She Says… 18 Weeks

My little sweet potato!

We are two weeks away from the halfway point. How did that happen?! Time seems to be flying now. Guess what? Your cousin is being born today!!! I am expecting a phone call any minute now from Aunt Kim to tell me that Rebecca Grace has been born. How exciting! Although I always knew that babies were miracles, the whole experience of wanting you and trying so hard for you and finally getting pregnant with you has given me a new perspective on just how incredible each tiny, little life is. You are so lucky to come into this world with 2 sweet, loving cousins, and there are more to come after you, I’m sure. I look forward to the days when my sisters and brother and I can get our babies together to play.

And you, my sweet Piccolini, you are my miracle. In the past week you have become amazingly mobile, passing the hours yawning, hiccupping, rolling, twisting, kicking, punching, sucking, and swallowing. And you are finally big enough that I’ll soon be able to feel your movements (still waiting on that milestone, little one!). Your ears are now facing forward and are completely formed, so you can actually hear me talking and singing to you now. Your nerves are making more and more complex connections. Your sense of smell, taste, sight and hearing are all developing.

Tomorrow Daddy and I go to the doctor for a very important appointment. If you cooperate with the ultrasound tech (please do!), we’ll find out if you are a boy or a girl! We are so anxious to know. We will obviously be thrilled either way, but it will make you feel so much more real once we know. Everyone seems to think you are a girl, but we’ll see tomorrow. We already have your name picked out and can’t wait to start thinking of you as a name rather than just a baby. Not to mention the fact that I can’t wait to get started on your nursery!

Ok, get lots of rest for your big debut tomorrow. I love you so much it’s all I can think about sometimes.

All the love in my heart,
Mama

9 responses to “She Says… 18 Weeks

  1. Congratulations on your baby neice!!! Have an amazing weekend in Delaware. I can’t wait to see if you have a boy or girl!! I am saying Team Pink 🙂

    Joanna

  2. Congrats on 18 weeks. Can’t wait to hear the gender and the name! Very exciting!

  3. Really enjoy your blog, thank you! Keep it up!

    You might enjoy my blog if you want to know how your partner is feeling during pregnancy!

    All the best,

    Ben

  4. I am soooo excited to see your post tomorrow!

  5. Good luck tomorrow! Hope your baby isn’t being modest…

  6. Kate, I can’t believe you are already 18 weeks!! Congrats! Good luck tomorrow, I can’t wait to read your blog, I have a feeling is going to be a beautiful little girl.

  7. Good luck tomorrow! Very anxious to see if its a boy or a girl!

  8. Eeeeee! So exciting!

  9. I don’t understand what the baby’s sex has to do with designing a nursery. I mean, is Girl-Gunmetal-and-Concrete different from Boy-Gunmetal-and-Concrete?

Leave a Reply

