She Says… 2 Months

My sweet boy,

You are two months old today! I have actually been saying you were two months old for a week or two, since in my (crazy, mixed up, baby-focused) brain, 8 weeks = 2 months. It does not. However, today you are actually 2 months old.

It is absolutely amazing how different you are from one short month ago. When I used to pick you up, you were like a floppy rag doll, arms and legs and neck dangling. Now you are beginning to feel firm and round, and you hold your head strong. Your cheeks have filled out, and you’re beginning to get some beautiful baby rolls on your arms and legs. You’re still surprisingly long and lean, though. Where does that come from? Certainly not from Daddy or I… we are shorties! In any case, you are, without a doubt, the most adorable baby I’ve ever laid eyes on. Your face is incredibly expressive, and your hair is beyond fabulous. Everyone says so.

In the last few weeks you have “found your voice”. Aka, you’ve been crying a lot louder (and more often) than the first month. You are still a very relaxed and easygoing baby, but you get really out of sorts when you have gas/poop issues, which is quite often. Sounds like someone else I know (ahem, me). You are nursing like a champ now; we’ve gotten over so many of the hurdles of breastfeeding that I thought I would never get over during the first few weeks of your life. If your little tummy could just learn how to handle its own gas without making you scream in pain, we’d be golden. I know that day will come; hopefully before my next month’s letter to you (since supposedly many tummy issues resolve naturally by 12 weeks). As we nurse, I gaze down at you and imagine what you’ll be like at 6 months, 6 years, 16 years, and beyond.

It’s hard to imagine that a person this tiny will someday turn into a man. But you will. And I can’t wait to see what a wonderful man you will be.

You are an awesome sleeper. Well, let me clarify that. As of this month, you are an awesome sleeper at night. Daytime naps have become quite the battle. I think it’s because you are becoming more and more aware of your surroundings and you are so interested in your world that you just can’t stop looking and learning, and you crash. The last few weeks I’ve been very careful to put you to sleep before you think you are tired, which results in a bit of a war, since I’m swaddling you and rocking you when you think it is playtime. And you certainly prefer being in Daddy’s and my arms than anywhere else. When we rock you almost to sleep and try to transfer you to your crib, you often stir and look up at us with your big, dark eyes and cry sad tears so that we’ll pick you up again. However, I know how much better you sleep in your crib, and we want to start good sleep habits now, so we always put you down for naps. I’m hoping this angry napping phase goes away soon, once you realize we’ll always come get you when you wake up (and you need your sleep!).  At night, however, you are a little angel. You sleep soundly and we have the sweetest nursing sessions where you cuddle and slurp with your eyes half-closed.

You have an iron will, my little darling. You know what you want and you are not afraid to scream about it. Again, sounds a lot like someone else I know. It is amazing to see you grow from a newborn into a little person with a big personality.

Around 6 weeks you started smiling. At first, mostly at Daddy, but now at just about anyone (and the wall, and the ceiling, and your toys, and the inside of your stroller). You close your eyes a little and open your mouth into the biggest pumpkin smile I’ve ever seen. When you smile that crooked smile of yours, I can’t help but do it too. Your eyes twinkle and you get this mischievous grin. I have a feeling I’ll see that little grin often after you do something you’re not supposed to! You’ve also started making little noises other than crying — coos and gargles and a little half-laugh sound that you do most often as you fall asleep. Your voice is precious, and I can’t wait to hear what you have to say when we can talk. I often wonder what you’re thinking behind all of your expressions.

Sometimes I feel like you should be a lot older than you are, and I expect a lot from you. Writing this letter reminds me that you are only two months old. We have so many more months and years to go to tackle all of the important baby milestones and for you to develop new skills. For now, the most important thing we can do is enjoy every minute of these special, early days. You are my tiny baby right now, but you won’t stay that way forever.

I love you. I love every minute we get to spend together. And although you won’t remember these minutes like I will, I know you are beginning your childhood happy and healthy and well loved. And in my arms about 90% of the time. Not a bad deal, little guy.

Love,
Mama

*More Owen pics coming soon! We switched computers and haven’t loaded our photos in awhile.

6 responses to “She Says… 2 Months

  1. Good sleep habits come from feeling safe! There is NOTHING wrong with carrying your baby during naps. Nothing. Moby wraps and Ergos are excellent for doing it in a hands-free way.

    http://www.naturalchild.org/guest/claire_niala.html

  2. awwhh!! i always enjoyed your pregnancy letters to him, but this was a whole new level of powerful. very well written.

  3. You’re letters are so great. Have you tried Mylicon for the gas? When I was a nanny the family swore by it. That and gently massaging the baby’s thghs/knees into their belly. It sound weird but for their newborn it was a miracle worker.

  4. It seems only yesterday Sam was 2 months… now he’s 8 months. I loooovve to see his personality blossom in front of me, but I can’t believe and heartbroken by the fact that he’s growing SO fast. So, it’s a double edged sword.

    And, to this day, we struggle daytime naps. Sam loves “Itsy Bitsy Spider,” and I sing it over and over and over. It’s the only thing that stops him from crying. Lol.

    Owen is absolutely adorable and I love love love your videos. 🙂

  5. This is amazing. Even though my little guy is not quite two weeks old I see some of these things in him……like smiling when he’s sort of half asleep and me thinking of him as a much older person and then realizing he’s only been in the world for 13 days.

Leave a Reply

