She Says… 27 Weeks

My sweet baby,

Usually these weekly updates are done on Wednesdays, but this week has been SO BUSY I just couldn’t find time to type the words until Thursday. Don’t worry, I knew what day it was yesterday and you and I had our own little moment to celebrate. We have made it through 27 weeks together. Do you know what that means? We’re in the THIRD TRIMESTER!!! Seriously… where did the 2nd trimester go? Seems like just yesterday I was rejoicing that we had made it past the scary first trimester. The third tri makes everything seem so much more imminent, which is both exciting and scary. Not scary because I’m scared to give birth or to take care of a newborn (although maybe someday soon I’ll start getting scared about those things), but scared because I feel like I have so much I want to do before you arrive. April and May have been so busy that Daddy and I have barely had a moment to breathe (and even fewer moments to breathe together, since we’ve both been working so much), and I keep looking forward to “the summer”, when I imagine myself sitting around folding your clothes and peacefully rocking in my rocking chair waiting for you to arrive. As summer creeps closer and closer, I’m beginning to realize there’s no sign of things slowing down, so I’d better get crackin’ on my to do list even if things are busy.

You’ve certainly been busy in there! You are growing and developing so quickly now it’s almost hard to keep up. This week you are nearly 15 inches long and about two pounds. As more brain tissue develops, your brainwave activity can be detected. Your bones continue to harden, but parts of the skull will remain flexible (so the trip through the birth canal will be easier). Layers of fat continue to accumulate under your skin (ummm, and mine) and around your organs — this fat will help you regulate body temperature after birth. Also, since your eyes are opening now, you may respond to light outside my stomach. It’s amazing how aware of your surroundings you are. Another little milestone that happened yesterday: You had hiccups and I felt them! I may have felt them before but was unaware of what they were. Yesterday I felt a rhythmic tapping deep inside my stomach and I’m sure that’s what it was. So, so cute.

As for me, I’m still feeling fantastic. I am still exercising and walking everywhere (although perhaps not quite as much as I used to). But I’ve noticed that whenever it’s warm out, my feet and ankles start to swell. Not a good sign — it’s only May and we have a long way to go until August! I can already tell that is going to be an issue for me in the summer. I’ve also started to feel cramps in my calves and shins when I walk. It doesn’t stop me from walking, but it certainly does slow me down a little. Schnitzel is being a good sport about it though. He walks right by my side (most of the time) even though my pace is slower. He is going to be such a sweet playmate for you. Another symptom that I’ve developed is pregnancy rhinitis. That means I constantly have a stuffed up nose that is not helped with nose blowing. And when I do blow my nose, it often bleeds. Annoying! But honestly, I’ve been so fortunate throughout this entire pregnancy. Getting pregnant may have been a struggle, but the pregnancy itself has been smooth sailing.

Ok my little darling, it’s back to work I go. I love you and I never stop thinking about you, even when things are busy.

I love you more than you will ever realize until you have a baby of your own.
Mama

8 responses to “She Says… 27 Weeks

  1. Show us new belly pics!!!

  2. You are so right about not knowing how much your mom loves you until you have a child of your own! I realize now why my mom still treats me like her tiny baby. 🙂

  3. These letters are so precious, commenting is almost superfluous…but thank you for sharing these letters with all of us! Reminds me that all this school work I’m doing right now (at 28 years old, gah) is all for my unborn (unconceived!) babies, which really puts things in perspective for me. With finals looming all week I definitely needed some perspective. Have a beautiful day!

  4. Again, I love these letters…so much better than the “week by weeks” given by the popular sites.

    Aren’t the hiccups precious! I loved them…and they are just as adorable when the wee one is in your arms!

    And Kudos to you for continuing to exercise 🙂

  5. Time flies doesn’t it!?

    I’m only 23 but I feel like it’s happening so fast that I won’t have time to prepare!

  6. Congrats on reaching your 3rd trimester! I remember when you posted about reaching your 2nd… time really does fly. That is so cool that you have started to recognize hiccups now, too.

  7. It seems like just yesterday we were at Rustic Kitchen talking about your struggle to get preggo…and now you’re in your third trimester!!!

  8. Welcome to the 3rd trimester, Kate! I’ve got pregnancy rhinitis, too, and have had it for months. Good times, eh? At 33 wks I finally feel like I’m all done with being pregnant! That’s probably because he acts like he wants to come out – some days I feel like he’s gone all “Alien” and is about to bust out of my belly button with all his pushing and rolling. My short torso is no match for him and he likes to wedge himself into my right lung.

    Glad you’re feeling well and hope you had a good (albeit extended) stay in Munich!

Leave a Reply

