She Says… Inch by inch

Well, I should say centimeter by centimeter. Labor is progressing, folks! I had my 38 week appointment with my OB yesterday, and while I was hoping to hear her say, “Four centimeters! 100% dilated! Any minute now!”, I was still happy when she gave me the latest update on my progress.

  • 36 Weeks: 50% effaced
  • 37 Weeks: 75% effaced and 1.5 cm dilated
  • 38 Weeks: 90% effaced and 2.5 cm dilated, head at -2 station, cervix has moved into the proper position for labor

Little by little, my body is doing exactly what it is supposed to! It’s very exciting stuff. Yesterday I was feeling especially emotional and agitated (compounded tenfold by the ridiculous heat and humidity outside), and today my mushy/upset stomach is back on (it has been on and off for about a week). All good signs.

Doc said she wouldn’t be at all surprised if I didn’t make it to next week’s appointment. I’m trying not to let those positive words get my hopes up too high :)  Isn’t it amazing that we can essentially create babies in science labs, but we still have no idea when they are going to pop out naturally? One of life’s great mysteries, I guess.

So… we wait. Lots of exciting things to share with you in the next few days, though (so you don’t get bored of reading “one more centimeter!” every few days). Thank you all for your sweet messages and comments — we’re so excited and can’t wait to share the “IT’S TIME!” news with you very soon.

18 responses to “She Says… Inch by inch

  1. AHHH! So excited for you. I’m keeping my fingers crossed! Can’t wait to meet him.

  2. I’m sure the last few weeks are agonizing…not looking forward to the waiting! :) I hope it happens really soon for you.

  3. so so so so so excited!!!!!!

  4. Oh my goodness! You’re getting so close! I still remember the day you posted the video of the pregnancy test and making my hubby watch it with me. :)

  5. I hope you’re getting measured by the same doc each time…I have 3 docs and I was told that I was 2-3cm at 40wks and then at the hospital at 41+wks, a different doc said I was a solid 1cm. Not a big deal in the grand scheme of things, but at the time, it seemed like I was moving in the wrong direction and it was so frustrating!

    I know how hard it is to live day to day like you are (doesn’t it make grocery shopping and buying produce hard??), but you’ll forget about it soon when your little guy comes out.

    I’m looking forward to reading your birth story, I hope you have a smooth delivery and have the birth experience you want :)

  6. Wow – you’re totally getting there! That’s so great! At least you’re not like my sister who labored and labored and if I remember correctly, actually back tracked a bit. :)

  7. The progress reports are exciting! Well wishes from Richmond…

  8. Sounds like your body knows exactly what it’s doing! I can’t help but get really excited when I read your updates because it means that our babies will be here soon!!! Sure wish they could give us a better estimate on arrival, but we know it’s just around the corner. Glad you’re doing well!

  9. That is so exciting (and weird!! I don’t have kids, obviously). Can’t wait to hear all about the birthing process, though!!! How crazy and amazing!!!

  10. KATE! I literally have your blog/ facebook up and clicking refresh every minute to see if anything has changed with your status. If I’m this excited, I can only imagine how you and Benjamin must feel! XO!

  11. Wow! You’re really on your way! Good luck in all the comes next!

  12. YAY! GOOD LUCK AND I REALLY HOPE HE’S EARLY! It is hard to be optimistic about an early baby and have nothing happen but it sounds like you are having stuff happen :).

  13. Yay for progress! You’re getting so close!!

  14. You’re totally not boring me with your updates, keep ‘em coming. So exciting!

  15. oh my goodness it’s coming so fast! That’s how I feel and I’m not quite 34 weeks! My midwife says things like “could be six weeks, could be three!) ACK!

    So excited for you guys!

  16. SO exciting! Hang in there and enjoy the remaining moments as two-some!

  17. SO exciting – I hope the baby comes at the exact perfect time. Or at least at a time that’ll make a great story to tell a child when asked.

  18. any day now! i can’t wait to see the blog with the big news!

Leave a Reply

