He Says…Telling the Family

First off, I will just say that the last 5 days have been a whirlwind of emotions.  Can I make the excuse that Kate’s pregnancy has made ME more of a crier this week?  Probably not (since those who know me know I am already quite emotional).  But we have both been shocked by the amount of response our little blog and video has gotten online and every one of the comments has brought us to tears.  Thank you all for sharing this experience with us.

The timing could not have been more perfect for telling our family about our news.  I don’t know why Kate and I felt that the moment of telling people needed to be so orchestrated, but I felt like we were planning a surprise party coming up with how to share the news.  On Thursday we were hosting Thanksgiving for one set of my parents (my parents are divorced) and relatives on that side (9 of us total).  Kate spent all day Wednesday and Thursday, in between tears of joy, cooking an amazing Thanksgiving dinner that she had been planning for weeks.  I liked having the home turf advantage for planning our big surprise.  I came up with all sorts of ideas including Kate taking 9 pregnancy tests and us wrapping them in the napkins at the table.  Kate thought a pee-covered stick next to the dinner plate was not quite as classy (or hygenic) as we had anticipated.  We opted to just tell them all at dinner while everyone was together and paying attention.  Because I felt that people would be anticipating our announcement if any signs pointed in that direction, I made a point to make Kate a [virgin] cocktail and have it known she was “drinking”.  (This was probably overkill, I know).  Anyway, dinner came and my aunt had asked me to read a little toast/reading that she had written.  I had a hard time getting through the reading without crying, partly because it was very poignant, but mostly because I knew I was about to make the big announcement.  After the reading, with a shaky hand and a shaky voice, I lifted my glass to thank everyone for coming.  Then Kate jumped in to say that next year we’d need another seat at the Thanksgiving table (which was already very crowded) because we are pregnant.  Everyone shrieked.  My parents cried.  I cried.  Kate cried.  It was a perfect reaction and a perfect night to tell them.

On Friday night we had plans to go out to dinner with my other parents and a few family friends.  One of which was our friend Russell, who was the one who had been staying at our home the morning we got the big news.  Since he already knew the news, I asked Russell to make a toast at dinner so that I could jump in.  I made sure Kate ordered a glass of wine at dinner just to be covert (again, I don’t know why I felt the need for all these dramatic lead-ups).  Russell made a touching toast at dinner but he didn’t get more than a few words out before he started to cry, so I jumped in and announced that they were going to be grandparents.  My parents yelled (a good yell) and I believe a glass was even spilled on the table!  Hugs and tears followed. Of course.

So it’s been a great few days of telling people our big news.  I am so glad I got out of bed last Wednesday to film that video as I’ve enjoyed sending it to some friends in a cryptic message to share the news with them.  And while Kate and I know that it is customary to wait a while to tell people, and we are not telling everyone now (we are asking people not to put anything on Facebook about it yet), I think we are pretty open about most things (hence the blog!) so we are not really following the old “wait until 12 weeks” rule.

So thank you all again for reading and supporting us and sharing these special moments with us.

14 responses to “He Says…Telling the Family

  1. I haven’t said congratulations yet (Congratulations!) but I’m SO excited for you people I’ve never met. I’ve been following you for several months now and have waited and waited along with you for this fantastic news! Your story has touched me as I’ve carried my own son as I’ve read along (had him 6 weeks ago). I have so many friends who have been unsuccessful in beginning or adding to their families this year and my heart aches for them. Your story has touched me for that reason. I can’t wait to see what the next nine months offers for you guys! Congrats!!!

  2. I think telling everyone the big news would be such a wonderful experience. I completely understand your need to be “covert” and order Kate drinks just to throw everyone off the scent. Well played.

  3. I often fantasize about how we would tell our parents/families/friends if we’re ever lucky enough to get a BFP. So I totally understand your need to make it “dramatic”! 🙂

    On a totally unrelated note… what kind of camera do you have? Is it a Canon 7D by any chance? It looked like, from the mirror reflection in your BFP video, that you were filming with a DSLR, which is why I ask. 🙂 I’m in the market for one and I was impressed with the quality of your video!

  4. What perfect timing for telling everyone. Love your stories. Congratulations, again!

  5. you guys are the cutest! I totally fantasize about telling people about a BFP and fancy ways to do it! we are on indefinite TTC hold while my husband remains unemployed so I am looking forward to living vicariously a bit through your journey!

  6. So fun to tell everyone the amazing news! So happy for you guys and so glad you enjoyed your Turkey day! Maybe Kate can ask Santa for some cute maternity clothes! 😉

  7. Congratulations on this amazing news! Enjoy every second of the next several months and years to follow.

  8. I’ve been following your blog for a while now since Meaghann (at inner workings of a college grad) linked you all in her blog. Like she said when she first recommended your blog – I’ve definitely been rooting for you. You are the model of a loving couple who deserve more than anything the experience of raising a baby! I’m young and won’t be having babies for another few years – but thanks for sharing your journey and educating people using your own story. CONGRATULATIONSSS!!!!!

  9. What a wonderful time to share the news. I think you guys planned it perfectly [even the huge cover ups, lol!] I am so happy for you guys!

  10. Love that the news is out there with your fam and friends. Yip!!!

    I am rooting for you guys (twins, twins, twins 🙂 ). But even if it’s one healthy little guy/girl, that is so crazy amazing and awesome. Everything sounds like it’s going so fabulously, congrats!!!

  11. I don’t know why I try to be so covert, but thank you all for not thinking I am a total weirdo. We love (and are shocked) by all the support we are getting from our blog so thanks for reading. When we told our parents the big news we also told them about the blog so it’s been interesting to hear their take on all of this.

    You all are still scaring me with the T-word. Actually I think it’s started to hit Kate that twins would be considerably more difficult and now she is worried we’ll have twins. Obviously either way we will be thrilled (yes, even me if it is twins).

    Heather, good eye, yes that is a Canon 7D I shot that video with. Feel free to email me if you have any questions about it, or other cameras. That’s sort of my thing.

  12. What fun! I know it was wonderful to tell everyone in person. Not that you need another opinion, but let me just tell you the first time I was pregnant, we told our immediate families after a couple of weeks (after we’d had it confirmed by the doctor) and then we were just beginning to tell people when I miscarried. In the end, everyone we love found out anyways, I and many were disappointed they didn’t know sooner so they could have been there for me. So, when we found out we were pregnant the 2nd time, we told people right away, just like y’all did. We knew we’d need their support no matter what happened and we were just too overjoyed to keep it inside this time. Something felt right, and I’m so glad we did! You won’t regret telling people early, I’m quite sure.

  13. Even though I’ve been so anticipating expanding our family, my husbnand and I just started trying last month. Tears filled my eyes during and after reading this! I just can’t wait. Congratulations!

  14. What a darling little fambly:) I came here from Tabitha’s blog.. so lovely to get this news for an early Christmas gift. I am pregnant now with my second (4th month) and it flies by.. savor this pregnancy! And TWINS! I am JEALOUS!! hahah. Oh i know it’s not definite yet but it does sound promising. The video made me smile and i don’t even know you.. i just know from here you have tried, cried and worried and now have this amazing joy. Now that I can relate to and it’s so cool you get this and the wait is over. What lucky babies they will be!!! So nice. Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

