She Says… A Song for the Not-Yet-Born

As someone who has been singing and performing my whole life, I cringe to think of spending hours with my baby listening to “The Wheels on the Bus” and “Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star”. Really? Are these boring, repetitive songs the best we can do for our children? I mean, I know kids dig ’em, but what about the moms? I am lucky to be having a baby now instead of 20 years ago, though, because there is an ever-increasing amount of children’s music that doesn’t really sound like children’s music. Songs written by popular songwriters that are expanding our babies’ repertoire beyond “The Farmer and the Dell”.

My father-in-law has a recording studio in his basement and spends his free time producing CD’s for various musicians. In fact, this is kind of how Benjamin and I met — Benjamin offered to record my college a cappella group’s CD in his Dad’s recording studio when I was a freshman. The minute he heard my beautiful voice, he knew we’d be together forever. We “clicked” immediately and began a summer of courting each other via emails while I, as the business manager, arranged the logistics of our CD production. And the rest, my friends, is history. But anyway, back to my father-in-law. One of the musicians he has worked with is Vanessa Trien. She writes children’s songs that fall into the “way cooler than traditional children’s songs” category. She’s also just as sweet in person as her voice sounds on the CD.

And although I’m not quite to the stage of listening to children’s music all day long (oh, those days will come), one of her songs is particularly beautiful and appropriate for this very special time before the little one is born. It’s like a baby’s first lullaby. It’s called “Await the Day”. You can listen to it here. My absolute favorite part is the last verse where the “Daddy” sings too. Makes me cry every.single.time.

Take a listen.Whether you already have children, are pregnant, or are working on getting pregnant, I bet you will find it hard to not relate to the totally amazing feeling of “awaiting the day” when you get to meet your baby for the first time.

6 responses to “She Says… A Song for the Not-Yet-Born

  1. There are definitely better options out there now for kids than there were 20 years ago! One of my favorites to listen to with my son (he’s 16 months old) is Justin Roberts. Some of the songs are fun and silly and a couple make me tear up, like “Fruit Jar”. I think I would claw my eyes out if I had to listen to Barney all day!

  2. Thanks for sharing the song, I loved it.

  3. Thanks for sharing!

  4. hi there! that is a beautiful song. so chris and i thought we’d put in a plug for another really fun children’s music artist (who happens to be a good friend of ours), nick deysher. his stuff is really fun and influenced by all kinds of music including jazz, reggae, classic rock… we seriously listen to it around our house and we don’t even HAVE kids. you can listen to some of his stuff at:
    http://www.cdbaby.com/Artist/InTheNickOfTime

    i love “hang with me” and chris loves “the goodbye song” from the coconut groove album. “sneakers” is our favorite from the people places and things album. anyway, just thought i’d pass it along for parents and parents-to-be who are looking for fun kids’ music that won’t drive you up the wall.

  5. What a sweet song!! I had no idea that you are a performer– You should post a video!

  6. i did a capella in college too! and i remember it was a big deal paying to rent a recording studio for our CDs so that was amazing that Benjamin’s dad had one!

    loving reading your posts (i got sucked into the stroller one, too!)

Leave a Reply

