it calms his body so he can sleep, and keeps him warm and cozy. Since babies can’t sleep with blankets because they are a SIDS risk, the swaddle is his next best thing to keep him cozy.

    Esperanza, Thank you! I had not heard about that, but will definitely do a little research now.

  13. Wow – I can’t believe he’s getting out of the Miracle Blanket! Are you wrapping it super tight? My hubby is much better at wrapping than I am – Junior always wiggles out when I do it because I don’t wrap it tight enough.

Leave a Reply

