She Says… 12 Weeks!

You did it, Piccolini! You made it to 12 weeks!

I am so proud of you. And me, frankly. For most of 2009, I thought this day would never come. And for a few weeks of the first trimester, I thought I might not ever recover from being so incredibly exhausted and constantly nauseous. But we both made it. After this week, the risk of miscarriage drops to less than 1%. Those are odds even a very conservative gambler would take! I can finally begin to believe that you are real, and that I’ll see your precious little face in August.

As we move into the second trimester, you shift into the growth and maturation stage. After weeks of critical development, almost all of your systems are fully formed. Wow. Now all you have to do is grow, grow, grow! I’d like you to be a bit bigger than a plum when you join the world, mmmkay? You can now move spontaneously, suck your thumb, and even get hiccups! How cute. Although I might not think so when your hiccups shake my stomach in a few more weeks. Your vocal cords are completely formed and you can (and sometimes do) cry silently. That just about breaks my heart. But I know you’re not really sad in there, you’re just testing out your tiny body.

I am beginning to sport quite the little baby bump! My stomach has a soft curve that is slowly but surely looking less fat and more pregnant. When I stood up yesterday, a close friend at work pointed and smiled. She guessed! Apparently that means it’s no longer a secret. I made an announcement when I introduced myself to the group of new hires who I am training this week and it was SO MUCH FUN to say out loud, “I’m expecting my first baby in August!”. I only wish that your daddy could be having the same sort of daily excitement as I am at this point. My energy is coming back as I recover from my cold and my nausea is almost entirely gone, so aside from needing to eat often and less than normal at each sitting, I am beginning to feel like my pre-pregnancy self again. I think I’m going to like this next trimester 🙂

I’m so excited to share you with others as I begin to show. I love knowing that you’re nestled down in my tummy, and that you’re with me all the time. I love protecting you and changing my life and my habits to accommodate you.

You are already the best thing I’ve ever had a hand in making. I love you.
Mama

8 responses to “She Says… 12 Weeks!

  1. Congrats on the 12 week mark!

  2. You make me choke up every time I read these letters!!

  3. so cute! congrats!!

  4. We need a belly picture now! Congratulations on twelve weeks together =)

  5. Oh, I always cry when I read these. I’m so excited for you. YAY for the 2nd trimester-it’s the best one!

  6. We have made it friend!! Its real!

  7. Congratulations on making it to 12 weeks! That is wonderful! 🙂

  8. That is SO wonderful, congrats on reaching your 2nd trimester!!! I can`t believe little piccolini is already getting so big. I can imagine it must have been so great to announce your pregnancy to all the new hires and see all of those smiles for you and your little one.
    I`m 8 weeks now, so I am really looking forward to getting to your stage 🙂

Leave a Reply

