She Says… 26 Weeks

Dearest Piccolino,

This week you are soaking up my antibodies, getting your immune system ready for life outside the womb. Your little eyelids have finally separated (they were fused closed previously) and you can finally see in there!  Soon you’ll practice blinking. I so hope that you have your daddy’s big, blue eyes and long, dark lashes. My green eyes wouldn’t be so bad either 🙂 In addition, you’ve recently acquired the ability to say “yes” and “no” in rudimentary sign language, as you can now move your head back and forth. This is also the time where your head hair is starting to grow! A cute little cowlick or two may be springing into position right now, getting ready for years of cute-but-stubborn bed-head. Also, your toenails have grown in and you, my little raisin, continue to slowly pile up fat beneath your still-loose skin. Most importantly, brain tissue and neurons are all developing at a rapid pace, increasing your (super-smart) brain activity and will continue to function at accelerated levels for the first seven to eight years of childhood!

Now that you and I are home from our crazy travels (Munich, and our East Coast tour of Pennsylvania, Delaware, Maryland and all the states in between), Daddy and I can get down to business on getting ready for you to arrive. Right now I am writing to you from “my office”, which will soon become your nursery, and it doesn’t look much different than it did before we knew you existed! Aka, we haven’t done much in here yet. But don’t worry your pretty little head about it, because I have everything all planned out, I just need to pull the trigger. Your bedding should arrive any day now and your crib and changing table are ordered. I’m still struggling to find the perfect rocking chair to rock you to sleep in every night, but I have a paint color and wall art ideas dancing around in my head. As long as you don’t come too, too early, it will be perfect by the time you are here.

As for me, I’m getting BIG. Every time your daddy looks at me, he just smiles and smiles. Sometimes it feels like he’s laughing at me, but really I think he just can’t believe how my body has changed. It is shocking, even for me. In the mornings when I get out of the shower I’ll just stare at my round, protruding belly. You’re so big now that I can often tell where you are in my stomach by how hard my stomach feels in certain areas. I feel you moving around and kicking in there throughout the day. Over the weekend when we were in Delaware at Aunt Kim’s house I was showing off my belly and Aunt Kim, Uncle Chris and Aunt Jess touched my little basketball and said hello to you. They cannot wait to meet you (Aunt G can’t wait either… she just didn’t happen to be there this time). And on the drive home, I felt actual pain when you kicked me in my bladder! You are one strong, little boy.

I am so excited to introduce you to our big, loving family when you arrive. But don’t arrive too soon, I still have a lot to do to get ready for you! I love you and I’m so glad you’re mine.

All the love in the world,
Mama

6 responses to “She Says… 26 Weeks

  1. Loving this 🙂 I bet it is definitely a trip to see your body change so significantly in a relatively short amount of time!

  2. I just love how you embrace the changes in your body. You seem to be one blissed-out mama to be – how fantastic! Have fun getting that room ready. I’m sure you’re keen to get on it after all your travels!

  3. BELLY PICS, PLEASE!!! 🙂

    Glad to hear you’re home and settling in for a bit. I’m all the traveling was exhausting!

  4. I agree with Jen! 🙂 So happy for you guys…I think a calm Mommy brings a calm baby into this world, you sound so zen!

  5. I am amazed every day at how much my body has changed. It’s a miracle and I love every bit of it, but it is shocking at times! Glad to hear that you’re doing well. And I’m also a little relieved to know that I’m not the only one who hasn’t really touched the nursery yet. Ours is still a guest room… Maybe soon I’ll get started!

  6. Almost to 3rd!! It is amazing feeling where our little ones are in our bellies!!

Leave a Reply

