She Says… 15 Weeks

Piccolini, my little dear,

Writing “15 Weeks” feels so strange. Part of me can’t believe it’s been that long, and part of me can’t believe it’s been only 15 weeks since you were created. I’ve already started the inevitable process of forgetting my life before YOU. Well, not forgetting, really, just looking back and thinking, “What did I do before you?”, because now you are the most important thing I could possibly dream of.

This week you are about four inches long and weigh over two ounces; about the size of an orange. You continue inhaling and exhaling amniotic fluid, which will help the air sacs in your lungs develop. Your muscles are strengthening, and all four limbs now have functional joints. Continuing the journey towards normal proportions, your legs now outmeasure your arms and your skeleton is getting harder. You can sense light, although your eyelids remain shut. Hearing is becoming more sensitive and loud noises can startle you. I have started singing more often, realizing that you may be able to hear my voice. I have read that babies whose mothers sing while they are in the womb are often soothed by singing once they are born, so I’m starting you early 🙂 

You are squirming and wiggling like crazy down there, and although I haven’t felt the movements yet, your acrobatics are evident from the most recent ultrasound and the “swimming away from the Doppler” episode. When I lay in bed at night, sometimes I can feel throbbing in my stomach and an indescribable stretching/pulling/pulsing. I’m not sure exactly what it is I’m feeling, but I know you are in there, wiggling away.

Over the past few days I think my stomach has really popped. What was previously extra lower tummy pudge has turned into a smooth, rounded curve, and I look distinctly pregnant, not just fat. It’s a really fun transition, and I can’t wait for the first stranger to ask me if I am pregnant (the rude girl from work who asked me at 6 weeks does NOT COUNT!). Your dad has looked at me so many times recently and said, “You look so pregnant” while shaking his head. It is so amazing, looking at my body in the mirror every day and watching it change.

I hope you enjoyed the hamburger and milkshake date that I went on last night with Daddy. I haven’t had a hamburger in forever! And that milkshake sure was sweet. Your sweet father also got me some other indulgences for my birthday like dark chocolate, Doritos and a cupcake from a bakery near our house. Things I would never buy myself, but I must admit, if I can’t indulge in some junk food while pregnant, when can I?!

I love you so much and I love how you’ve changed our lives already.

All the love in the world,
Mama

10 responses to “She Says… 15 Weeks

  1. My comments on these beautiful letters are never that great, mostly because I read them quickly and am not sure what to say. (Kinda like how you don’t want to read bridal magazines before you are engaged?!) Know this: I hope to re-visit them and give them the careful read they deserve when I am pregnant (positive thinking today!). 🙂 So VERY happy for you and Benjamin, Kate!! Glad you had a great b-day!

  2. Horray for Doritos and cupcakes and milkshakes and everything like that. Birthdays were created for such things. Congrats on 15 weeks and bring on week 16!!

  3. Congrats on 15 weeks!

  4. Congrats on 15 weeks and I hope you had a very happy birthday!

  5. Our little ones are growing up! 🙂

  6. So sweet! And happy happy birthday!!!

  7. Hi Kate, We’ve not met, but I know Benjamin through the filming he’s done at the school where I work. Just wanted to tell you that I enjoy reading your blog and look forward to checking in to see what you have to say each day. Thank you for sharing this amazing experience! Laura

  8. I just love your weekly letters. It’s hard to believe how quickly time seems to fly. I remember when you were celebrating 12 (or was it 13 weeks) when baby was the size of a lime, and how BIG that seemed!! Congratulations!
    It’s also very cool to hear that you’ve got a real baby bump starting to form. I am 11 weeks tomorrow and just at that “ate too many donuts” stage where my pants are tight but I don’t look pregnant yet – you always give me more to look forward to with your weekly letters!

  9. suchagoodegg, I totally hear you! I appreciate that you keep reading anyway 🙂

    christy, Ha! Thanks. Yes, it is nice to indulge every once in awhile.

    slowmiles, Al and AplusB, Thank you both! The milestones are flying by.

    Angie All the Way, Yes ma’am! I hope you’re feeling great as well. Every week that goes by is one week closer to the prize. Although I will say, I sure am glad we get 9 months to prepare… I feel like I have a lot to do!

    Laura, Hi! Thanks for reading!

    tasha, I know, it really does feel like time is going so quickly. I know some women want to skip the whole pregnancy thing and just have the baby already, but I don’t feel that way at all. I totally relish the time I get to spend with the little one before anyone else, and even the crazy things happening to my body. If your body type is anything like mine, it will only be a few short weeks until you’re looking pregnant and not fat 🙂 Although I’m sure you look far better than you may think you do. Enjoy!

  10. I love these Kate! Happy 15!

Leave a Reply

