She Says… 21 Weeks

My sweet baby boy,

Happy 21 weeks! You are so long now; 10.5″, roughly the size of a banana. And speaking of food, you are gulping down several ounces of amniotic fluid every day, both for hydration and nutrition and to practice swallowing and digesting. And, these days, your taste buds actually work! Studies show that after birth, babies are most interested in tastes they’ve already experienced through amniotic fluid. So, even though I am always very health-conscious, I have been thinking even more carefully about what foods I want you to like as I prepare my own meals. This week we’ve had homemade anadama bread and blueberry bran muffins, apples, oranges, sweet potatoes, salad, bananas, whole grain cereal and lots of milk, eggs, Greek yogurt and strawberries. Ok, and some ice cream too. Mama’s gotta get her kicks! In any case, I hope that you’ll develop a taste for healthy, whole foods as you grow up. I imagine you will, because that’s what you’re going to get 🙂

I ordered the crib bedding for your nursery and every time I go in that room, I can’t help but just stare and imagine what it will look like filled with cute little baby things. I am so excited to paint over the pink walls (although the funky color scheme made a fun office for me for the last few years) and turn that room into a little baby heaven.

My little man, I have felt you moving around in my stomach a few times in the last week. I keep wanting to feel you more and harder (for now… I realize that’s a scary thing to wish for!), so feel free to stretch out those arms and legs and let me know what you’re doing in there. In a few weeks I may begin to feel actual kicks rather than the “bubbles” I feel now, and Daddy might even be able to feel you moving around from the outside of my stomach. I am excited for that. He doesn’t get to feel you all the time like I do, so kick away so he can feel you too.

So many people can tell that you are in my stomach now that it is fun just to walk down the street. I see people looking at my belly and I couldn’t be happier. I want everyone to know you are in there. I love you more than I ever thought possible. It’s so much better than love at first sight. It’s like I know you and love you before anyone has ever seen you.

You’re the best thing I’ve ever created.

Love,
Mama

7 responses to “She Says… 21 Weeks

  1. Your letters make me smile every week. 🙂
    I’m getting kicked and prodded like mad these days, and still love it – I don’t think it ever gets old!

  2. What a sweet letter. You have such a way with words. And I’m also proud of showing my pregnant belly off to the world. It makes me tear up everytime I see someone whisper that my belly is cute or comment that I’m pregnant.

  3. Beautifully written. I love your weekly updates and pictures! It’s amazing how much your body changes every single week!

  4. So lovely. Glad you are looking pregnant and getting lots of pregnancy love!

  5. Stranger comments are great! It means it is real!Happy 21 weeks!

  6. Ok, so I was Googling and came across this website. Might be of interest to you, we had a discussion about this a couple weeks back, just thought I’d pass it along!

    http://www.blurb.com/landing_pages/blogbook?ce=google_blog&gclid=CKHShNiV1KACFclW2god00lntg

  7. Domesticated-Bliss, Thank you! That is SO AWESOME! Benjamin and I spent hours and hours putting together an iPhoto book for our wedding (using photoshop, designed each page individually), but this will save a LOT of time when I want to put together the “How Piccolino was made” book 🙂 So great.

Leave a Reply

