She Says… 19 Weeks

Sweet Piccolino,

Daddy and I are SO EXCITED to know that you are a boy. It makes you seem so much more real. We can finally start envisioning just what our lives with you will look like. This past weekend I (we!) took the train down to Wilmington, Delaware to see Aunt Kim, Uncle Ruben, cousin Abby and your brand new cousin Rebecca. Baby Becca is gorgeous — she has tons of black hair and makes the funniest little facial expressions. Her hands and feet are so tiny; it is hard to imagine that one day we’ll meet you and hold you just like that. Aunt Kim showed me a baby clothes consignment shop near her house and I bought you a bunch of clothes! Your first shopping spree. The little outfits are so adorable; it was so fun to shop knowing that you are a little boy.

I honestly can’t believe that you are the size of a mango this week. Although I feel like my stomach has grown A LOT so far, a mango seems so big! You are now covered in vernix, a greasy white substance made of lanugo, oil and dead skin cells (yum!) that shields you from the amniotic fluid. You are very much in tune with your surroundings, too. You can taste the food I eat, touch the umbilical cord and membrane that surrounds you, and sense my emotions. I will do my best to think happy thoughts and continue doing yoga to keep us both calm and balanced.

I love you so much and can’t wait to see how our lives change once you arrive. After watching Aunt Kim these last few days I know things will be difficult in the beginning, but I am up for the challenge.

All the love in the universe,
Mama

5 responses to “She Says… 19 Weeks

  1. So, so sweet. So happy about your baby boy!!

  2. I have been following you for a while, but I’m not sure I’ve ever commented. I have loved watching your bump grow and reading your sweet letters to your little piccolini. And I’m so excited he’s a boy! I pray that I’ll be able to write letters to our little growing baby very soon!

  3. Its amazing what our little tykes go through to get here! So happy for y’all!

  4. Oh my! So much has happened since I last checked your blog! Congratulations!!! It’s a boy! Glad to see all is well!!!! Keep his name to yourselves and don’t let anyone ruin it for you! 😉

Leave a Reply

