She Says… 10 Weeks

Sweet Piccolini,

I can’t believe you’ve been growing for 10 weeks already. I feel like the last few weeks were swallowed up by the holidays, and I am shocked at how far you’ve come so quickly. Since it was such a struggle for us to get pregnant, it almost felt too good to be true… like something else just had to go wrong. But here you are, 10 weeks and counting. I could just about burst with happiness. I’ll probably still hold my breath until 12 weeks, but hopefully then I can stop worrying about you surviving and start worrying about things like how we’re going to fit all the clothes and gifts from our friends and family into your tiny nursery.

This week you are about an inch long, the size of a prune! And boy have I seen a lot of prunes recently 😉  It boggles my mind that you could be that big already. If I could peek into my stomach and say hi, you would look just like a tiny human (which is a change from the previous weeks, when I think you looked more tadpole-esque). Kidneys, lungs, genitals, and the gastrointestinal tract are all present, though far from fully formed. Your bones are begining to form in your arms and legs, and soon you’ll be kicking and punching me. I can’t wait. Your body length will almost double in the next three weeks. Whoa, that’s a lot of growing, little one!

Over the past few days I have definitely noticed a difference in the shape of my stomach. Every day it seems to get a little bit rounder and fuller. I am just about ready to pop out of my normal pants, so it might be time to get some maternity clothes soon. My face and hips have plumped up a bit, too. Your daddy looked at me the other day while I was brushing my teeth before bed and said, “Wow, you really look pregnant!”. I’m going to take that as a compliment.

Dad and I are going to my first appointment with Dr. K, the OB who will (hopefully) deliver you, later today. It’s possible she will pull out the Doppler and we can listen to your heartbeat! I can’t imagine a more beautiful sound right now. So, if she does that, please let me hear that thump thump loud and clear.

Ok have a nice week in there, my tiny Piccolini! I will feed you and rest a lot and give you everything that you need to grow big and strong. I love you even more than I did last week, which was quite a lot.

Love,
Mama

18 responses to “She Says… 10 Weeks

  1. This is so sweet! Time is flying, huh?

  2. 10 weeks down – only 30 more to go? time flies! sooo exciting. (also it would be awesome if you could just peel back a section of tummy and have a peek to say hello)

    will you get to find out if it’s a boy or a girl soon?

  3. 10wks might be too early to hear the heartbeat, so don’t freak out if the doctor can’t find it! When they tried to hear mine at 10wks, the little stinker kept swimming away so we couldn’t get a heartrate 🙂

    I just had my 20wk ultrasound on Monday and it’s remarkable how much they change in such a short amount of time! It almost looks like a little person now (well, really it looks like a space alien, but that might just be the 3D pics) And it’s a girl 🙂

    Congrats on hitting 10wks! The morning sickness might start getting better soon!

  4. Every week you make me cry 🙂 I really hope you get to hear your little one’s heartbeat… it is truly amazing to hear!

    I had an ultrasound yesterday and found out I am a week farther along than I thought (yeah 18.5 weeks!!). I thought about you while I was there… it was such a magical experience being able to see our little guy (it’s a boy!) move around. I can’t wait for you to experience that! I put a couple of the sonogram pictures on my blog: http://thebakerbee.wordpress.com/the-belly/

    Best of luck later today!

  5. Oh, and Kara… congrats on your girl!!

  6. Congrats on 10 weeks!! I hope you like the doc and you get to hear the heartbeat today – music to a pregnant mama’s ears :-).

    Oh, how I wish I could fast forward to where you are! Very exciting :-).

  7. Oh the doctor’s appointments are always so fun! Have a great one-hopefully you’ll get an u/s!!!

    Maternity clothes are so comfortable. They were my best friend.

  8. I remember saying “wow you really look pregnant now” to my Sister-in-law and immediately hoping she wasn’t offended!

  9. Elizabeth, It totally is. I hope once I get to 12 weeks I can kind of stop wishing for time to go faster and relish the moment. I think I will be able to once I hit that milestone.

    haya, I know, so crazy! We will find out if it’s a boy or girl at the 18 weeks ultrasound, which I just scheduled for the first week in March. Even that seems so soon!

    Kara, CONGRATULATIONS! That is so exciting. We DID end up hearing the heartbeat. She gave us an ultrasound first, since it was the first time I was seeing this particular doc and I hadn’t gotten an ultrasound with her yet. Everything looked beautiful and Benjamin and I were surprised to see that it really DOES look like a little baby in there. So different from the blob a few short weeks ago. And then the doc used the Doppler and we heard a little symphony of my heartbeat and the baby’s amidst the wishing sound. I couldn’t stop laughing, so we lost it and had to chase down the little guy/gal, but it was there, nonetheless, 150 bpm. Awesome.

    thebakerbee, Oh, your pictures are SO ADORABLE. What a little cutie with his little button nose. And, you look fabulous! Congrats on the little man.

