She Says… 36 Weeks

My sweet little man,

One month. Exactly one month until you are scheduled to arrive. I know that’s just an estimate, however, and I’m still feeling like you’re going to come a little earlier than expected (wishful thinking, perhaps?). I have definitely been feeling some changes in the last week. My Braxton Hicks contractions have been stronger and leave me feeling crampy in my lower abdomen in a way I haven’t felt before. Most mornings now, my stomach feels all mushy like I have an upset stomach or indigestion, but then it passes in a few hours and I feel fine again. I guess I can’t be sure these are pregnancy-related, but I bet they are. Also, my swollen cankles are still an issue, and the swelling has begun to affect my fingers as well. My knuckles are sore and a little puffy like I have arthritis. Perhaps this is what getting old feels like!

In any case, I am still so proud of my body for carrying you safely this long, and so proud of you for growing and developing like you are supposed to. You are such a miracle, yet at the same time what we are doing is so natural, it’s hard to think that I ever had trouble creating you.

You are still putting on about 1/2 a pound every week at this point, stocking up on that baby fat so your cheeks are nice and pinchable (and so you can warm yourself once you pop out of that climate-controlled womb). Man, I wish I had a climate-controlled womb to be in these days. Yesterday it was over 100 degrees, and the next few days are supposed to be about the same. Although I am lucky to be working from home and I’ve had our little window unit air conditioner going 100 miles an hour, I was still quite cranky and hot yesterday. However, I managed to take a little walk with Schnitzel and even get to the gym (being on the stair climber in the air conditioning feels SO much better than walking around in the heat!).

You now weigh about 6 pounds and are nearly 19 inches long. Big boy! You’ve shed your lanugo, the downy hair that covered your body for many weeks, and also most of the vernix, the white, waxy stuff that has covered your skin to protect it from being in fluid for the past few months. You’re getting ready to emerge. Believe me, I can  feel it. You’re SO ACTIVE. I feel you moving around at least 45 minutes out of every hour. I think Daddy and I are going to have our hands full when you arrive.

We’re getting really close now, little guy. Daddy is already giddy and I am beginning to feel “ready”, whether the nursery is completely finished or not. Not that I’m ready to evict you, thankfully I haven’t hit that point yet. I am just so excited to meet you in a few short weeks.

All the love in the universe,
Mama

13 responses to “She Says… 36 Weeks

  1. It’s crazy because I can still remember visiting your blog the day before Thanksgiving and watching you get your positive pregnancy test on video. At the time, I was in the middle of my first round of Clomid (which ended up not working) and I was so in the thick of the same experiences that I cried for you! And I’ll also admit to feeling tinges of jealousy as well. Thankfully, “my time” was not far off, as the second round of Clomid was the charm for us. 🙂

    I have followed along throughout the past eight months. But reading this now, and seeing how close you are to meeting your baby, I am taken back to that day, right before Thanksgiving.

    I can’t believe you are 36 weeks already! I am happy for you, but again, feel the tinges of jealousy as well. 😉 I cannot wait to be 36 weeks! I know I will be there soon.

    Enjoy the last few weeks!

  2. I too have been watching since the “announcement video”!! You are soooo close; I hope you go early! I had some weird really painful stomachache type things a few weeks ago too; but they lasted hours so I figured they weren’t contractions. I got all optimistic baby was coming, but no luck.

    HAPPY WEEK 36!!

  3. It seems weird to me that Lilly had already arrived before I even hit 36 weeks. She was born at 35 weeks … you are doing so well and handling the heat. I’m actually glad to be stuck on bed rest when the temp hits 105 which it did yesterday. Keep up the baby growing … so close!

  4. Don’t wanna freak you out…but I had an upset stomach right around 36 weeks. My daughter was born at 36 weeks and 3 days!! : ) She was completely healthy and gorgeous – 6 lbs 11 oz.

    ANYWAY, just wanna say…have that hospital bag ready, because people kept telling me “it could be any day” and apparently, it was true!

  5. I’ve also been feeling the baby move a LOT more lately! So so active, and so so excited, I am also 36 weeks today!

  6. So excited for you Kate! It has been wonderful reading about your journey and I’m psyched to “meet” your little guy. 🙂

  7. Heather, Thank you so much for the sweet comment! I know, it really does feel like yesterday that we were announcing our exciting news. I’m so glad you have good news to share too 🙂 Don’t be too jealous — you’re almost there! My advice so far is start on that “someday before the baby comes” to do list… time flies!

    christy, You’re almost there too! One of these days those aches and pains will be that the baby really IS on his/her way.

    amers14, That is strange to think about! Every day that he keeps cookin’ is a blessing, although it may not feel like it in this heat wave. Oy.

    Cristina, Whoa! I just read your comment out loud to Benjamin and he’s panicking now 🙂 Nothin’ like a little stress to get him to do the last few things on his to do list! I’m so excited to hear you say that. I’m so excited for the next steps.

    Joanna, Happy 36 weeks 🙂 Only a few more to go!

    lisa, Thank you! Can’t wait to have good news to share very soon.

  8. It’s funny, to me it sounds longer when you say one month left vs. 36 weeks. It’s all in the mind of course, but 36 weeks sounds like you could go at any time! 🙂

  9. Hi, yes this post is in fact good and I have learned
    lot of things from it regarding blogging. thanks.

  10. Hi there, I want to subscribe for this blog to get most recent updates,
    so where can i do it please help out.

  11. I could not refrain from commenting. Very well
    written!

  12. Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you penning
    this write-up and also the rest of the website is also very good.

  13. Fantastic website. Lots of useful info here. I’m sending it to some buddies ans also sharing in delicious. And of course, thank you on your effort!

Leave a Reply

