Reunion Recap and Nursery Update

Quick weekend recap:

Reunion was a blast! It was so much fun to see everyone, and I was struck by how little had changed. Aside from my (very large and very obvious) baby bump, everything felt almost exactly like it did senior year in college. Which was, in a word, awesome. Except for sleeping in the dorm. We opted to stay in the dorm where the rest of the attendees from my class were staying (instead of paying more to stay off campus in a hotel) so that we could get the full experience and not have to drive to a hotel late at night after Benjamin had been partying and I was exhausted. It was definitely the most convenient option, and I’m glad we did it for the experience, but let me tell you, I am VERY thankful that I don’t sleep in a dorm every night!

We walked in to our room (on the 4th floor in an un-airconditioned building) to find bunk beds, rubber mattresses and sandpaper-like sheets. It’s amazing that we did that (and loved it) for 4 years. And holy cow, was it hot and humid on Saturday. My cankles were out in full force! Despite that, however, we had a wonderful time catching up with everyone.

And, drum roll please, we FINALLY got started on the nursery! Well, not so much got started on it, but began the “demo” stage of the room as it has existed for that last few months… so that’s a good start. We have the crib and changing table in boxes at the bottom of our stairs (since I can’t help move them upstairs, we have to wait until someone can come over and help Benjamin with the heavy lifting) waiting to be assembled. And the rocking chair (yes, I think I finally found one that fits my design requirements and our budget) is all picked out but not yet ordered. The paint color is selected, and the art and other DIY projects have been brainstormed. I felt so ready, yet we hadn’t moved a lick of furniture. Until this past weekend! Here are some pictures of what it looked like before we started (please note: these pictures were taken once I already started moving stuff around… it’s not usually this disorganized!).

This is also where we take the weekly belly pics, as you can see by the tripod and lighting stand 🙂 We’re going to attempt to leave the tripod set up throughout the nursery transformation, so watch for the wall color behind me to change soon!

It was a long weekend with lots of activities, but it feels SO GOOD to start getting things done. Only a few more weekends left!

14 responses to “Reunion Recap and Nursery Update

  1. I can’t wait to see the final product–you’re getting so CLOSE!

  2. sounds like you had a great weekend! the room’s off to a great start! can’t wait to see the finished product!

  3. You look so great! And that is an adorable room to use as a nursery. Can’t wait to see what you put together.

  4. I’m impressed you guys slept in the dorm. I’m even more impressed you lived in one for 4 years! That’s hardcore. I only manged 1 year in the dorm 🙂

    You look great; can’t wait to see your finished nursery

  5. What rocker/glider did you decide on? SUCH a tough choice for us…..curious what you picked out. We are also working on our nursery and I’m quite picky too 🙂
    PS 100% impressed at your team-player-ness with the dorm living. KUDOS!

  6. What a beautiful colour that melon is in your den! You’ll probably want to get a tinted primer to cover that up or you’ll be priming for days 🙂 Good luck and can’t wait to see the finished product!

  7. Didn’t any ever tell you not to wear stripes?You’re not thin enough to pull it off when you’re not pregnant, and it makes you look horrible. I would delete that photo if I were you.

  8. no name, I am leaving your comment up because I find it hilarious. Obviously the goal of my maternity fashion is not to diguise the bump, or to look thinner, but to embrace the bump and celebrate it! I love wearing stripes, and I couldn’t disagree with you more (and just as a side note, I wear stripes often even when I’m not pregnant, and I think they look great). Thanks for your thoughtful suggestion, though 🙂

  9. Kate, you are skinny enough to wear stripes any day, any night, any time. YOU LOOK AMAZING IN ANYTHING, PREGNANT OR NON-PREGNANT!! That comment made me laugh too.

  10. Heather G.

    You look beautiful in everything you wear! I am going to wear stripes in your honor tomorrow! What a bizarre thing to write on a pregnancy blog! XO!

  11. Just found your blog via Taryn’s twitter, and OMG NO NAME, jealous much?! They must know you IRL & be seething with jealousy because you are gorgeous & happy. Anyway, cute blog & congrats on the baby! When you get a hater, that means you’ve really made it. 🙂

  12. I agree, I think the stripes are cute. I’m ready for my belly bump already, but I’ve got a while lol.

  13. I agree that you look beautiful, and I’ve seen pics of you pre pregnancy and you were plenty thin enough to wear stripes! I also agree no name is someone that knows you in real life and is jealous! Glad to see you’re taking it for what it’s worth!

    Won’t be long now! Can’t wait to here the “it’s time” news!!

  14. so glad you had a good time. And can I just say that putting together the nursery is one of the most fun things about preparing for a baby – it’s an opportunity to be creative and to spend hours dreaming about using the space for your special little one. Even now, I still spend a good amount of time in Henry’s nursery rocking him to sleep or getting him ready for bed and I realize how important it is to love it and to make it a place that he will love too. Can’t wait to see yours when it’s done!

Leave a Reply

