She Says… Waterworks

Tear_II_by_usedbybertxpng.jpg image by crazykd316I’ve said it before, and I’ll probably say it again: I am not a crier. Well, the non-pregnant me is not a crier. The pregnant me? Wooo boy, better keep those tissues handy. I don’t know if it’s that I’ve become more sentimental, or if I’m holding in a lot of emotions about the pregnancy and I enjoy the catharsis of tears, or if it’s just those crazy pregnancy hormones… but I can’t seem to go a day five minutes without my eyes brimming.

Usually it’s happy things. For instance, I was watching a really horrible movie yesterday (while trying to nurse my nasty cold) in which Heather Graham finds out she has one egg left and two weeks until she ovulates to find a man to have sex with her to create the baby she’s always dreamed of. Now, anyone who has struggled with infertility (or has ANY idea about how babies are made) knows how absolutely ridiculous this premise is. But I kid you not, I cried anyway when she saw that little plus sign. Ok, and in the interest of full disclosure, I cried again when she announced the news to her [new] husband at his birthday party.

Sometimes it’s baby-related things. The other day I was on the treadmill at the gym, flipping through the first issue of my new subscription to Parents magazine (hey, you can never start too early!). I turned the page and saw the most adorable ad with a chubby Asian baby smiling up at the camera, apparently enjoying her new diapers or something. I couldn’t believe it, but my eyes teared up! And then I started laughing at myself for being SUCH a sap. And there I am, laughing and crying on the treadmill in the middle of the gym. I also downloaded an audio session of prenatal yoga to do several mornings a week. The instructor, in her low, raspy voice, says things like, “Make room for the little life growing inside you”, and I swear to you, the tears are streaming down my cheeks while I’m trying to hold a downward facing dog.

Rarely, but once in awhile, it’s sad/frustrating/pitiful things. Over the last few days I have been plagued with an awful, awful head cold. It’s been so long since I was sick that I forgot how horrible it feels to not be able to breathe through your nose, or, worse, to have to blow it all day long and still get no relief from the sinus pressure that just might make your head explode. Since I’m pregnant, I can’t take any of those magical drugs like Nyquil that help you get a good night’s sleep amidst the congestion, so I’ve been relying on old school methods like a humidifier, cough drops, and lots of tea. They are not as effective as drugs. Believe me. And a few times over the last few days I have found myself tearful at the thought of another minute with a stuffy nose/head, and crying with the frustration of not being able to sleep. I know… wah, wah, poor me, right?

For the first time since we met, I can finally give my emotional husband a run for his money 🙂  Only 11 weeks in, and pregnancy has already changed me so much.

20 responses to “She Says… Waterworks

  1. It’s amazing what those hormones will do! And being a parent changes how you view things, I think.

    By the way, for the stuffy nose, a Neti pot is an invaluable purchase. I was freaked out by the whole pouring-water-up-my-nose thing, but I found a video on YouTube and that made me feel more comfortable with it. I also found that Simply Saline Nasal Spray is the best out there. I only had one minor cold-like stuffy nose when I was pregnant, but I had constant “pregnant nose” from the extra fluids. It was totally my least favorite pregnancy symptom and I used my Neti pot A LOT! I also managed to get rid of a sinus infection before it really set in while nursing and still unable to take decongestants. I just used the Neti pot 3-4 times a day for a couple of days and it was gone! Hope you feel better soon!!

  2. I am so screwed. I am not pregnant and I cried last night during American Idol when one of the contestants got a “yes.”

    It’s going to be a mess when I get pregnant.

  3. Agreed. I’ve always been a crier but now it’s WORSE. I’m only 5 weeks along, but I can already feel it…

    I’m coming down with something too and it is not fun. Dr. RE said sudafed is fine to take and it seems to help a little!

  4. Oh, honey, it’s definitely the hormones. My mom and I saw ‘The Princess & the Frog’ yesterday and I cried at least 10 times. At not even sappy parts. Ridiculous!

  5. I am a hormonal mess around my period, so my husband is scared to find out what I might be like pregnant.

    I think the important thing – and you have clearly done this – is to just keep reminding yourself that it’s the hormones, you are not going crazy and it is completely natural!!

    Do you read dooce.com? She posted something a few weeks ago about post-pregnancy hormones and how there is little you can do but just breathe, cry and let yourself get through it.

  6. American Idol started in my first trimester and I found myself crying for the BAD singers because “they were trying so hard” Yeah, it was bad. I also went to see Juno when I was pregnant and didn’t know it, I sobbed the ENTIRE movie.

    Ahhh pregnancy hormones!

