She Says… 34 Weeks

To my son,

You are so close to being fully grown I almost can’t stand it. This week you weigh nearly 5 pounds and are about 18 inches long. Although, given that you are my son and I am 5’1″, you may be a little shorter than that. I don’t really know when short genes start to kick in, but since you are a boy, I hope you got your Uncle Chris’s height rather than mine. Your central nervous system (brain, spinal cord, and nerves) continues to mature. Your lungs are well developed at this point, and you continue to pack on ounces of fat that will help you to stay warm after birth. At this point, you open your eyes when awake and close your eyes when sleeping.

I just got back from an OB appointment and the doctor called me “beautiful” and “perfect” and my pregnancy “flawless”. Not to toot my own horn, but I’m pretty good at this whole “being pregnant” thing. Every day I am more and more proud of myself and how I am able to nourish and protect you. I may be nearing the end of the blissful part of my pregnancy, but I do feel like I will miss it in a few weeks once you’ve shown your sweet face. However, I am certain I will get just as much joy and satisfaction (if not more) out of being your mom, and thriving in that role as well.

While the doctor complimented me on being so prepared (childbirth class? check! name picked out? check! car seat purchased? check!), I feel like there is still a lot to do. We FINALLY painted your nursery and got the carpets cleaned. I can’t even tell you how happy I am with the color and the way the nursery is shaping up (in my head… we still haven’t had time to build any furniture!). I am beyond excited to start filling that room with all the little things we’ve picked out for you. But the To Do list doesn’t stop there! We still need to buy our new car (hello, minivan), pack our bags for the hospital, get everyday supplies like diapers and wipes and baby shampoo, wash all your tiny clothes in baby detergent, install the carseat… the list goes on. So although the doctor ended our appointment by saying, “You’re totally ready to have this baby!”, please give us a few more weeks. I’d like for you to be fully cooked, so 3 or 4 more weeks would be great.

I am so excited to meet you. You become more and more real to me every day. Last night as I was laying in bed my stomach was moving and stretching so dramatically it looked like you were going to break right through my skin and make your entrance into the world. You’re an active one, my little prince. I can’t wait to see you move those tiny arms and legs in person once you are born.

Off to Nantucket this weekend! Second to last little vacay weekend before birth day.

I love you more than you will ever know,
Mama

7 responses to “She Says… 34 Weeks

  1. Awesome, you are really truly seriously in the home stretch! I love all of your belly pics, you look AMAZING cutie Kate!

  2. Aww! Yay on your doctors appointment! So glad you’re doing so well! It’s it crazy how our bodies are? Especially when it’s hard to actually get pregnant!

  3. Pregnancy is really something I’ve done well at, which is great since I have NO other talents. I’m so glad things are still going well and the little man will be making his entrance in no time at all. Good for you for being so prepared!!!

  4. Yay! So excited for you. These letters are so beautiful. He will treasure them one day.

    BTW, I wouldn’t recommend buying baby detergent…just buy one that has no perfumes, dyes, etc. and just use it on all your laundry. We switched to Charlie’s Soaps because we use cloth diapers and only use vinegar with a few drops of lavender oil in it for softener. Our clothes are sooo much cleaner and it’s way cheaper because you only use a small amount. I’ve also been using a kind you can buy online, Crunchy Clean, for diapers but I may switch to it for our clothes, too. Love it! That said, All, Tide, etc. they all have free and clear versions that are fine for baby!

  5. “Not to toot my own horn, but I’m pretty good at this whole “being pregnant” thing.” – LOVE this! I felt the same way – I keep telling my husband it would be a waste of my fantastic baby-making skills to stop having kiddo’s now…Good for you! Too often we hear about the complaints of pregnancy, and I love that you are always reveling in the joy of it!

  6. awww… every pregnant woman (and non-pregnant too for that matter) should be called beautiful. It really is such a beautiful thing – so glad you’re enjoying it!

  7. Wow, I can’t believe how close you’re getting. Yoo-hoo!!

Leave a Reply

