She Says… Uh Oh…

I am generally an incredibly healthy person. My immune system is strong, and I usually only get sick once a year, if that. However, when I do get sick, I’m out for the count. I’m pretty much a shell of a human being until I am healthy again.

This morning I woke up with a really, really, really sore and swollen throat. I have that awful feeling like I’m about to get hit with a nasty cold/flu/virus/something.

My boss, who was working with me in New York last week, just emailed me to say that she is still out sick with the flu. Kill. Me. Now. Almost exactly 2 years ago I got the flu for the first (and only) time. I was out for an entire week, literally laying on the couch and crying about how sick I was. This is NOT like me. The flu kicked my ass. And that was WITH lovely drugs like Tamiflu. Thinking of facing that kind of illness while pregnant and unable (or unwilling) to take a lot of heavy drugs scares me.

But I’ll think try to positively. Maybe it’s just a little cold? Any home remedies you suggest that are safe for pregnant ladies?

17 responses to “She Says… Uh Oh…

  1. Force yourself to rest.. a lot. Also, [caffeine free] tea with honey and lemon. and more rest. and water!

    Hope you feel better asap!

  2. Oh no! I hope it passes without actually being the flu. Gargle a lot, now, with salt water if it is a cold. I’ve been using the NeilMed bottle to help with my sinus issues, and it’s been a godsend for me.

    Sleep, sleep, sleep!

  3. I have no idea if this is safe for pregnant women, but it’s a homeopathic medicine so maybe! Check out Zicam. Make sure you follow the directions on the package–that’s really important. It’s mostly zinc and other vitamins and really, really helps if you do it correctly (they’re little lozenges that you have to let dissolve on your tongue every few hours). It may not prevent your cold at this point, but it’ll definitely help you get over it faster.

  4. I’ll cross my fingers for you that you don’t have strep. That is going around my school right now (seems late in the year for sickness!) and I’ve been Lysoling my desk 3x a day or more.

    I took an antibiotic in January for illness and the doctor said it was perfectly safe for pregnancy; it is almost impossible for every pregnant woman to stay healthy and off medicine for 9 monthes especially during cold / flu winter monthes. It won’t be the end of the world if you do need medicine!

  5. Zicam is good (don’t take it after the baby is born / while BFing though because it will decrease your supply!). The other thing that I find really helps me is 500mg vitamin C 2x/day. Hope you feel better soon!!

  6. I’ve been treating a lot of strep and tonsillitis infections this week, so if you start running a fever or feeling worse, I’d get in to see your doc. Hopefully you just have the viral stuff going around and it will pass quickly! Doesn’t it seem like we should all be immune to getting sick during pregnancy???

  7. Oh nos!!!! It has been YEARS since I’ve had the flu, but boy do I remember it well!! It was AWFUL! Oh I hope it passes without coming on in full force. I had a bit of a sore throat coming on the other day and I was SURE I was going to get sick, but it disappeared. I am SOOO hoping the same for you!! Gah!

  8. My suggestion (take it or leave it from a stranger, i know!!)–don’t do the zicam, there were some other issues with zicam in general not to long ago. if you are having nose/throat issues, I would really recommend a neti pot or nose bidet. I use the product called Ayr that you can get at your local drugstore. It is basically a squeeze bottle with saline packets that you mix with water and shoot up each nostril. It works for stuffy noses, runny noses, post-nasal drip, and it works good. My hubbs is addicted to it too now. Also, if you are stuffy try SinusBuster which is an all natural nose spray made from capsacin. It clears you right out. I think I remember reading you are a New Englander (I’m CT) and I get it at Rite Aid. It is not at all drug stores, you can look it up online, they have a website. Now, for flu like symptoms you can do the oscillococcinum or any of the Boiron homeopathic remedies (they have them for colds and stuff too). They usually sell those at CVS, but if not, try your local natural food store/Whole Foods. Trust this mama…when I was prego I cried, literally, when I took TWO regular strength tylenol for my borderline migraine. LOL.

  9. The good part is that you are so far along that most meds are ok but check with your doc if it gets bad. I’m paranoid as well but if its safe, take it. So sorry … maybe the traveling has finally caught up. Jess and Lilly have a cold thing and I keep crossing my fingers that it skips me. Feel better!

  10. *sending positive, healthy vibes your way…*

  11. Ugh. 10 days before L was born (at 38.5 weeks), I was hit with a sinus infection, that turned into an ear infection, a weird skin irritation all over my neck, and PINK EYE. Pregnant illness sucks.

    Just crash on the sofa, drink lots of fluids, anything that feels good. I heard that bad TV also speeds up the healing process.

  12. ugh me too! Yesterday woke up with a sore throat and burning sinuses! Now I’m feeling the congestion build up.

    GET BETTER SISTER!

  13. I don’t have any great advice, but I agree with the commenter above who said if you are truly miserable, take something! You are far enough along that it won’t hurt the baby, and there is no sense in being miserable. Hope you feel better!

  14. Andrea Arbuckle

    Eldeberry concentrate – it’s all natural, works great. I take it every time I feel something coming on and it usually keeps it at bay. Doesn’t taste very good, but it helps. I think you can buy it at some healthfood/herbal supplement stores or we get it at a winery – http://www.wyldewoodcellars.com. That website also has some info on it or you can probably google it and learn more than you’d ever want to know.

  15. Thanks, everyone! I appreciate your suggestions, and healthy, happy thoughts 🙂 I woke up this morning not feeling any worse than yesterday, so maybe all that vitamin C did its job. My throat is still a little sore, so I’m going to keep resting, drinking, etc., but I’m beginning to believe that it was a false alarm. Yay!

    Laurie, Your comment made me laugh out loud, because that TOTALLY sounds like me. I may only get sick once in awhile, but when I do it is inevitably a snowball effect of uncomfortable illnesses, almost always ending with pink eye. I can’t imagine that right before giving birth! Yuck! Also, I like your treatment plan.

  16. Hi Kate. As per my blog today, I’m also under the weather and am 24 weeks along. I’m also on a work trip (ugh) so don’t have all of my fave faculties at my disposal however under normal (read: home-based) circumstances, I find cup after cup of hot water, lemon and honey will cure almost anything. It’s such a simple remedy that I think people often overlook it but if your bug keeps bugging you, give it a try. Here’s to hoping it was just a false alarm for you! I have a full blown cold and it is SUPER unpleasant. Take care 🙂

  17. I had a horrible flu when I was 7 months pregnant, and it is no fun! I had a fever and ended up having to take antibiotics 😦 For the sore throat, if you don’t want to take tylenol, the tea and honey seemed to help. I also heated up some grapefruit juice. Rest Rest and more rest!! Hope you get well soon!!!!

Leave a Reply

