She Says… Bump Watch

NOT my bump! Not quite there yet 🙂

It’s official. I’m pregnant and everyone can tell. I’ve begun to notice other people doing to me what I used to do to cute pregnant ladies when I saw them walk by. You just can’t help but look at their bump. I was always partly in awe of just how unnaturally round and protruding the bump was, especially on petite women, and also in awe that there was a little child in there.

  • The other day on the T someone gave up their seat for me. I must have looked particularly tired standing (which I was), and I was more than happy to take him up on the offer. I smiled the whole way home. He could tell!
  • This morning on my walk to work I noticed two people stealing a glance at my round belly as we passed each other. In the last few weeks it’s gotten to the point where my jackets don’t button over my middle, so I only button the top button. It exaggerates my bump a little, but I don’t mind a bit! THEY were watching MY bump!
  • While riding the train home from Wilmington on Tuesday, a mom struggling with two young  kids and a stroller smiled knowingly at me. I’ve joined the club!

Best of all, though, is at the gym. I’ve always admired those pregnant ladies showing off their bump and healthy pregnancy glow on the stairmaster, and now I’m one of them! I feel like a rock star jogging on the treadmill, proudly sticking my bump out.

In short, I love my bump.

 

20 responses to “She Says… Bump Watch

  1. For me it started around 6 months when people started looking. However, not until right now (31 weeks) have random people made comments. But I’m disappointed to say I have never been given a seat on a NYC subway!!! Granted, I don’t think you can always tell b/c my coats can still stay buttoned (not sure how). But this past week I have been wearing a spring maternity jacket and clearly look pregnant and still no one offered, can you believe it?!

  2. I love my bump too! Amazingly, I’ve never felt so beautiful in my whole life. I’m glad you’re enjoying it!!!

  3. Kate – this made me laugh because I remember how happy I was when people started to notice my bump and actually *comment* on it (which I decided meant I definitely looked pregnant and not just chubby). That lasted a good 10 weeks, and then people started looking at my bump not with admiration but with concern. As in, “uh…are you about to go into labor in this elevator?” People were always shocked when I told them I had several months to go! I’m also 5’1″ and very petite, so I looked gigantic.

  4. I remember loving when people could tell that I’m pregnant…but now I get these looks of pity mixed with fear at the gym! It’s like people think that I’m just going to hop off the elliptical and grunt out the kid right there on the gym floor!

    Everyday I’m a little bit more uncomfortable and I just want to meet my baby already (well, I want her to stay in there for at least 7 more weeks to be full term, but you know what I mean!)

  5. So glad you’re enjoying it! I’m just now (at 33 weeks) obviously pregnant and not chubby, and very thankful to finally have a baby bump – I hope I can embrace it as well as you are!

  6. I’m so happy and excited for you guys! I can’t wait to start seeing the bump pics! 🙂

  7. aw! congrats! i can’t wait until mine looks more like a bump than a few lumps! 🙂

  8. allison’s comment made me laugh. i’m definitely in that category too; where strangers probably think i’m “more lump than bump”. lol.

  9. YEAH for random bump watching form strangers! Customers at my restaurant starting asking when I was due when I was about 20 weeks… I LOVE every time someone asks!

    Funny, though… I am now 28 weeks and OBVIOUSLY preggo and I have had several customers that don’t leave room for me to walk by their table after I seat them. I want to be like, okay lady, I can’t physically squeeze by you. You wither need to sit down or move so I don’t have to hover over your table all night!

  10. You guys are cracking me up with these comments! Love it! Keep ’em comin’ 🙂

  11. As a non pregnant person, I’m glad that pregnant people appreciate the looks I give to pregnant women. Bumps make me smile!

  12. Kate, it’s wonderful that you love your baby bump! I love the stage that I’m in right now (wk 18). I’m feeling really good and my bump is definitely a real baby bump! The whole time people at work thought I was eating too many snacks lol. Since they all know now I feel good about my snacking more and my tummy.

    I had a man open the door for me the other day after he noticed my belly. His girlfriend told him afterwards ” awww you’re so sweet” and he started to blush. He answered “when a pregnant lady walks by you always hold the door”. I thought that was really sweet. I thanked him kindly and gave him a warm smile. He really made my day.

    I too have now joined the proud of baby bump club 🙂 Enjoy Kate!

  13. Can’t wait to see this week’s belly pic! Although I’m not there yet, I can tell such a change in my belly this week! This morning, Rob popped his head into the shower and ran his finger down my belly and said “Woooop!” While I had a bit of a belly before, this one is definitely baby. 🙂

  14. Good for you! I LOVED my bump too, and I also loved my pregnancies, minus the nausea of the first trimester.
    I get misty every time I see a lady and her bump, because I still marvel that there is a tiny person in there 🙂

  15. I loved my bump too =) I soooo badly want to sport another one, it’s driving me insane!

  16. Also, I’m a total pregnant woman stalker now. Seriously. I see a bump and it is all I can do to keep from running up and being like A BABY! THERE IS A BABY IN THERE! With fingerprints! And irises! And an insatiable appetite! And someday it is going to poop all over you and you are going to think that it’s the cutest baby poop in the world.

    Siiiiiiiigh. Happy, happy sigh. Bumps rock.

  17. i have NEVER seen a pregnant woman at my gym! if and when i ever get there (le sigh) i fear people are going to stare and say mean things to me. hopefully not, though!

    i bet you look ADORABLE 🙂 i love the early bumps!

  18. I love it!!! Its official to the world!

  19. romancingthestone

    Enjoy every minute of this miracle!
    Shell

  20. romancingthestone

    I can’t tell you how much I love being pregnant. I am glad you are savoring it Kate.
    Shell
    http://romancingthestone.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

