She Says… MIA

Hi everyone! Apologies for being MIA recently. The first trimester is kind of kicking my ass. I feel like a different person! Don’t get me wrong, I really am cherishing every moment of it, but it’s a bit disconcerting to be bone tired by 10am and nauseous almost all day everyday. Here are some of the things I’m experiencing now:

  1. Nausea. I haven’t actually gotten sick (yet), but I do feel a relatively constant sensation of indigestion and sour stomach.
  2. Food aversions. The main thing that my tastes have changed for is raw vegetables. I used to eat salads at least once a day, and another serving or two of veggies with dinner… now I’m lucky if I can choke down a few bites before feeling pukey. The other day Benjamin asked me if I was just using pregnancy as an excuse to eat crappy food (ok, to his credit, this was after I decided I wanted McDonald’s soft serve ice cream, before lunch, while on our road trip to Baltimore for Christmas). Although it’s even hard for me to believe just how strong these food aversions are, I really don’t think I am trying to take advantage of the situation! Certainly not consciously. It really is amazing how I will put food in my mouth (food that I JUST ORDERED from a menu or pulled out of the ‘fridge, thinking it sounded good), and I immediately want to spit it out, as it tastes different/bad or I have this strong reaction of “this is NOT what I want to be eating right now”. The only things that universally satisfy my ever-changing palate are cereal, bread products, and crackers. Healthy, no?
  3. Exhaustion. I’ve written enough about this, so I won’t go on and on, but I am constantly amazed at how I could literally fall asleep at any given moment throughout the day. It’s SO unlike me. My ability to accomplish a to-do list has been decreased to about 1/10th of what I used to be able to do. I don’t know how people ever get through this stage when they have another child at home to take care of. Yikes. I haven’t seen the inside of the gym or yoga studio in at least 3 weeks. I wake up in the morning with the intention of including some kind of exercise into my day (beyond the normal commute or dog walks), and then by 10am I’m ready for a nap. Exercise has now made it to the very bottom of my agenda.
  4. Constipation. Again, I’ve mentioned this before… and now that there are friends and family reading I won’t go into details (!), but let’s just say it’s a constant battle. And I seem to be losing.
  5. Thirst. If I don’t have a water bottle with me at all times, I get horrendous dry mouth and begin to feel nauseous immediately. I know it’s great to be drinking lots of water, but I had no idea how much liquid I was capable of drinking until now. Wow.
  6. Hair growth. Nope, not just on my head (which would be a welcome change for my fine hair!). The hair on my arms is darker and thicker, and my once-pale-as-a-ghost stomach is now covered in little black hairs. Not to mention the fact that my eyebrows need to be plucked more often and my upper lip is starting to get furry. Gross!  This just might be my least favorite symptom so far. “They” say that all this extra hair will go away after pregnancy is over… but I’m not holding my breath.

Benjamin finds my food aversions and cravings absolutely hilarious. It’s like my previously health-conscious body has been taken over by aliens or something. I’m sure he doesn’t find my constant exhaustion quite as funny, since I’m probably not much fun to hang out with, but at least we both know we only have a few more weeks of it! I’ve read in all the pregnancy books and heard from others that the second trimester is a whole new ballgame with tons of energy and (hopefully) a decrease in my uncomfortable indigestion and nausea.

I hope you all had wonderful holidays and were able to take some time off and relax! Benjamin and I had a nice week in Baltimore celebrating Christmas with my family, and we head to Jamaica (woot woot!) on Wednesday for a little New Years trip. It is a work trip for him, but I get to go along and enjoy the beautiful weather and sit with my feet in the sand for a few days. I’m just hoping the nausea will hold off for the travels!

17 responses to “She Says… MIA

  1. A friend of mine just kind of nibbled on crackers/cookies through her first trimester, which she said helped to ward off the nausea. Hang in there!! You’re doing a wonderful job to help your little one get strong.

  2. I feel for you, Kate. Don’t worry about eating healthy at the moment. If nibbling salty or sugary carbos throughout the day keeps you from puking, then go for it. I went through this when I was pregnant with Benjamin. You’ll get back to eating healthy later. Enjoy a sleepy rainy Sunday.

  3. It’s amazing to hear how tired you have been… sounds like building a baby is a lot of work!!! We took our HPT on Christmas day and got the wonderful news we were hoping for. It’s still so new that I haven’t felt any symptoms at all but it will be interesting to read how things continue to progress for you.
    Have fun on your trip, it sounds amazing!

  4. Thanks for posting about your pregnancy experience, it gives people like me hope that soon that will be me! Have a great time in Jamaica! What a wonderful getaway that will be!

