She Says… 7 Weeks

My sweet Piccolini,

You are 7 weeks old today! You weigh no more than a chocolate chip, and you still have a tail (!!!) but you are also beginning to form a digestive tract, lungs, nostrils, hands and feet, and a bump of a mouth. The liver, tongue, and lenses of your eyes are forming too. There are beds for your tiny fingernails, and the buds of teeth are forming in your gums. Your nerve channels and muscles are connecting, and you can wiggle and bounce around when the cells communicate! In a few months, when you’re a bit bigger, I’ll be able to feel those involuntary movements too.

This week you’ve made me feel more exhausted than I’ve ever been IN MY LIFE. More tired than after the two 100-mile bike rides I’ve completed, and more tired than after staying awake into the wee hours of the morning studying or working in the architecture studio in college. By 9am, you make me feel like I need a nap. Growing a baby is hard work! Today you even made me turn off my alarm in my sleep and I overslept. Ok, that might not have been your fault, but it happened anyway, and I blame you!

You’ve also turned me into a different person in terms of my eating habits. I used to eat 90% vegetables; I was a total health nut. Now all I want to eat is cereal, salty rice cakes and cheddar crackers. If I don’t eat every hour or so, or even think about eating vegetables, you make me feel pukey! Once you are out of my tummy we are going to have a long talk about how important it is to eat vegetables, since it seems that you don’t like them very much right now.

Despite the nausea and exhaustion, I am happier than I’ve ever been. You are worth every minute of it. I look at my growing stomach in the mirror every day and can’t wait for the day that I have a round, little baby bump so I can show you off.

I love you more than I ever thought possible, my little blueberry.

Love,
Mama

P.S. THANK YOU for making sure you had a nice strong heartbeat at our ultrasound on Monday. You made Mama very happy! I cried happy tears just to know you were alive. In fact, I’m crying again writing this letter. Your Daddy will tell you that’s a change in me too… I usually never cry. But you, my little Piccolini, have already changed me for the better.

20 responses to “She Says… 7 Weeks

  1. I’m glad to hear that you and your little blueberry are doing great! You will want vegetables again, so don’t stress about hating them for a few weeks (or a month!) Personally, my husband loved not having veggies with dinner during that time (he’s like a little kid that way!)

    Hopefully you can fit in some naps over Christmas vacation!

  2. These are such beautiful letters Kate – thank you for sharing them with us!

  3. Yeah for a healthy blueberry! I second Kara on the not worrying about veggies. My doctor even told me just to eat whatever I could get down. I am almost 15 weeks now and still can only eat a bite or two of just about any veggie before I want to gag!

  4. My SIL in currently pregnant and has been going through about 3 boxes of cocoa puffsa week, her entire pregnancy. She normally hates cocoa puffs..but it’s all the baby wants!

    Love these letters to your baby, so sweet!

  5. I can’t stomach veggies either. Bring on the salty or spicy carbs!!!

  6. I’m putting on baby weight for you. Just bypassed the carrots for a brownie.

  7. Chocolate chip muffins & orange juice were the only things I could eat during my first trimester. I used to be a health nut too, but my junk foodie ways continued well after my pregnancy!

  8. Oh man, I wish my pregnancy blog was public. I could have written that post. With me, right around 15 weeks I snapped back to wanting to eat healthy. I did eat much more fast food when I was preggers though. I was TOO tired to cook!

  9. Obviously I have no concept of how you feel. 🙂 BUT, I do know how it feels to complete a century bike ride so YOWZAS you must be zonked. I’m hoping you get through the tired patch soon!! Hang in there!

  10. poor you feeling so tired all the time! baby making is hard work for sure! When my mom was pregnant with me she said that all she wanted to eat were tomatoes and cereal. Turns out to this day I love them both especially tomatoes… I think it’s a good idea to talk to your little one later on about the importance of veggies. Good habits start at a young age they say 🙂

    You always make me smile with these letters to your little growing one. This is wonderful!

  11. What a beautiful letter =)

  12. Reading this I have that little twinge of “I wish I was pukey and exhausted too.” 🙂 Don’t you remember thinking you would take any and all of the side effects just as long as you knew you were pregnant. I love reading where you are at…then thinking back to how far you had to come. Stories like yours keep me thinking positive.

  13. You are the cutest Momma in the whole wide world. This post made me smile from ear to ear. Little blueberry loves you very much already even though he/she is wearing you out! (Can you believe a little 0.51 in. blueberry can make you SO exhausted!?).

  14. What a beautiful letter. Thank you for sharing this with us.
    I’m happy for you, but this brought back some really sad feelings for me. I used to call my baby “my little blueberry”, too. I miss being pregnant so much, especially thinking about how far along I would have been by now. I would have been in my second trimester.
    I’m jealous, but happy for you!!

  15. awwwww I love reading your posts! They make me so happy!! It’s crazy how such a little tiny being can make you so exhausted!! I love how nature prepares you for the pure exhaustion you’ll have after the baby arrives 😉

  16. I’m right there with you! I love my little lime (apparently 12 weeks = lime) but can’t seem to convince it to want anything other than Cherrios and potato chips. I call them Magic Chips because they actually stay down!

    Good luck this week with the blueberry! Your letters are so heartwarming.

  17. hee hee 🙂 I’m glad I’m not the only one who was forced to eat garbage EVERY HOUR. I am going to have my husband read this because he was convinced that I was using pregnancy as an excuse to “splurge”. Hope you start feeling better soon! If it makes you feel better, mine went away after the 12th or 13th week. By 16 weeks, I was good to go! 🙂

  18. so far, I think that blueberry was my favorite *title* I’m at medium shrimp and it’s just not got that same ring 😉 My naseau, too, could only be soothed with carbs . . . goldfish were really helpful. it will fade.

  19. hi! just wanted to say congratulations on getting pregnant! i found your blog through my sister tabitha’s (from single to married). hope the pregnancy continues to go well. this is great news!

  20. I love veggies too, but this past week I’ve been eating cereal, bread, and um, more bread. It seems like that is the only type of food my body wants that doesn’t make me nauseous. Also, no more sweets for me! My sweet tooth has disappeared. Crazy!

Leave a Reply

