She Says… Beta Update

For those of you keeping track, I got my second beta this morning. And get this — super duper high number!

1st beta, at 14 days past ovulation: 387 mIU/ml
2nd beta, at 17 days past ovulation: 1467 mIU/ml

The level of hcG is supposed to double every 48-72 hours, and mine more than tripled! That most likely indicates a very healthy singleton in there, or TWINS. Muahahahahaha. The possibility of twins is still on the table, folks. I couldn’t be happier. (Just to set the record straight, I would not be the least bit disappointed if there is only one. One healthy, happy baby is all I really need. Let’s not get greedy πŸ™‚ The twins thing is just so… ideal, though, because I have wanted twins since I was a little girl. And considering all the trouble it took to conceive this time, we would get two for the price of one! I’m a true bargain hunter.)

So… yay for at least one healthy baby in there! The nurse said to call Monday and make an appointment for an ultrasound in a week and a half (which will be 6 weeks into my pregnancy). Can’t. Wait.

 

21 responses to “She Says… Beta Update

  1. OMG– this is such wonderful news!!! I can’t even imagine how excited you must be– not only do your numbers look fantastic and healthy, but also it looks like twins may be a real possibility!!! Can’t wait to keep reading about your new adventures!

  2. That is so exciting! I can’t even imagine taking care of twins, though…ugh, the sleepless nights! πŸ™‚

    I’m so excited to follow your pregnancy, since I found out I was pregnant on Thanksgiving last year & it’s like our pregnancies will parallel each other. How fun!

  3. Yay!!!!! How exciting!!!! Congrats!!! I hope you have an amazing pregnancy =)

  4. OH WOW! I dont even know what to say!!!! YAY!!! How exciting!

  5. I have your googling addiction as well… just found 10 signs you could be pregnant with twins.

    http://multiples.about.com/od/pregnancy/tp/aatpsigns.htm

  6. Heh… is Ben crossing his fingers for twins as well? πŸ˜‰

  7. Stef, Thank you! Yes, twins or not, the numbers are looking good, and I am feeling great. Couldn’t be happier (unless, of course, the doctor happened to schedule an IMMEDIATE ultrasound to give me a little more piece of mind… then maybe I’d be even happier than I am now).

    Alison, You’re so right about the sleepless nights… I guess I should be careful what I wish for! I’m also glad that we have parallel pregnancies; now I can ask you all my questions about what will happen when!

    Zuly, Thank you! I can’t wait to hear you announce the same exciting news very soon.

    Brandi, Ha! LOVE that article. I can’t believe I hadn’t found it yet πŸ™‚ No sure signs yet… I guess we have to wait for the ultrasound. But, whether it’s one or two hanging out in there, we will the THRILLED.

    Kristie Lynn, No, no, quite the opposite. Benjamin does NOT want twins. I know he will love them if those are the cards we’re dealt, but he is not as enamored with the idea as I am, to say the least. For once he is being the realist in our relationship and I’m the dreamer (usually it’s the other way around!).

  8. Yea for strong betas! Can’t wait to hear how the ultrasound goes and how many lil ones there are!

  9. That is so exciting! I hope the number indicates twins! I have always wanted twins myself, 2 for the price of one is so right!! I start my first round of clomid of clomid tuesday and your experiences and results have boosted my outlook. So excited for the journey ahead of you and your Hubby

  10. What an excellent beta. Well done! I’m looking forward to following the progress of the three of you (or four?? sorry Ben).
    I’m about to start my fist Clomid cycle so I hope we get similar good results!

  11. Those are awesome results!!!

  12. Congrats on the awesome numbers!

    I bet it’s twins!! I have feeling!

  13. Casey, Al and Amy, Thank you! We are very excited. Although, I’ll be honest, it’s very hard not to go in to the doctor every DAY for another beta… I want to keep close tabs on the little guy/gal (possibly guys/gals!). I wish there was some way to get more reassurance that everything is growing normally.

    Jennyh, Good luck with your Clomid round! Just remember, if it doesn’t happen this cycle, it WILL. Clomid is an amazing drug!

    impatient optimist, Thank you and good luck to you too!

    APlusB, Part of me hopes that you are right, and part of me has begun to realize the difficulties with twins. Benjamin and I stood in the room that will be the nursery last night and wondered how we would ever fit 2 cribs in there if we had to. Ummm, let’s just say it would be a tight squeeze…

  14. LOVE that number! SOOO happy for you!!! I hope it is twins! Have you started thinking about names yet??? πŸ™‚

  15. romancingthestone

    I can’t tell you how happy T and I are for you guys! I showed him the video on our way to our IVF retrieval and we were both crying happy tears. I wish you both all the love and happiness in the world. One day when spring breaks we’ll treat you to some kick@ss cupcakes. My transfer is tomorrow. We have 17 follies and 8 good embies. Keep your fingers crossed for us old guys! http://romancingthestone.wordpress.com
    Shell

  16. Just keep taking HPT’s, they have some cheapie ones at the dollar store, and then you can take one when ever you feel like it πŸ™‚

  17. Check out the BetaBase: http://www.betabase.info/showBasicChart.php?type=Single

    You can enter your beta numbers and compare to other women’s beta numbers. The range is so wide. Mine was one of the highest on the chart for singletons or twins and I’m only preggers with one.

  18. Congrats, congrats, congrats Kate! I am truly excited for you, just wish we were there too. Hopefully soon…

    I saw you comment about the crib/space situation and wanted to comment. I have a friend who has one year old twins and they found corner cribs. I know they had to do quite a bit of searching for them, but they made a big space difference in the room they had.

    A bit early, but something to think about =) I hope your numbers continue to be strong and you feel great! Take care, Kate.

  19. Just got back from some Thanksgiving non-internet time to read this happy news!!! Congratulations πŸ™‚ I’m betting on twins, fwiw – my betas with my two pg were 353 at 14dpo and 844 at 16dpo with the first, 5-something at 15dpo with the second – but I don’t know anyone else who’s had numbers that high with a singleton. So it could definitely go either way, but my money is on twins πŸ™‚

  20. Looking good! I’d have to go back and look but yours look very similar to mine with my singleton pregnancy. I was thinking I was having twins, too, especially since I’d had ovulation pains on both sides of my abdomen. But, I do think yours are even higher, so who knows! I know you’re thrilled either way and obviously the Internet world is thrilled for you.

Leave a Reply

