She Says… 6 Weeks

My sweet Piccolini,

You are 6 weeks old today! I am so thankful that you are still apparently quite happy hanging out in my tummy. This week you made me feel sick for a whole day. Since then I’ve been feeling much better, but I do appreciate that you took the opportunity to say “Hi, Mama!” and let me know you were still in there. You’ve been so quiet, I wasn’t sure I was even still pregnant! Every day that passes I am relieved that you are still happy and healthy, as far as I know.

We are less than a week away from seeing you for the very first time. Although you will probably just look like a dark, little blob in the cavern of my uterus, I can’t wait to see that little blob pulsing with a heartbeat. You are so much more than a blob to me and your Daddy 🙂

This week you are growing like crazy — you are nearly 10,000 times the size that you were when you were conceived! No wonder I have been feeling so tired… it is hard work growing a baby. And even though you are the size of a little pea, you are already starting to sprout eyes, ears, nose, cheeks, and a tiny, little chin. Your little hands and feet — still webbed like a frog — might even wiggle by week’s end. Your tiny heart is already beating, almost twice as fast as mine, and blood is starting to circulate. I really, really hope we can see that little heartbeat next Monday at our first ultrasound. Please make it beat nice and strong for me so I know you’re doing ok.

I love your little beating heart so much that it hurts.

Love,
Mama

20 responses to “She Says… 6 Weeks

  1. Now this is just the sweetest post. 🙂

  2. You are so darn cute. How hard is it to not pee on a stick just to check??? 🙂 Glad you are feeling better!

  3. OH MY G-D, OH MY G-D, OH MY G-D, OH MY G-D!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    You’re pregnant!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    YAY!!!! CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! How exciting!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I’m sending huge huge huge HUGE internet hugs and well wishes and some warm fuzzies for a healthy little baby with a strong heartbeat. I haven’t been this stoked in ages. You can now expect me to blog stalk you for, like, ever. I can’t believe it! YAY!

    Congratulations again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. I absolutely love these pots that you are doing. I especially love them when I think how awesome it would be to read my own mother’s thoughts during her pregnancy. It’s a truly special gift you are giving your child!

  5. please stop making me cry at work. please?

  6. Sara, thebakerbee and Jaimie, Thank you all so much!

    Sarah @ BecomingSarah, I know, I still can’t believe it myself!!! Your post made my day. Although I can’t say my pictures will be as beautiful as yours, I can’t wait to have a little one to photograph and post about in less than 9 months!

    Erin, I’m sorry, ok? Now you know how I feel, being pregnant and all 🙂

  7. OH this takes me back to when I was pregnant. I LOVED knowing how big she was. *sigh* being pregnant is SO awesome.

  8. romancingthestone

    You make me cry. I am so happy for you both. Shell http://romancingthestone.wordpress.com

  9. Hi! It’s been a while and I finally just caught up on your posts. I LOVE the notes to the little Piccolini! So darn cute! Your posts are always so honest, what a great resource for people! Glad it’s going well, I had a feeling you might the one person out there too enjoy that you got some morning sickness! -Cat

  10. So sweet!! Can’t wait for the first look at him/her/them!!

  11. I am so happy for you- you give me hope that it will happen to me, too!!

  12. Love these letter-posts. Your kid will LOVE you for these when he/she grows up.

  13. I love these weekly updates! I am gonna have to carry my tissue box on wednesdays from now on, especially with my crazy hormones lately! SO excited for next week and your ultrasound, hope there are a pair of Piccolinis 🙂

  14. Such a sweet post, want to thank you because the more I read your blog the more inspired I become to share my own journey. Your blog is my favorite to visit.

    BTW, I talked to a pregnant friend yesterday who said her favorite part is graduating to the next sized fruit:) You already have a little pea sized baby in there.

  15. I love the 6 week letter!! You are going to be so amazed at your u/s!!!!

  16. Way Too cute Kate! What a blessing =)

  17. So amazing – soooooo amazing that you have a little one growing in side of you. And what a wonderful way to document this special time in your lives.

  18. Super cutie. It sounds like you are floating through pregnancy (er, except for the night sweats and the nausea and the lack of exercise endorphins….) and that is AWESOME! Hang in there, I know you can’t wait for that u/s! 🙂

  19. Chelsea, I know, Wednesdays are such an exciting day! I get emails from four or five different websites giving me information… I can’t get enough.

    romancing hestone, Stef, Nabeela and Zuly, Thank you all!

    Cathy P, Ha, yes! I am one of those crazy people who strangely enjoys morning sickness. I think it’s the “infertile” in me.

    A, It WILL happen for you. One way or another, it will. Modern science is amazing.

    jennyh, I know! My eyes are like faucets these days too. Although I do love that I make Benjamin cry almost every week with the “Dear Baby” post.

    Steph, Thank you! Writing about this whole ordeal has really been incredibly cathartic. Not only did I find an amazing support group of friends going through similar issues, I also learned a TON from the most educated people out there — the people struggling with this stuff every day. And just getting my feelings out helped me feel less alone. In some ways, since we didn’t really tell many people in our “real” lives, it also helped me keep the fertility struggle at arm’s length, which helped me not get too overwhelmed when things got tough.

    Courtney F, I CAN’T WAIT. I am so happy for you that you got to see that little heartbeat (and just one of them! ha!).

    APlusB, It truly is. Unbelievable, most of the time, but definitely amazing. The blog has been an incredible way to remember all the little things like how I felt on a given day. While part of me feels like I should write a journal or something, I think I will try to find a way to make a hard copy version of some of my pregnancy posts to save for little piccoloni.

    suchagoodegg, I am. Sometimes I feel so “normal” and floaty that I wonder if everything’s ok. Monday is almost here, thank goodness! Once I see the doc I think I will be very relieved and may even be able to return to my normal schedule of activity. Until then, it’s sitting on the couch and walking the dog for this girl.

  20. I just found your blog through “Becoming Sara,” and now I’m hooked! You guys are too cute,a nd it will be so much fun following your adventure into parent hood. My “Baby” is now almost 20, but I still remember that extreme exhaustion!! So overwhelming that you are asleep at 5:00 pm! Means everything is working hard, so these are all good things.

Leave a Reply

