She Says… Baby Expo

I am not usually a fan of forcing myself into an enclosed space with millions of people and long lines for the bathrooms. Nevertheless, yesterday I attended TheBump.com’s It’s a Baby & Family Expo. When I see the words “free swag bag” I am almost always sold πŸ™‚ Admission was only $8, and I knew there would be booths and booths of baby stuff to look at and play with, so I figured that even if I wasn’t lucky enough to be one of the first 50 expectant moms there (to get my bag of free stuff), I’d have plenty to keep me busy. Besides, Benjamin was out of town (again!), so I was on my own.

I decided to take the T instead of drive there, since I had never been to this convention center before and figured that the parking lot was likely to be crazy (and that makes me a little crazy). I’m naturally an early riser, so I arrived at the expo center about 25 minutes before the doors opened. Score! I did a quick count of the pregnant ladies in front of me, and I was about number 30 — definitely in line in time to get my free stuff. And on top of that, a nice woman who happened to have some extra free admission passes gave me one, so the whole event was free. Yippee!

Inside, there were TONS of vendors with TONS of baby products. I got my swag bag from TheBump (cute canvas tote bag, barely anything worthwhile in it — lesson learned, sometimes the swag bag is NOT worth it!) and planned my route throughout the rows of exhibitors. Being the Type A person I am, and not wanting to miss anything, I decided on a route that would carefully take me from one end of the room to the other without missing a booth. This is the part where Benjamin would have gone crazy, so I’m glad he was away and I decided to come on my own. There were lots of great brands, many offering coupons, samples of their products and a lot of insight. I checked out pacifiers and bottles (Nuk, Playtex), carseats and strollers (Graco, Chicco, Microlite, Uppababy), tried on wraps and baby front packs, and even tasted some homemade baby food and toddler teething biscuits (Baby MumMums).

The highlight of the day? Getting my hands on the UppaBaby Vista 2010 stroller that I’ve been lusting after! Even before I went to the expo I had pretty much decided that’s the stroller I want, but to see it and play with it in person was AWESOME. It is so lightweight and gorgeous, the design is to die for, the features are better than anything else I tested, and it pushes like a dream. The bassinet and seat are easy to click in and out, the whole stroller is relatively easy to fold up and some of the upgrades in the 2010 version make it better than anything else on the market in its price range. It was also nice to see a few of the fabrics in person, because the colors are slightly different than they appear online (though all are quite beautiful).

All in all, a fun day, and even better since I didn’t pay a dime!

11 responses to “She Says… Baby Expo

  1. Lucky duck! We don’t have baby expos around here! Lots of wedding ones, but no baby ones 😦

    A friend of mine has an Uppababy stroller and I made a note of it even before I was pregnant because I thought it was so neat! Question: Do you need a separate car seat with those? I could have sworn that she used it as a car seat too, but I’m not 100% sure. Is that you have to buy an adapter for it?

  2. What a fun way to spend your day! I would leave my Hubby at home too! I love reading your adventures, makes me so excitednfor when I finally get the bfp! Love the uppa stroller is it a car seat too?

  3. I love the Uppababy stroller…but it’s options for a double stroller are basically non-existent for two infants. Bummer.

  4. Baby Mum Mums are divine!

  5. Such a fun event!!!

    Angie & Jenny – with the Uppa you have to buy an adapter and then the carseat fits in.

    I’m having a lot of issues deciding between the Uppa and the Bugaboo. Why are there so many choices?!

  6. Ummm, drooling over that stroller, totally understand your obsession. Awesome to hear how much fun you are having. Yip yip yip!!! πŸ™‚

  7. Kate, I’m so proud of you. You know what type of stroller you want and actually seem educated about that decision. I keep getting totally overwhelmed when it comes to making decisions regarding any of the practical stuff. πŸ™‚

  8. I’m so impressed with how organized you are about all of your baby purchases. The stroller is adorable!

  9. Sounds like you had a blast! I’m very particular about how I ‘attack’ an expo too πŸ™‚ I rarely drag the hubby because he wants to get in and get out!

    glad you found your stroller!

  10. Sounds like a lot of fun!

    We just purchased the Uppababy and I cannot wait to take my little girl around in it. I’ve already bought the carseat adapter, which, is just as easy to remove as the other parts; and the cup holder. Aside from the Bugaboo, it is THE stroller to have around the city (SF).

  11. romancingthestone

    You are too cute! I attended the Expo on Saturday and was a little disappointed that there weren’t more vendors. I am glad you had a blast. I love that stroller too. Just a little worried that you can’t open and close it with one hand. My sister said to keep that in mind as you often have a baby (or something) in the other hand. LOVE THE ROOM DECOR. You are truly fantastic! Shell http://romancingthestone.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

