She Says… Catch up: The Goods and Not-So-Goods

Hi! Sorry it has taken me a few days to write; it’s been a busy week. First things first, thank you all for the comments and emails over the last week. Even though I haven’t been able to respond, I read and loved every one! As you probably know, Benjamin and I went to New York last weekend to visit friends, and both of us stayed in New York for work this past week. What I thought was going to be a couple days of meetings in my company’s New York office turned into a 5-day, all day meeting extravaganza for me. It was an awesome opportunity for me to stretch myself professionally, and although I barely had time to do anything other than work, it was a wonderful experience and I am proud of myself for stepping up to the plate.

Meanwhile, I feel like my pregnant body is growing and changing by the day. All of a sudden I look and feel totally, TOTALLY pregnant, and everyone else seems to notice too. Here’s a quick rundown of some of the goods and not-so-goods of the last week.

The goods:

  • I’ve officially popped! No matter what I’m wearing now, I think it’s pretty clear that I’m pregnant. Some outfits exaggerate the belly more than others, but I feel like I’m finally getting to the point where strangers on the street know I’m pregnant, which is pretty exciting.
  • While some smells and foods still make me curl up my nose in disgust, most of my strong food aversions are past. I’ve been eating normally again (salad! steak! chicken!), and food tastes delicious. Thank goodness. I still have trouble ordering food in a restaurant (I always seem to order something and then when it comes, it’s just not what I really want), but in general I am back to my normal, food-loving self again.
  • 4 days until we find out the sex! Everyone I have met has predicted that it’s a girl (apparently I’m carrying very high?), and I kind of feel the girl vibes too. We are so anxious to know!

The not-so-goods:

  • BACK ACHES! You always hear pregnant women complaining about their aching backs, but I guess I thought it was a result of a huge belly, so it wouldn’t be an issue until much later in pregnancy. Well, at least in my case, it is not. I have started to feel lower back pains when I walk for awhile, and I find it hard to get comfortable at night because of my sore back. I’ve been putting a pillow between my legs to align my spine better, but I still find myself bending and stretching often throughout the night to work out the kinks.
  • Peeing. Often. A lot. And sometimes when I, ummm, didn’t plan on it. I also knew that this was a common pregnancy symptom, but I hoped it wouldn’t start so soon. This morning I sneezed and felt myself pee a little. And it was out of my control. What a weird feeling! Sigh.

Throughout my pregnancy, Benjamin has been hoping I would have some weird food cravings (you know, ice cream and pickles, etc.). Because I generally eat so healthily, I think he was hoping it would be something totally out of character. Other than ice cream (which I’ve just been loving more and more every week), I think I have a new craving: CONDIMENTS. Whereas I used to eat my salad relatively dry, sandwiches with no mayo or mustard, burgers with just a little ketchup, now I want to drown my food in condiments. I had a sandwich in New York with mayo on it and thought I had died and gone to heaven. And I used to find mayo disgusting! When I eat french fries now, I want them to swim in a vat of ketchup. When I eat salad, I want to cover every lettuce leaf in dressing. Apparently that’s how I’m choosing to get my extra 300 calories a day 🙂

If you are or have been pregnant, what were/are your food cravings? If you aren’t pregnant, do you think your eating style will change if/when you get pregnant?

19 responses to “She Says… Catch up: The Goods and Not-So-Goods

  1. Hey Kate,
    I am 21 weeks along and I have had the lower back pain for a month or two now. It does suck. BUT…from what my pilates and yoga instructors have told me it’s not so much my “back” as it is “SI pain”. I have found that taking a tennis ball and putting it between my back where it hurts and the wall and then putting some pressure on it (and maybe rolling it around a little bit using my back) that it really helps to alleviate the pain. It hurts like a b*$#h when you’re starting to work out that pain but as my yoga instructor says, “breathe through the pain until it starts to feel better”! And then it really does start to feel better! You could also look at getting a pilates roller and rolling around on that on the floor on your back/side; I have found that to be good too. If it sounds too sketchy you could ask someone at your gym/pilates/yoga instructor and they should be able to help you out. Of course, it might only work if it really is your SI and not your back! Good luck! I hope you find some relief because I know how much back pain stinks!!

  2. Oh yeah, and I’m with you on the peeing a little bit when you sneeze thing too! Oops! Luckily it has only happened once (okay, twice!) but it’s not a good sign of things to come. Better start working on improving my pelvic floor!!

  3. I haven’t had the “peeing a lot” since month 1 & 2 and you’ve got me big time fearing the “accidental peeing” !! LOL.

    I agree I LOVE MAYONAISE (even when not pregnant though). Nothing has really changed as far as cravings and likes / dislikes!

  4. I craved milkshakes for a bit and then randomly, caramel sundaes…from McDonald’s, of all places. I hadn’t had one since I was a kid, but I read another blogger I love commented (also while pregnant) that a photo of her dog looked like a caramel sundae and I was all “she DOES look like a caramel sundae, and I want one now!” And now McDonald’s has discontinued caramel sundaes. What will I do when I’m pregnant again, OMG!!!