  5. I remember going out to eat in my first trimester, ordering something that sounded good and then when the food was placed in front of me, I had to make them take it away.

    Also, it was impossible for me to grocery shop. I’d walk around and then need to leave without buying anything. This was difficult as I had 2 other children that needed to eat!

    Luckily, with all 3 pregnancies, I felt great by the 2nd trimester.

    Just do what you can and try not to worry about it. I subsisted on bagels and chewy sweet tarts for the first trimester of my first pregnancy and the baby was perfectly healthy and 8.5 lbs–she’s in college now!

  6. Yucky stuff, but you have a great attitude about it! I hope that tiredness and nausea are POOF gone by second trimester! Have a great time in Jamaica!

  7. I ate junk food (normally a health nut) during the 1st trimester and still didn’t gain, so don’t fret about the ice cream cravings. I eat dairy like it’s my job, and ice cream is a large part of that 🙂 Also, it really helps with the heartburn that comes later on.

    You will start feeling less tired soon, it gets better towards the 12 week mark (at least, it did for me)

    The cravings won’t get better, your husband will continue to be amused. I know mine is, especially when I do crazy stuff like order a steak when I haven’t eaten red meat in years. I can’t go to the grocery store now without buying crazy stuff like flavor-blasted goldfish or gummi candy. I still have to mouth breathe by the seafood counter though 🙂

    I love hearing your updates on the pregnancy!

  8. Kate, I totally feel for you right now because I’m going through the same thing. I cannot keep down food for the life of me and I’m a person that hasn’t met a food that I didn’t like. I’m a salad person as well and cannot stand the smell of dressing anymore. Sounds like we’re both looking forward to the 2nd trimester. Hang in there Kate! and have fun on your vacation! I’m thinking the excitement of going on vacation might actually keep you awake 🙂

  9. When I was feeling sick (and being sick quite a bit) all I could eat was white foods: rice, pasta, crackers, bread. I almost never eat those things usually, but it was all I wanted and all I could stomach. Now that I’m 15 weeks and the sickness is better I can eat what I used to, but it still doesn’t seem be as appetizing as it was. I hope that eventually changes. Good luck getting through the first trimester. It can be really tough. I can tell you teaching while I was sick and exhausted was not fun. Plus I got four colds in two months. It was brutal. Stay healthy, because a cold right now will take you out.

    Congrats again!

  10. Sounds like everything’s going well – the nausea and food aversions (as well as things like sore nips and exhaustion) should go away around 12 weeks. The #2 problem not so much. Not sure if I recommended “fiber choice” pills to you yet? Made a *world* of difference for me in that area. You can get them at most drug stores, target, bj’s… worth a try!

  11. Hi! Love your blog! Not sure if you could stomach green olives right now, but they helped me TREMENDOUSLY w/ my 1st pregnancy. Something about the saltiness that helps w/ the nausea.

    I felt crappy for the first 16 weeks, and then one day I woke up in the morning and felt great…just like that! I always told myself that these were good signs that I was feeling this way…that my baby must be doing fine and growing if I was feeling so out of whack. Hope you get that 2nd trimester burst of energy real soon!

  12. Kate, did you manage to stay awake to enjoy Christmas day? I hope so.
    Have a great time in Jamaica!
    Tio

  13. Hey! I was wondering where you’d gone 😉 Nausea and constipation do not sound like a lot of fun, but hopefully these will gradually go away. I remember when my mom was expecting my sisters, for the first she always snacked on olives (ew!) and for the second, homemade corn flour tortillas. She always had one in her purse 🙂 Hope your trip to Jamaica is a fun one!

  14. I know what you mean about being each and every symptom being kinda sucky, but totally worth it. Almost makes you feel guilty for complaining when you feel gross or tired!

  15. ha. I know, I know, you’re not finding it funny, but it will get better. After not stepping into a McDonald’s in something like 5 years, I’ve been thru the drive thu at least two times so far 😉 and as far as constipation – I had that too. so awful. I ate dried apricots, which are very tasty, and tried to drink lots water. it will go away.

  16. ha, just looking WAYYYY back and this post made me feel better 🙂 thank you for telling it like it is!!! can’t wait until i get past this stage . . .

  17. Hi Kate. I found your blog a couple of months ago and now read it every week. I’m 8 weeks pregnant and feeling pretty lousy which is a new world to me because I usually feel pretty good most of the time. Your description of nausea in this post is just as I am experiencing it, which is comforting! I know this will pass but sometimes it feels like it will never end. I think when I see the obstetrician for the first time next week (and have my first ultrasound) I’ll feel more comfortable with what’s going on. Anyhoo … thank you for sharing your life with us out here on the interwebs!

Leave a Reply

