She Says… 28 Weeks

My sweet little dude,

You’ve been growing and developing in there for 7 months. 7 months! It’s hard to even believe. In that time you’ve grown from the size of a poppyseed to over 2 pounds and nearly 15 inches long. And let me tell you, my body is starting to feel it. When I walk now, I feel like my back is arched more than normal and I’m wearing a belt with a dumbbell on it. I’ve gained over 25 pounds… and my joints can feel it! I’ve never carried around this much weight before. But you know what? Every single ache and cramp and sore muscle and pound is worth it. I’ve never felt so thrilled with what my body can handle (although riding my first 100-mile bike ride is still a very, very close second… for now) and I’ve never been as calm and comfortable with my future as I am right now.

People keep asking me if I’m scared or nervous or anxious about having my first baby. For whatever reason… I’m not. I have wanted you and worked for you for so long that I am just excited and happy for you to get here. I am confident that my body knows what it needs to do to nourish you for 3 more months and then “pop you out” (as cousin Abby says), and I know the rest of the knowledge I need will come in time (and perhaps from reading a few choice books).

You went to your first Red Sox game last night! Daddy and I had a lovely (if a little chilly) night at the game. We enjoyed a biiiig bag of kettle corn (unfortunately no Fenway Franks or beer for the pregnant lady) and cheered on the Sox. The highlight of the night? As we were leaving the park and there was a line out the door for the women’s bathroom, a sweet security guard at the door to the very swanky lounge waved me over and let me right in to use the bathroom inside the lounge. What an awesome perk of having a big baby belly! So… thanks, little guy.

Everywhere I go now people smile at me and give me special treatment. People give up their seats on the subway and smile at me and chatter in ways they never have before. And maybe part of it is me and my actions — I am walking slower, taking time to look around and enjoy every minute, and smiling/talking back when people notice my belly. You have made me a better person already.

I love you more than all the Fenway Franks at Fenway Park!

Love,
Mama

6 responses to “She Says… 28 Weeks

  1. So sweet! I love reading these updates and hearing how blissfully happy you are. 🙂

  2. The guard at Fenway ROCKS – yeah for special pregnancy treatment!

  3. How sweet of the security guard!

  4. DH would be so jealous of your trip to the game last night, although he did get to see the Sox on Patriot’s Day! We went to a game last summer when they were playing the Braves in Atlanta and are hoping to get to another one before Liam’s arrival– but definitely not in 100 degree heat like last summer!

    Happy 28 weeks!!

  5. The Pregnant Treatment is good stuff!! We have made it Kate!

  6. lovely!!! Congratulations and wish you all the best.

Leave a Reply

