She Says… 5 Weeks

Dear Little One,

You are 5 weeks old today! Well, you’ve been growing for 5 weeks, but we didn’t even know about you until last week. As you will know when you are old enough, we worked very hard to create you. You’ll never wonder if you were unexpected or a mistake; I hope you will always know how much we loved you before you even existed!

Although youΒ are no bigger than an appleseed and don’tΒ look like much more than a tadpole right now, you are already starting to form major organs (heart, kidney, liver, stomach) and systems (nervous, circulatory, digestive). You are already the most amazing thing I’ve ever created.

I don’t really “feel” pregnant yet, which is a really strange feeling. I expected that everything would be different the moment we made you. But the truth is, I guess it takes time πŸ™‚Β  I feel some little tugs and cramps in my stomach sometimes — that’s you, stretching out my uterus and making room for you to grow. As you get bigger, I will probably wish you would STOP growing, but for now, I want you to grow as fast as you possibly can.

I have decided to call you piccolini, which means “little one” in Italian. I love saying that word. My little piccolini. We don’t know yet if you are a boy or a girl, or even if you are a singleton or a twin! We will find out in 1 1/2 weeks at our first ultrasound. I can’t wait to see a picture of you and make sure that everything’s progressing the way that it should. In the meantime, it’s very hard not to worry about you. You’re no bigger than an appleseed and I already want to protect you more than anything.

So, have a great week in there! I love you and I can’t wait to watch you grow.

All the love in the world,
Mama

25 responses to “She Says… 5 Weeks

  1. Hey, my kid of unknown gender is the size of an avocado this week. Ever wonder why they insist on comparing the size of the kid to a fruit? I wonder that every week. But now I want avocado…. πŸ™‚

  2. I can’t wait to meet you little appleseed!

  3. I’m not going to lie, the comparing baby sizes to fruit kind of weirds me out, but my tadpole is now the size of a large plum. That’s still pretty darn small.

    You won’t feel pregnant for awhile to come… it’s so strange! I am almost 13 weeks and am just starting to show… and just starting to feel a little pregnant.

  4. It is so amazing how they grow and what changes week to week!
    I love piccolini. We haven’t decided what to call our new addition. We start we 6 tomorrw and we will grow to a sweet pea! It’s absolutely an amazing we have happening to us friend!

  5. This is. Adorable. πŸ˜€

  6. come on now, you’re making me get teary-eyed at work! πŸ™‚ I hope you find a way to print and keep posts like this for your baby (babies?!) to read someday – so sweet and beautiful.

  7. cutie piccolini. πŸ™‚

  8. I just found your blog from From Single to Married. My thoughts were exactly the same as your comment.

    Congratulations on your baby!

  9. ;-))) You are really looking out for twins aren’t you? Piccolini is the plural form….

    And if there are two girls, it would be piccoline.

    Curious to find out, if it will be piccolina, piccolino, piccoline o piccolini in the end. ;-)))

    So many surprises yet to come.

    BR Isabelle

  10. Kate, here I am taking a break from from shooting and sitting in a studio with my client and I open up the blog to read what you wrote. And now I am trying to hold back completely bawling and I have tears streaming down my face. That was wonderful and I love our little piccolini.

  11. this is just so sweet. congratulations to you both!

  12. How sweet. Hopefully this next week and a half will go by quickly!

  13. Kara, Yay! An avocado! That does sound tasty right now… Yes, the fruit thing is a little weird. It’s not like we’re going to EAT the little things.

    Erin, You are SO going to be the cool “aunt”. I can’t wait.

    Casey, A plum seems gigantic compared to an appleseed πŸ™‚ I guess it depends on your perspective. Congratulations on hitting 13 weeks… I don’t know if you felt this way, but I think I will breathe a big sigh of relief once I make it to 12 weeks. Yay for a little baby bump!

    Courtney F, I know, it is AMAZING what they can do in one week. Grow organs and systems? Holy cow! All I did this week is go to work. Although I guess in some ways I’m doing everything the baby is, so it’s no wonder I’m beginning to feel a little tired πŸ™‚

    Whit and suchagoodegg, Thank you both!

    K, Oops! Sorry. I even tried to cut some of the totally cheesy stuff I had in my head. That’s a really good point about printing these out… I mean, I guess in theory the website will still exist forever, but it would be nice to have them in hard copy. I plan to do a letter every week, so I could definitely print and bind those somehow.

    Jenny, Thank you! Yes, I know the SAHM debate is a lively one, but I just don’t think we’ll have the opportunity to do that. But we’ll make it work, and I am certain little piccolini will be better for it.

    Isabelle, I know πŸ˜‰ Since we don’t know the gender (o/a), I went with the plural form (i). Freudian slip? We shall see!

    Benjamin, You are a sap. That is one of the many reasons that I love you. Don’t cry at work, it’s not good form.

    goodtastehealthyme, Thank you!

  14. I suddenly have a very strong desire to get pregnant.
    So adorable.

  15. So. Excited.

    !!!!!

    Since I visit you here everyday, I feel that I should introduce myself.

    I live in Cleveland, Ohio.
    I am 24 years old.
    I am an art school graduate.
    I have a 4 year old Boston Terrier.
    I like coffee, manatees, bulldogs, and collections of essays.

    Nice to meet you πŸ™‚

  16. you are so sweet. This just brought tears to my eyes. My cousin’s nick name is Pic short for piccolini, b/c he was suck a tiny kiddo:) So cute!

  17. You’re such a sweet person. This nearly brought tears to my eyes. This is a wonderful thing you are doing here on the blog. You’re not only writing for your friends and family, and the world but also for your little fetus. This is such a beautiful thing and I know your little baby(ies) will read this some day and be filled with emotion and happiness as well. May you have a safe and healthy pregnancy.

  18. so cute! hope to be writing a letter like that one day soon too! πŸ™‚

  19. love the nickname, very cute πŸ™‚

  20. I am trying to picture an appleseed with organs … and I just cannot grasp!!

    I think you should take a picture of yourself every week holding the “fruit of the week” – bump watch + we can visualize the baby!!

  21. Oh Sarah, I love that idea. Kate – please do that!!
    This was a truly touching Ode to the Unborn.

    TIO

  22. What an amazing letter! How crazy how you can love that baby/babies so much without even knowing them =). Good luck friend, I hope you have a great pregnancy!

  23. Allison, Welcome to the dark side πŸ™‚

    Josie, Nice to meet you! Thanks for reading.

    jennyh, That is so cute! Pic. I love it!

    Nancy, Thank you so much! Sometimes I wonder why anyone would want to read my random thoughts, but I think you guys have been as much a part of this amazing experience as my “real life” friends and family. How could I not share it with you?

    Grace, Oh I hope you are too! It is a strange and wonderful feeling.

    Al, Thanks πŸ™‚

    Sarah, I LOVE that idea. Benjamin and I have been trying to come up with something awesome to do with our weekly belly pics. With his photographical prowess and my willingness to be photographed while I grow to the size of a small whale, we might be able to make something incredibly beautiful. We are going to start this weekend (since he’s been away, we haven’t been able to start yet).

    impatient optimist, Thank you! For some reason I just read the word “unborn” as “unicorn”. And I was thinking, “What Ode to a Unicorn”?! Ha. Oops.

    Zuly, It IS crazy. It’s also crazy that you can love something so much that looks like a tadpole. Thank you, and I hope you get to write a similar letter very, very soon.

  24. You’re right, it does take time. But trust me, when it hits, you’ll know! πŸ™‚ And if you’re one of the lucky ones who doesn’t have symptoms – just relax and enjoy it!

  25. Love the nickname πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

