She Says… I’m back!

I’ve heard other women describe this point in their pregnancies before. Many say that all of a sudden, one morning around 12 or 13 weeks they woke up and felt fabulous. The nausea of the first trimester was mysteriously gone, their energy and sex drive increased, and they began to LOVE being pregnant. A few weeks ago, in the throes of all-day nausea, excruciating exhaustion and an intense fear that any minute something was going to go wrong with the tiny baby growing inside me, I really couldn’t imagine waking up one morning and having it all be gone.

And while it didn’t happen all in one morning for me, over the last week or so I have started to feel the fog lift. The nausea has passed, I have been able to make it through a normal work day without falling asleep at my desk, and hitting the 12 week mark has almost entirely eased my fears about miscarriage. Now, I’ll be the first to say that my 1st trimester experience was NOT THAT BAD. My sister, for instance, spent nearly 6 months puking every day with her current pregnancy. I never threw up once. But as I’ve started to feel more like my pre-pregnancy self over the last few days, I’ve realized just how out of whack I had been.

Cooking
One of my favorite things in the world is cooking. It’s like therapy to me. It’s my passion. I love the process of menu planning, trying new ingredients, and the sounds and smells of chopping, sizzling, roasting, baking, etc. And I love having a husband who both appreciates my love of cooking, and is willing to try all of my new recipes with an open mind. The other night, after a run of pizza, frozen pasta with vegetables, and grocery store salad bar for dinner, he said to me, “Honey, I miss your cooking”. And that was that, all of a sudden I wanted to get back in the kitchen again. The lovely combo of nausea and exhaustion had pretty much kept me out of the kitchen for the last few weeks. Oh don’t get me wrong, you could often catch me with one hand in the pantry or rummaging through the ‘fridge, but I hadn’t made a delicious home cooked meal in weeks. Which is really unlike me. So I’m spending today flipping through my “Cooking Light” and “Every Day with Rachael Ray” magazines and finding the pages I dog-eared months ago, before I started wanting only crackers and bagels. It’s going to be a delicious week! I might even kick-start the week with some homemade bread today. Yum.

Exercise
I know, I know, I used to write about exercising a lot. Somehow I went from someone who obsessed over just how much I could exercise while trying to conceive, to someone who barely went to the gym at all in the last 2 months. I blame it on the exhaustion. I could barely get myself to work and back without feeling like I was going to die. But, as with so many other symptoms, the exhaustion is disappearing and I’ve had the opportunity to hit the gym more often in the last two weeks. It feels awesome! I’ve always wanted to be the cute, pregnant lady workin’ it out on the elliptical, not the overly fat one sitting on the couch stuffing her face. I’m a little ashamed to admit it, but I’ve been a bit more of the latter recently. But now I feel like a new life has been breathed into me. I’m back! I’m back at the gym, I’m back to yoga almost every morning, I’m back to enjoying breaking a sweat and feeling sore muscles the morning after a really great workout. I still have quite a bit of work to do to get back to my previous level of fitness, but I’m working up to it slowly and adapting my routine for my new pregnant body.

Sex
Not going to go into great detail here, since now all of our friends and family are reading (hi, Mom!), but let’s just say that the first trimester put a bit of a damper on our sex life. Between feeling pukey and being exhausted by 3pm, I wasn’t really up for a lot of action. Couple that with fear that sex will somehow increase the risk of miscarriage, and you have a recipe for, ummm, a bit of a dry spell. That said, I feel like the tide is turning. I’m sure Benjamin will be happiest about this new development πŸ™‚

So, to all the ladies struggling through the 1st trimester… trust me, it will pass! And all those who have made it through this miraculous transformation can understand the relief and excitement I feel for the next trimester. Yay!

12 responses to “She Says… I’m back!

  1. YAY! I am so happy that you are feeling better! I didn’t start feeling that lift until about week 15 or 16, but now I feel fantastic. All of a sudden you have a new found energy and appetite!

    Just wait till the nesting kicks in. I am only 21 weeks now and I am already in the process of cleaning my house from top to bottom and re-organizing every little thing!

  2. Woot! Glad you’re back in action πŸ™‚ Good for you, keeping up the yoga

  3. Congratulations!! You sound a ton more upbeat (though I have to say, you could definitely tell you were trying so hard to be positive).

    You should think about posting some of those deliciously healthy recipes!! I am always looking for something new to try.

  4. Thanks for writing this! I was just sitting here wondering yesterday whether the everything’s-better-in-the-2T thing was just something to make us 1T ladies feel better. Nice to hear it from the trenches as it’s happening!

  5. Yeah for entering the 2nd trimester! While I didn’t have a bad first trimester I was very tired and this second trimester I have felt like my normal self (full of energy). I’m curious to see how the 3rd goes (i’m entering it soon!). I work out all the time and it really makes you feel great, I’m sure you will love how becoming more regular at the gym makes you feel. Hope all continues to go great!

  6. So glad you are feeling better!! It does pass and life sort of gets normal.

  7. So glad you’re feeling better! It never happened suddenly for me either, always gradually over a week or so… but always so thankful for the change! Enjoy your 2nd tri!!

  8. It’s a glorious day-YAY! Just know, that the first few months of your little piccolini’s life will kind of be similar-and then the fog will lift again. I FINALLY feel like ME again now and it’s fabulous-I’m me but better because now I have Lucy.

  9. I’m so glad that you’re feeling so much better! Thank you for writing this as well. I am now in my 11th week of pregnancy and feel exactly how you felt during your 1st T. I used to exercise tons too and I haven’t at all since I got pregnant, I am just too tired to do ANYTHING. I have a lot to look forward to in the coming weeks yay! Enjoy the 2nd Trimester Kate and keep up the exercise!

  10. So glad to hear you’re feeling better. I also work out a lot, and I was very thankful to be able to keep that up during the 1T. It keeps me sane! and great on the cooking!

  11. Three more weeks PLEASE come quickly πŸ™‚ I find solace in your sentiments kate and although I’m a few weeks behind you (I’ll be 9 wks on tuesday) I am COUNTING on the a similar “lift” soon πŸ™‚ Seriously, I look at your 7,8,9 week updates and think “OK, this is what this week will be like” and sure enough, it’s been pretty right on. Thanks for the heads up!

  12. yay! it must be nice to feel more like yourself again πŸ˜‰

    i’m in the middle of tearing through heather armstrong’s book (it sucked and then i cried) about her first pregnancy experience. if you haven’t read it yet, i totally recommend it! pretty funny stuff.

Leave a Reply