  5. Lately I’ve been craving iced coffee drinks (mochas, lattes, etc). I normally like them quite a bit and I used to be a barista, but lately I *really* want them!

    My back has been bothering me as well. I was also under the impression it would be more at the end, but no such luck!

  6. I did not make the connection until I read this, but my love affair with mustard and ketchup started during my pregnancy with Juliet. I always liked ketchup, and I always HATED mustard, and during my pregnancy with Juliet, I was pour both of those things onto anything and everything.

    I tend to really like vegetables and nuts and I have had major aversions during both pregnancies. The day I delivered Juliet, I was able to eat nuts again. This pregnancy I crave fruit, fruit, and more fruit. A normal nighttime snack is 1/2 a pineapple or 3 bosc pears. I can’t get enough. Now, I’ll start worrying if I eat fruit with condiments : )

    Congrats on “popping”! It is great when everyone can tell you are pregnant!

  7. Karen, Yes! That sounds like exactly what I’m experiencing. I find that if I rub my knuckles into my lower back (just like the tennis ball trick you mentioned), it does feel somewhat better. I’ll definitely try the tennis ball trick tonight! Thank you.

    christy, Yeah, I didn’t notice a huge uptick in the times I had to pee throughout the first trimester (perhaps because I already have to go every hour?) but now I’m beginning to notice it. Dramatically. Oh, to be a pregnancy cliche 🙂

    Beth, That is so funny that you mention milkshakes, because I have DEFINITELY been craving them, and I can’t remember the last time I had one pre-pregnancy. In fact, I almost never go to McDonald’s, but recently a friend introduced me to the “Shamrock Shake” (apparently a St. Patrick’s day shake that is minty vanilla — pure heaven, I tell you!) and I can’t seem to get enough. I’ve only allowed myself one, but I’ve yearned for more!

    Jen, Mmmmm, iced coffee drinks sound lovely right now.

    perrack, Ha! So you had/have the condiments thing too! I kind of hope it goes away after pregnancy (for the sake of my waistline!), but we’ll see…

  8. My sister-in-law slept with the Boppy Total Body Pillow for mom’s when she was pregnant and swears by it..maybe it will help?

  9. I know my husband will hope i have food cravings for things i normally don’t like. I am a very picky eater where he loves all kinds of food. He cant wait to see what I will crave.

  10. Mmmm, i’m loving milkshakes these days. DH makes me one after dinner (or whatever I van stomach as dinner) almost every night. And baby always wriggles when I drink them! (23 weeks today)

  11. baby bellyyyyyy!!!! 😀 hi piccolini, welcome to a expandable mommy belly space! 🙂 can’t wait to meet you!

  12. I’m 10 weeks and, while I don’t know if it’s a “craving” yet, I find myself often wanting Auntie Anne’s pretzels with cream cheese. 🙂 Yummm

  13. I’m with Beth and Ettie- I’ve always liked milkshakes, but would never really have them. Now whenever I see one on a menu, I have to have one. Chocolate, of course.
    My other huge mainstay is chocolate milk!!! I have to have some each morning with my prenatal vitamin. Water or regular milk just won’t do 🙂

  14. YES YES YES KETCHUP KETCHUP KETCHUP. Careful… you better guard that stuff. Ben has a tendency to confiscate it after the second or third bottle.

  15. i totally read that as “i’ve officially pooped”!!
    and i was thinking….. ooooookay. yay?

    you gotta put new pics up!

  16. haya, Hahahahahaha! Benjamin read it that way too. Although he thought that WAS what I typed… because I’ll be honest… it would be almost as exciting. Niiiiice.

  17. Yeah, backaches and random peeing…good times! Some days I feel like an old lady. I find that sleeping on my side with a pillow between my legs helps ease this hip/leg pain. No obvious cravings or aversions for me (my hubby was also bummed about this), but sweets and carbs that I love anyway taste so much better now. Like I need REAL cookies, not just those silly 100-calorie packs. I’m on an Oreo kick right now. And chocolate. I must each a little piece of chocolate every day!

  18. When I was pregnant the first time, I craved blueberry Eggos and peanut butter (yes together), the second time it was Taco Bell and Subway’s Tuna subs and the third time was Chinese food (any and all ). My eating habits went back to normal after I had the babies and I couldn’t stand the stuff for a while because I ate so much of it while pregnant.

  19. Congrats on your awesome work week in NYC, very proud of you! 🙂 And that is SO COOL you’re getting the is-that-lady-pregnant double-takes on the street now. 🙂

    I am a huge ketchup girl, always have been. It’s hard to imagine slopping more of it on my plate, even if I get pregnant. Hahaha.

    Can’t wait to hear mini-Kate-&-Ben’s gender!

Leave a Reply