  7. I was emotional before, but pregnancy has made me just ridiculous. If I can go a week without crying, it’s a miracle! And half the time, I have no earthly idea what I’m crying about, I just need to cry! My husband was freaked out at first, but kind of has a routine down now:

    DH: What’s wrong?
    Me: I don’t know.
    DH: Do you want to talk about it?
    Me: No.
    DH: Is there anything I can do to help?
    Me: No.
    DH: Ok…I’m just going to leave you alone for a little while. I’ll be at the computer if you need me…
    Me: waaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhh……….

    He knows if he hugs me or talks to me too much, I’ll just cry more, so this works pretty well for us. 🙂

  8. My doctor said taking Tylenol PM is fine; the benedryl should help with the congestion AND help you sleep :). It works for me!

  9. I’ve heard pregnancy is like 9 months of PMS, and I have moments during PMS when I just start sobbing for no reason. My husband always looks at me like, “What the hell?” And all I can do is cry harder because I DON’T KNOW WHY I’M CRYING! Pregnancy sounds like one big roller coaster!

  10. awww Kate, well Im glad that they are happy tears. Enjoy every minute of it!!

  11. When I’ve been really stuffed up, I’ve slept in a reclining chair (helps the breathing). Vick’s vapor rub is pretty awesome too.

    At least you’re a crier rather than a rager. I think my husband will have PTSD from some of my hormone-y days when I was mad at him, and there is NOTHING he can say that will make it better. And silence also makes it worse. 🙂

    Luckily, I’m feeling much more like myself these days (22wks, not too much longer for you!) so he can breathe easy. I think he’d prefer if I was a crier!

  12. Such a cutie, Kate. 🙂

    I tear up during that freaking Walmart “Stock up On Joy” commercial that plays before movie previews at the theater…so I can only imagine what I’ll be like when I’ve actually got some hormones in my system. 🙂

    PS Thanks for the link to your HSG post. I remember reading it a few months ago…I’ll def be checking it out again in the coming days!

  13. Hope you feel better soon. I’m a pretty sensitive gal, whenever I get emotional my Hubby always says “oh, I didn’t know Sally sensitive was here today”. 🙂 I’m a cancer, I always blame my sign. We are in for some waterworks when we get pregnant!

  14. Kate, you and me are in the same boat! I cry over the most ridiculous things. The other day my boss lectured me about not using red pens at work, and only using blue (I kid you not she really lectured me on this!). Me being almost 10 wks preggers I went to the washroom and got teary eyed over that??? It’s most definitely the emotional rollercoaster that we’re on.

    For the cold, try boiling fresh ginger in water, then add a little honey and a squeeze of lemon. It will really help with morning sickness and help the immune system. Give it a try. I hope you feel better soon! 🙂

  15. For me I’ve always been an emotional person, so I haven’t really noticed a difference! But I definitely think it’s the hormones speaking. The hormones in my body have translated to less than stellar skin (and of course you can’t use the good face washes) so I bought these pregnancy washes that seem to be helping. We all get symptoms in one way or another, huh?!

    Just let yourself be emotional and enjoy it 🙂 I’m always one to cry at almost all movies!

  16. My OB okayed me on benadryl and tylenol pm. It might help!

  17. Oh yeah, it’s crazy!! And for me it didn’t get better after the baby was born…it’s like your heart is so full it has to spill over and it comes out your eyes…hahahha…

  18. Hi Kate! I am a new reader and I love reading your blog. Congrats to you and your husband! Would you recommend your OB in Boston? At which hospital are you delivering?

  19. Ha! I’m so glad to hear that so many of you had the same experience. I was laughing my tail off at some of your responses. You are all hilarious.

    Ali, Thank you! Nice to hear from you. I would highly recommend my OB. The whole practice is wonderful, everyone is on time and nice and quick to take care of you and answer all of your questions. I see Dr. Stephanie Koontz, part of the Somerville Harvard Vanguard group. Her offices are in Davis Square. She is associated with Mount Auburn hospital, which is where I’ll be delivering. There are so many fabulous options in the Boston area, you can’t really go wrong, but Dr. Koontz and Mouth Auburn came highly recommended by one of my friends who had a baby in October, and she had a great experience with them. Shoot me an email if you would like some more details!

  20. romancingthestone

    Interesting isn’t it? Ican’t stop crying too. (We’re 9 weeks now). I feel like a mother to the world. I know that sounds weird, but so sensitive to issues that would not have bothered me before. Much luck to you guys. Your friends in Charlestown. Shell+The Bear http://www.romancingthestone.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

