She Says… 30 Weeks

My darling little boy,

It’s hot out. All of a sudden the New England spring weather gave way to summer and it’s over 90 degrees today. Yesterday we took a midday walk with Schnitzel and the poor guy was panting and laying down on the cool pavement only a few minutes after we left the house. Today we’re going to walk slower, not as far, and will bring along some water for all three of us. That seems to be the name of the game for me recently — do everything slower and bring water.

I just got back from a doctor’s appointment and my OB says everything looks outstanding. I have very low blood pressure, healthy pulse, steady weight gain (although it’s a few pounds higher than I would like, but if we’re so healthy, I’m not worrying about it!), and your heart rate is strong and steady at about 155 bpm. Perfect. She poked and prodded my stomach to figure out what position you’re in, and it looks like you are head down with your back facing out and your butt up near my right rib. So that annoying rib cramp/jab I keep feeling could be a little tiny foot. Your head is nice and low, which explains why whenever I stand up, I feel like I have to pee — your head is pushing right on my bladder! I’m so proud of both of us for being so fit and healthy at this point in the pregnancy. Now try to stay in that general head down position and we’ll be good to go for labor in 7-10 weeks. 7-10 weeks. Whoa. We have a lot to do to get ready for you.

This week you are 15-16 inches long and you weigh over 3 pounds. From this point on, babies begin to gain weight at a more individual rate, so we really don’t know exactly how much you weigh, but chances are you will more than double your weight in the next 10 weeks! That is  a lot of growing you’re doing in there. I just can’t imagine how we’ll fit 3+ more pounds in there. Your eyesight is continuing to develop as well. Apparently if I shine a flashlight into my belly you can see the light and may respond to it. Once I find a flashlight with batteries that work, I will give that a try.

You are also settling into sleeping and waking cycles, and they seem to be somewhat aligned with my own, which I appreciate! When I wake up in the morning I can feel you begin to stir. Then you nap a bit while I shower and dress for the day. I eat breakfast, and after that I can feel you boppin’ around eating your breakfast too. Then there’s another lull while I walk to work (either that or I’m just not feeling you since I’m moving around), and another party in my belly around lunchtime. Just like your Mama, you seem to respond to food more than anything else! The afternoon is similar to the morning — naptime, then snack, then dance party, then naptime, then dinner, then dance party, then naptime, then usually the biggest dance party of all right before bed. Keep up the dancin’… as uncomfortable as your little kicks and jabs are getting, I still love feeling you every day, and, as they say, an active baby is a healthy baby! Also, I’ve already begun to feel a little nostalgic for when this part of our adventure is all over and I no longer get to feel those special movements shake my belly.

I love you, my little dude. Every day that goes by makes me more excited to meet you. Keep up the good work growing and developing in there.

All the love in my heart,
Mama

5 responses to “She Says… 30 Weeks

  1. Aww…I love this!! 🙂

  2. sniff sniff, that last part brought tears to my eyes! It must be such an amazing feeling to feel him bopping around in there!

  3. I can’t believe you’re already 30 weeks! This is going so quickly. I’m glad you mentioned that they started checking the position of the baby- I was wondering when they usually started. Mine still seems to be turning some, but not as much. Glad you’re doing well and good luck surviving the hot summer- we it 90 degrees today too!!!

  4. Another beautiful letter to your baby boy 🙂 I’m glad that your baby is in a good head down position, that is always a great sign! I am almost at 29 weeks and I’m feeling the heat where I am too. I’m finding I need the A/C on and a little fan on while I sleep, and without it I am not a happy mommy. Have fun and keep cool this summer!

  5. So glad everything is going great! Baby Ava is head down too. Getting closer!!!

Leave a Reply

