He Says…14 Weeks

Dearest Piccolini,

Wow, I cannot believe that you are 14 weeks old today.  We are getting closer and closer to halfway until your birthday, and I couldn’t be more excited.  I know you are getting way more time to get to know your momma right now, but I am here and still care for you so much.  I am really looking forward when you get bigger in your momma’s tummy and I can start to see you move.  I think that is when I will REALLY know you are there and I can start to connect more with you.  And in a few short weeks we will probably find out whether you are a little boy or a little girl, and then we can start to call you by your REAL name (although we’re going to keep it a secret between the 3 of us….well 4, if you count your big brother Schnitzel, for now).  It was very exciting to see you in the ultrasound last week.  I cannot believe how much bigger and more developed you look since we last saw you.

This week you are about the size of a lemon.  You’re starting to produce your own blood cells and insulin and your body might be covered by a layer of downy hair called lanugo.  You can now squint, frown, grimace and even suck your thumb (which I think we saw in the ultrasound).  I can’t wait to see you do that in person, although I hope it’s mostly smiling and laughing.  This week your kidneys are starting to produce urine which you release into the amniotic fluid around you.  I guess we will get pretty used to your urine with the hundreds of diapers we will change in the first couple (few?) years of your life.

Your momma and I are so excited for your arrival but are also cherishing this early phase of your life.  It’s really a miracle that you exist, and I know we will always love you more than I can possibly imagine.

Have a great week!  I love you.

Your Dad

10 responses to “He Says…14 Weeks

  1. Awww… this is so sweet! Yeah for 14 weeks!

  2. Congrats on 14 weeks! Can’t wait til you can feel the little one moving around in Kate’s tummy. 🙂

  3. Congrats on 14 weeks! good luck keeping the name a secret. My Sister and Brother-in-law tried, but finally caved after much family haranguing (sp?) and they had gotten so used to calling the baby by his name that the started to slip around us.
    His name is Benjamin 🙂

  4. We’re keeping the name a secret too, it’s the best way to go 🙂

  5. Kara and Allison, Ah, I hope we don’t slip up and spill the beans! I am the WORST at keeping secrets (Benjamin is awesome), so if someone’s going to let it slip, it’s probably me. I’ll have to keep my mouth SHUT. I really would love for it to be a surprise to everyone other than the two of us. We shall see!

  6. Aww I love Benjamin’s letters. They melt my heart.

  7. Wow – has it really been 14 weeks? My how time flies. At least it does when other people are pregnant. Not when you are pregnant, then it’s a whole different story!!

  8. This is so sweet!

    Happy 14 weeks! Only *does math* um, *pulls up calculator function* 26 to go!!

    When you put it that way, you’ll have a baby in NO TIME =)

  9. Happy 14 week birthday, Piccolini 🙂

Leave a Reply

