She Says… 9 Weeks

Dearest Piccolini,

Congratulations! Today you graduate from an embryo to a fetus! You’re well on your way to being a full-fledged baby. Although you’re already a baby to your daddy and I. You may be tiny, but you’ve definitely found your place in our hearts and in our family.

You are now about 3/4 of an inch long, about as big as an olive. Your eyes, previously open, will now close and become covered with a membrane lid until you are about 28 weeks old. Enjoy your nice, long sleep… I wish I could join you, I could certainly use a 5 month nap! Your muscles are beginning to form and you make lots of tiny involuntary movements. I can’t wait to be able to feel you boppin’ around in there. Your facial features are becoming more developed this week as well. I wonder if you will have my smile, or your daddy’s nose? You are developing little dimples where your knees and ankles will be, and your elbows are becoming visible. This week also is when sex characteristics begin to assert themselves (though an ultrasound won’t be able to detect specific sex organs for another two months or so). I am so excited to find out if you are a boy or a girl. Your brain waves can even be detected now! So start learning your multiplication tables and practice writing the alphabet. We want you to be wicked smaht 🙂

It is a big week for you, little one. Lots going on in there! I can tell, believe me. I’m seeing all kinds of changes in myself as you grow. I can’t button any of my pants anymore (thank goodness for sweatpants!), and if I don’t eat every few hours I feel starving and sick. I’m still feeling pretty icky most of the time, but I don’t mind one bit. If my being nauseous is helping you grow big and strong, I’d happily do it for the full 9 months. However, I’m pretty relieved that most of these uncomfortable symptoms will lighten up over the next few weeks.

From what I read, this week should be the worst in terms of symptoms (since pregnancy hormones peak this week). Not such great timing, as your dad and I are taking a little vacay to Jamaica to celebrate New Years. Oh well, I will cross my fingers that I’m not too sick and try to distract myself with beautiful sunsets and white sand beaches. Not a bad way to ring in the new year, if you ask me!

I think about you every day. At this point it’s difficult to picture what you look like, but just the idea of you makes Daddy and I the happiest we’ve ever been in our lives.

I hope you enjoy our island vacation!

All the love in my heart,
Mama

10 responses to “She Says… 9 Weeks

  1. This past week (9) was a big week. I was a yackety yackster for four days, but I have kept everything down at least the past 2 days! I pray that doesn’t happen to you on your trip!!
    Have a great trip and enjoy the relaxation.
    I feel ya on the pants not fitting. I got a bella band for Xmas and it is my saving grace!

  2. Beautiful post as usual. Enjoy your vacation, I agree there is no better place to be for you to take your mind off of any symptoms you might endure.

  3. okay i just about cried when i read that. i’m so excited for you!!! YAY OLIVE!

  4. Is it wrong of me to get hungry when looking at little Piccolini’s love comparison? Man, these early pregnancy hormones make me ravenous! 😉

    Congrats, have a great vacation and hopefully you’re an early achiever and those pg symptoms will be in the past!

  5. So excited for you and Benjamin, and so happy to be reading along, Kate!

  6. I’m a couple weeks behind you, and have been keeping pretty mum about it, but I have been loving these letters!

    Enjoy your trip to Jamaica–it sounds like just what you could use right about now!

  7. Happy graduation day! I hope that you are not feeling too icky on your trip and that you can enjoy some sun, sand and relaxation.

    Tomorrow will be the start of week 6 for me… I haven’t started feeling anything yet, but I think that next week is supposed to be when things start kicking into gear.

  8. After all of the testing is complete next week, I am hoping to start Clomid. Hopefully, we will also have good luck with it. I love your letters, btw 🙂

  9. Pingback: pregnancy: week 9 – then there were...

Leave a Reply

