She Says… 17 Weeks

Baby Piccolini,

Happy 17 weeks. You are getting so OLD! It seems like time is flying now. You are roughly the size of an onion — over 5 inches long from crown to rump. This week your unique-to-only-you fingerprints develop. That is a pretty exciting milestone because you are beginning to become your own little person in there. I know you will always be a part of me and your dad, but you will also have your own personality and way about you, and I can’t wait to get to know you. Last night we had dinner with friends and we were discussing how the name you give your baby impacts their personality throughout their life. We have already picked out your name, and even without meeting you, I just know it will suit you (whether it is our boy name or our girl name!).

I have been feeling great this week. So normal I almost don’t feel pregnant! Oh, except for the BELLY I’m growing. Believe me, my body looks completely different now than it did even a few short weeks ago. I have started to feel a stretching and tensing in my stomach, but I don’t think I’ve felt the “flutters” or “quickening” that is you kicking and swimming around inside me. I’m anxious to feel it. Kick away!

No weird food cravings or aversions going on now, except ice cream. It feels so cliche, to be the pregnant lady shoveling ice cream down her throat, but I’ll be honest, it feels so good! Today a woman said to me, “You’re so tiny for 17 weeks! You look fabulous!”. It was so lovely to hear, and it made me happy that I haven’t gone off the splurging deep end (yet!).

7 days until we find out if you are a boy or a girl!

All the love in the world,
Mama

12 responses to “She Says… 17 Weeks

  1. Aw, this is so sweet and exciting! I hope you feel those flutters soon!

  2. Wow! I feel like it was yesterday I was reading about you trying to concieve, and now you’re finding out the sex in a week! Amazing! Can’t wait to hear if its a boy or girl! 🙂

  3. 7 days!! We find out in 8! We are on every milestone together! I love it! You are growing a sweet onion this week!!

  4. You are so adorable!!! I love hearing your updates because you give me something to look forward to in my own pregnancy and I like to look ahead at how big the baby will soon be.

  5. the first time I felt my first daughter move I was lying on my stomach propped up on my elbows. (like reading a magazine on the floor). she is 13 now and I still remember that thrill. layer I would take a bath and watch the eater move from her activity while I was perfectly still. crazy stuff the making of a human! good luck.

  6. make that water!

  7. Awwwww, time does feel like it’s going by so fast! Do you two have any *inklings* about what you feel it is, like any dreams about girl or boy babies? I always find that so interesting! I’m so glad you’re feeling great! 🙂

  8. Congrats on lucky week number 1-7!!! I have ZERO doubt you are adorable and glow-y and tiny with a great bump. 🙂

  9. I bet you are so excited to find out the gender! I’m excited and i’m only a reader!

  10. I’m totally jealous you guys already have names picked out! That is going to be the biggest struggle for us! Good luck on finding out 🙂

  11. Only 7 days!!! I’m so jealous– dying to know what we’re having. I’m going to this awesome “Mothers of Multiples” consignment sale tomorrow and I would buy tons of gender specific stuff if I could… For now, we’ll stick with furniture, I think. 🙂

  12. I can’t wait to hear what you are having. You are too cute!

Leave a Reply

