She Says… Reunion Weekend!

I’m not quite sure how this happened, but apparently it has been 5 years since I graduated college. My how times flies. Even this pregnancy feels like it has gone by in just a few short weeks. Not that I’m at the end yet (and I’m sure time will start DRAGGING as soon as I get hot and swollen and uncomfortable very soon), but I’m almost there, and I have a feeling my life will be flying by once the little guy comes, too.

This weekend is my 5 year college reunion. I wasn’t sure I wanted to go, really. I mean, I’ve kept in touch with the very small group of friends that I was very close to, and I kind of feel like that’s enough. One can’t stay buddy-buddy with everyone; I’m not a shmoozer and I don’t really enjoy huge gatherings filled with meaningless small-talk. However, I had a wonderful college experience, and the idea of seeing all of those people again and maybe rebuilding a few connections I may have lost makes me all warm and gooey inside. And everyone knows the 5 year reunion is really just a chance to party like you’re in college again. Which sounds like fun… except if you’re 8 months pregnant. However, Benjamin (who did not go to Connecticut College with me, but had graduated from Hamilton by the time I started, spent just about every possible weekend with me and my friends) is really looking forward to partying like HE is back in college. I love that he was such an important part of my college experience, and looking back at my four years there, it almost seems like he DID go to school there, as almost all of my favorite memories of our dating/courting relationship happened there. Heck, he even asked me to marry him there! So I’m getting excited to go back and celebrate those good times.

Also, I can’t help but feel completely, utterly, wholly HAPPY with where I am in my life. And what are reunions for if not showing off what an awesome person you’ve become since you last saw all of these people? I’m living in a city I love, with a job I’m good at, a husband and dog I adore, in a cute house we fixed up ourselves, and I’m pregnant. PREGNANT. Exactly where I wanted to be at my 5 year reunion. I’m not ashamed to say it: I’m proud of where I am right now, after only 5 years in the “real” world, and I’m looking forward to seeing where others have ended up as well.

The one thing that will make our reunion a bit… strange, though, is that two of my classmates have died in the last month or so. Out of a class of  about 500 people, two have died in unrelated accidents. The president and vice president of my class, ironically enough. Two outgoing, well-meaning young men in the prime of their lives. It’s shocking. And sad. And really makes me think about the reality that no one knows how long they are going to be around. Carrying a little life around with me every day seems like such an amazing responsibility, and yet it is a constant reminder that we really have very little control over life… ours or the ones we love.

Have a lovely weekend. And enjoy it. Every minute.

8 responses to “She Says… Reunion Weekend!

  1. Enjoy your reunion! I’m sure you’ll have a blast catching up with old friends.

  2. It’s my 5 year too..although I don’t know if my University does reunions…..I should look into that. Have fun!

  3. I wish we had college reunions! I don’t even know how many people graduate from OSU every year, but I’m guessing alot! Have a fun!!!

  4. I was the only pregnant person at my 10 year high school reunion – I couldn’t believe it!
    have fun!

  5. Haha…I totally stumbled upon your blog from my “tag surfer” on wordpress…but funny thing is I work in New London and the hubbs graduated from Conn!! LOL…small world!

  6. For a minute I was thought you were going to say you went to Providence College because our 5 year reunion is this weekend too!

  7. It’s such a wonderful feeling to be completely happy with everything in life. I feel the exact same way. I feel so much pride carrying this baby knowing that all of my choices and decisions have brought me to this place and it exactly where I am supposed to be too 🙂

    Have a wonderful reunion – enjoy yourself and try not to party too hard 😉

  8. So glad you got to go to your reunion – I missed mine last year (my 20 year high school reunion. gulp.) I had no desire to go being fairly pregnant at the time – you’re braver than I was. Of course you look way better pregnant than I did at that stage too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

