She Says… School’s Out For Summer

I’m not a teacher or a student, and I know it’s the middle of July, which is not quite the beginning of summer, but I feel like I just started a big, long vacation. Yesterday was my last day in the office until January (unless something happens that I have to go back into the office to handle)!

I’m still working every day until my baby arrives, but somehow sleeping in an extra hour and rolling out of bed to work at my computer at home feels more like a vacation than work. Not to mention that when my work is finished, I’ll actually have the time to check all of those leftover things off of my “Baby is Coming, Better Get Ready” To Do list. I am so fortunate to have the ability to work from home and to work for a firm that allows me to do so. I made it through the last week of work, running a training I’ve been organizing for months, I’ve trained my temporary replacement as much as I can, and we’re going to have check-in calls for the next week to make sure she’s doing ok. What a relief.

I feel like a huge weight has been lifted and I can finally relax. Time to enjoy these last few weeks (days?) before the little guy arrives. And even though I know once he arrives it won’t always feel like a vacation, I’m really, really looking forward to having nearly 5 months to be a mom and only a mom and getting to know my new baby.

9 responses to “She Says… School’s Out For Summer

  1. YAY! Congrats! You made it! Take each day as it comes, it must feel like waiting for the biggest christmas day of your lifetime, but not knowing when its going to happen!! xo

  2. Congratulations Kate! I can’t wait to see his (her?) little face!

  3. Isn’t that the best feeling! I got to do the same thing and it was so great! Of course, even better, was not having to work at all and just concentrate on that little lovely. But still, working from home is good too!

  4. Wow, I bet that feels amazing! Congrats, sit back and enjoy this little respite.

  5. I’m going part-time starting Monday and I feel relieved too! It’s definitely too hard for me to be on my feet all day now… Congrats on the extra rest!

  6. five months!? That’s a freaking amazing maternity leave! I get three but only half of that is paid. I’m so glad you’re able to take it easy now. Congrats:)

  7. Diana, I get 3 months paid maternity leave, and I’m taking 2 months of unpaid leave after that. I’m very lucky to be able to do that, I know! My company has been very supportive.

  8. I’m so glad you get to have that special time with your first baby! What a wonderful company to work for! I can’t believe it’s almost time!

  9. Congratulations on hitting this milestone! Enjoy these last few days!

Leave a Reply

