She Says… Addendum to Aha Moments

After re-reading my last post, I realized it may have come across as a bit self-righteous or preachy. Just for the record, I am sure that there will be many, many times in Owen’s life that I won’t have the slightest clue what he needs. And there will be times when I feel like I don’t know anything about being a mother.

If there’s one thing I’ve learned in the last 4 weeks, it’s that the old adage is true: Once you think you understand your baby or have a routine going, it will change.

So please don’t get me wrong — I know I will not feel this way forever 🙂 I am just relishing the little lessons I have learned over the last few weeks, and feeling confident in my ability to figure out what he needs even if I don’t know it right away.

But I’m not a mind reader. Ask me again tomorrow how I’m feeling and it might be completely different!

3 responses to “She Says… Addendum to Aha Moments

  1. Reading your post yesterday was refreshing – everyone should have confident moments, especially during those times that are the most stressful/unpredictable. You didn’t come off self-righteous or preachy at all. I love hearing about your new adventures in motherhood, and your post came off as hopeful and optimistic! 🙂

  2. I am a mother of 3 and let me tell you…figuring out what the “problem” is, is THE most rewarding part of the gig…whether they’re nine years old or nine days old. Continue rewarding yourself with relishing in those times…you deserve it, so does Owen. Good job mommy! ~A~

  3. I didn’t think you came off as self-righteous at all! The day that I realized I could tell what my baby wanted by her cry made me feel like super-mom (even though every mom can do it). I think that’s part of the joy of motherhood! Every time I put the baby down for the night, I feel like strutting around and telling people what I just did 🙂 Also, if I get a really good swaddle, I make my husband come see it and admire it, lol.

    And yes, I completely agree with you: Everything is just a phase, even the good stuff 😛

Leave a Reply

