He Says… Can’t take my eyes off of you

Ok, I promise this isn’t going to be another sappy lovey-dovey post.  In fact, this may have almost the opposite effect (although that is not my intent).

I can’t stop looking at Kate these past few weeks.  If I am sitting on the couch with her, watching her brush her teeth or passing by her in our kitchen, I just can’t stop staring.  And it’s generally not at her beautiful face.  Instead my gaze is directed at her ever expanding stomach.  Now, I probably should have learned in my 30 years that you are not supposed to stare at a woman’s stomach (especially one that is getting bigger and bigger) but I can’t help it.  You see, I am just finding it especially unusual to watch someone who I have known for 8 years take on an “unusual” shape.  Every day it seems that she is getting bigger and bigger, and I know we also have a long way to go and a lot more growing and growing.  Don’t get me wrong, I love what I see, but it is just kind of, well… strange, I guess.

Part of it is the actual physical change, but a large part is also knowing there is a little person inside of her.  While this miracle of life is how we all came to be on this planet, I sort of find the thought of this living being inside of my wife to be kind of creepy.  (Maybe it’s from seeing “Aliens” too many times.)  This extra person is especially unusual when Kate and I have some, um, alone time.  I never thought that would bother me, but it does a little.  What we do alone, should be alone (except for the fact that we share some of the details of this on our blog) and I’d rather not have someone else in the room during this.

Anyway, I am excited to see Kate get a lot bigger and pregnanter (I won’t use the “f” word).  It’s neat and cool and strange and unusual and I imagine many husbands have similar thoughts about this expanding process.  Still, Kate, you are more beautiful than ever and I love you so much, and I hope you don’t mind me staring at you in this way.

7 responses to “He Says… Can’t take my eyes off of you

  1. You are a lucky girl Kate. Sweet hubby you have!

  2. You are a sweatheart!

  3. What a great male perspective on the ‘expansion’ that is pregnancy 🙂

  4. I imagine that most hubbies feel this way– the transition from two to three is a strange one, especially during intimate moments.

    I’m sure Kate doesn’t mind that you stare– just keep reminding her how beautiful she is!! 🙂

  5. Smart move with not using the F word! You are wise beyond your years!

  6. cutest post ever

  7. That’s good to hear. My husband is nervous about all of the changes. We start clomid in a few weeks. We are hoping for success 🙂

Leave a Reply

