He Says… The First Week

I have now been a dad for just over one week.  An awesome responsibility, and a new title I am proud to hold.  Everyone told me that you can’t understand how it feels until you go through it.  I didn’t entirely believe them at first, but now I do.  I feel so attached to this little creature that it is unbelievable.  After Kate does Owen’s first morning feeding she has been bringing him into our room and placing him next to me in bed.  That is absolutely the best feeling I can possibly imagine.  He is sleepy and “milk-drunk” and so adorable in his little onesie and we just cuddle in bed before going downstairs to start our day.

We’ve been fortunate that Owen hasn’t been overly fussy in this first week.  He sleeps and he eats.  I feel bad for Kate because she really seems to be constantly feeding him, but I’m not sure she minds.  I’ve gotten pretty full nights of sleep because there is just not much for me to do at night and Owen’s been sleeping in between all of his nighttime feedings.  In about a month we’ll introduce a bottle or two a day of pumped breast milk so that I can relieve Kate of some of the feedings.  Kate’s mother has been kind enough to stay with us for the last week and is heading back to Delaware tomorrow, so we’ll then get to figure out how to do everything with just the 4 of us (Schnitzel included).

Kate will blog more this week about recovery and all that stuff but in the meantime I wanted to include some pictures of Owen from his first week.  Let me just say, I think he is unbelievably adorable and I LOVE his rock-star hair.  Enjoy!

27 responses to “He Says… The First Week

  1. he is so precious! congratulations again 🙂

  2. he is ridiculously precious! I loooooove is hair!

  3. OMG! He is a little man! Adorable! I had the same hair when I was born.. and it stayed sticking up for months! I hope/don’t hope the same happens to Owen! He is such a cutie!

  4. best hair ever! what an adorable little guy. congrats!

  5. OMG…he is so stinking cute. Love the sticky-uppy hair. Glad you guys are enjoying your new family of 4!

  6. He is so precious! I love how is little mouth bows.

  7. I love that first photo of your little family–he is adorable! Look at that hair!! BTW… Kate looks fantastic!

  8. OMG! Adooooooooooooooooooorable hair! 🙂

  9. he is perfect. I can’t get over that hair. TOO precious. Congrats you guys, he is just lovely.

  10. Kate- you already look incredible!!! And walking the baby in the stroller 1 week out. Very impressive…

    That is one adorable little boy. His hair is fantastic! And I love to see the viewpoint of a new dad. So sweet!

  11. Love, love love his hair!! The pics are adorable and you both look great!

  12. CONGRATS! He is adorable! I can’t wait to hear more about your little one!

  13. Great photos! Love the hair!! Kate looks awesome too!

  14. I love the last picture! He is sending kisses!

  15. Oh my goodness, his hair is too adorable! What a precious little boy.

  16. Great photos! How is Schnitzel adjusting? I’m curious to see how my dog reacts to a new family member.

  17. He’s beautiful. I can’t believe Kate is up already! I must have had it rough and not realized how bad I had it! 🙂

    Good for you, for getting out of the house! 🙂

  18. Gahhhh! Look at his hairrrrr!!!! teehehe I could eat him up!!!

  19. Right, I’m ready to have another one. 😛

    You both look fantastically content, it’s great. And why wouldn’t you, with such a lovely baby. His hair sure is impressive! 😀

  20. What a gorgeous boy! love the hair! Love the family photo you all look like one happy family 🙂

  21. Congratulations!! He is beautiful 🙂 You must be so happy and proud. I know you mentioned that you have all this adrenaline pumping through you. I felt the same way, my husband could not believe how much energy I had despite getting no sleep! Our bodies really are amazing. Good luck with him – I know it’s so much work, but totally work it! Let me tell you my daughter is now 10 weeks old and she sleeps so well! Something to look forward to 🙂

  22. Btw, are you loving the uppababy? We love ours! I think we’re going to switch to the toddler seat any day!

  23. What a cutie! As a new mom to a 6 week old, I love seeing the lansinoh in the back ground of your picture! Its nice to see that most new moms are going through the same experiences. And I have that same tank top from old navy 🙂

  24. Adorable! He does have Rock star hair!!! Love it! I’m glad the week has gone well! Love the pictures!

  25. Oh my gosh! Owen has already learned Blue Steel! He looks exactly like the Zoolander baby. 🙂

  26. I am in love with these pictures–you all look great, and he does have amazing hair!

  27. Men pay good money for hair like Owen! He is precious.

Leave a Reply

