She Says… Aha Moments

Rocking Owen to sleep is one of the most satisfying things I do all day long. It may not sound like much, but it’s tricky sometimes, and it makes me feel like the best mother in the world when it works and I lay him down in his crib or bassinet and he drifts right off to dreamland without fussing. It’s a delicate dance that we do, and requires a lot of attention to his tiny movements and subtle breath patterns. To me it’s like a puzzle, and when everything clicks and his breathing slows and his eyelids get heavier and heavier until they shut, I have my “Aha Moment”.

It’s the moment when I realize that I know exactly what my baby needs.

Recently I’ve found myself saying things like, “Oh, he probably has to burp” or “I think he’s just tired” or “He likes it when you do ____” when other people are holding my little guy. And you know what? I’m almost always right. Since Owen was born, he and I have spent every second less than 50 feet from each other. Rarely are we on different floors of the house, and we’re almost never out of earshot of each other. And while once in awhile that feels a little stressful (like, can’t a girl take 5 minutes to pee anymore without having to listen for a noise or rustle from the baby?), in general it is truly amazing to know a little person so intimately. Especially a little person who can’t speak or communicate very well yet. But still, I know exactly what he needs at all times.

Aha! Maybe that’s what being a mother really is?

10 responses to “She Says… Aha Moments

  1. you take five minutes to pee ?

  2. I’m glad you posted this. One of my current fears is that I *won’t* know what my baby needs – but in reality, instinct will kick in. I won’t always have all of the answers, but I’ll know enough to keep her happy and safe.

  3. I’m glad you’ve had your Aha! moment so early. And (admittedly) a little jealous – I never really got it. I would go through every problem it might be, because I just didn’t know. I’m doing ok now, but it’s a little easier to tell with a one year old. 😛

  4. Eeep, I hope that didn’t sound bitter. I really like reading about how you’re all doing, really! It seems like you’re doing a great job. 🙂

  5. You are an amazing mom 🙂

  6. I’m so glad to hear that you’re enjoying your baby so much!

  7. I sure hope I feel that confident about raising my baby. I worry constantly that I won’t have a clue what to do, especially since I haven’t read ANY books about parenting. We’re totally going into this blindly and I’m sure counting on that “mommy instinct” to kick in!

  8. Being a mama is the Best and most overwhelming learning experience ever!

  9. “I know exactly what he needs at all times”. There are a LOT OF mommys out there envious of you right now!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I’m not suprised though because you dived headfirst into mommyhood the minute you saw the + on the pregnancy test; it’s been great watching your journey!

  10. Oh my goodness how wonderful:) I can’t wait for my little one to show up so I can fufill all his needs. I love your posts, they are seriously inspiring and wonderful for me because any day now I could be having my baby.

Leave a Reply