    Al, I know that feeling of wishing you could fast-forward to 10 or 12 weeks. You’ll get there. And slowly but surely, the nervousness and anxiety dissipates and you can start to really enjoy being pregnant. I’m getting there myself. The heartbeat was SUCH a beautiful sound.

    Chelsea, Yep, I can’t wait to get me some elastic-waist jeans! Wow, never thought I’d hear those words come out of my mouth.

    slowmiles, I have said it myself, and I guess it depends on the person and their body image, but I think it’s a compliment. I can’t wait to walk down the street and have people know I’m pregnant!

  10. we want more belly pics 😉 you are 10 weeks! congrats

  11. beautiful~

  12. So exciting!! 10 weeks is definitely getting close now… I can imagine how much you are looking forward to the next two weeks so you can relax!!! I hope you get to hear the heartbeat when you go for your appointment – it would be so wonderful and magical.

    I don’t know if I told you already or not, but we took a HPT on Christmas Day, and I am pregnant again! 6 weeks today 🙂 I’m going in for my first doc visit tomorrow morning.

  13. 10 Weeks!! Time has flown. I’m so happy for you.
    Time for a new belly pic, maybe?

  14. So exciting! It is amazing how you just “look pregnant” all of a sudden. Our babies are doing super growing these days and it is amazing! Yay for 10 weeks.

  15. Hi, congrats again!! You should buy the bellaband – it is the most amazing invention ever!! I used it throughout my entire pregnancy and postpartum for a few weeks until I fit back into my clothes. You will find that you are still too small for Maternity pants but too big for your regular clothes around the waist…it is am-ma-zing. I believe that target sells some version of it as well – but I only used the one from http://www.ingridandisabel.com/ and I had it in black and light grey. It helped me through week 20 in my regular clothes and then when I wore dresses I wore it underneath b/c i liked the support it gave my belly 🙂 check it out, if you haven’t already!!

    Oh yeah, I don’t know if you’ll remember but I told you that your journey inspired my hubby and I to try again – and we did it – I went off bc and my cycles were normal (1st time in 12 years) and we got a positive test…I am cautiously waiting for the results of my 2nd beta before I get too excited…since I traveled this road before with issues…but I am praying that this one is different than the past and s/he it sticks!!

    Enjoy every moment – being pregnant and watching your belly grow and change is amazing!!

  16. Ginger, They are coming 🙂 I had to take the 9 week pic at 9.5 weeks, since we were in Jamaica at exactly 9 weeks. So I’m waiting to take the 10 week pic until this Friday (10 weeks, 3 days). Then I’ll get back on track to take them every Wednesday. You’ll be surprised at the pudge I’m putting on!

    jennyh, Thank you!

    tasha, you did tell me your news, that is SO EXCITING! Congrats again. Enjoy that first appointment! We did get to hear the heartbeat yesterday, and the doc even did an informal ultrasound just to have a look. The little guy/gal totally looks like a human, and we even saw a tiny little hand waving at us! SO AMAZING.

    Tio, Yes, new belly pic is in the works. It’s been taken, I just haven’t had a chance to post it yet.

    Courtney F, I know! I think I’m almost to the “looking pregnant” with my clothes on. The development that’s happened so far is awe-inspiring, for sure. I can’t believe all of that is going on just beneath the surface of my stomach!

    Joanna, Of course I remember your story. It was one of the most meaningful comments anyone has left on our blog. CONGRATULATIONS! I am so happy for you. Thank you for the recommendation of the BellaBand. I need to get my hands on one. I bought the Target version a few weeks ago, but I bought a “small” (because, hey, I used to think of myself as small), but apparently I am not as small as I think, because it is WAY too tight. Feels just as uncomfortable as the jeans when they are buttoned. I may have to bite the bullet and buy another [bigger] one, so maybe I’ll try the Ingrid & Isabel one.

  17. Looking pregnant is definitely a compliment! 🙂 It is wonderful that you are reveling in every moment. I really hope you feel the anxiousness dissipate once you’re outta the first trimester.

  18. Kate, another beautiful letter to your little baby! Your blog has inspired me to start writing to my little baby as well…

    I’m not sure if you remember but I wrote a while back that soon after you found out you were pregnant I found out the same myself. I’m about 9 weeks in and finally got a scheduled appointment with the doctor for early Feb. I’ve been writing in my little baby book a couple times a week and I just know that my little one will cherish this book some day. I know yours will cherish all that you and your hubby write on the blog as well. Look forward to reading more letters 🙂

Leave a Reply

