She Says… Aaaaaand, We’re Back!

First of all, thank you all SO MUCH for your overwhelming support and congratulations over the last few days. Benjamin and I read every comment (and, no joke, got a little misty-eyed at every comment). Each one meant so much to us.

We have been basking in the glow of our bliss. Taking it all in. To say that we had so much to be thankful for this Thanksgiving is a gross understatement. It’s hard to believe it’s really happening.

While we were struggling to get pregnant, the word infertility would send shivers down my spine every time I heard it. I never really let myself believe that I would never get pregnant, because if I had, it just might have broken me into a million pieces. It is the one thing I fear more than anything else in the world. And the moment I saw that “pregnant” readout on the home test, all the tears and fear and anxiety that I had been pushing to the back of my mind came out like a flood. And it made me realize just how amazing that moment was. And without going through all the waiting and the struggling and the yearning, I’m not sure that moment would have been as sweet. So, to all those ladies out there still fighting the fight, take heart. Not only will it happen for you, but when it does, it will mean so much more than if it had come easily. I am certain I will not take even one moment of pregnancy for granted.

So, what happened after the video ended? Well, there was a lot more crying and hyperventilating (for Benjamin AND I). And then, we actually had a friend staying with us for a few days, and he was asleep downstairs. I was certain my shrieking and crying would have woken him up, and I didn’t want him to think something was horribly wrong, so Benjamin and I crept down the stairs and stuck the pee-covered stick in his face. At 6:30am. Of course he was thrilled, but it took him a few moments to process :). Lucky for me, I already had an appointment for a blood pregnancy test at 8:00am at Boston IVF (since we knew it was 14 days past ovulation on a medicated cycle). On the drive over, I made a few phone calls to my mom and siblings and some other friends, mostly people who knew about the blog, because I wanted to tell them the news before they read it on the internet. Prior to finding out, I had brainstormed all these creative ways to tell people the exciting news, but when the time actually came, all I could do was blurt out “I’M PREGNANT” as soon as they picked up the phone. And then cry. I did a lot of crying. Which is funny, because I’m not a crier. I almost never cry. Benjamin commented that the moment I saw the positive pregnancy test was maybe the 3rd or 4th time he’s ever seen me cry. I have a feeling this pregnancy is going to change all of that — I’ve been on the verge of tears for the last 3 days! Happy tears, but I just can’t seem to stop the waterworks.

Anyway, bloodwork came back very strong! My beta (the level of hcG in my blood) at 14 days past ovulation was 387 mIU/ml. Wahoo! Normal levels range from 5 – 426 mIU/ml, so my number is on the high side of normal. It’s also high enough to indicate the possibility of TWINS, so Benjamin’s not out of woods yet πŸ™‚Β  I don’t think we’ll know that for sure until our first ultrasound, though, which isn’t for a few more weeks. I go back for another beta this morning. The numbers should double over that period of time, so I’m hoping for a 750/800.

LOTS of things to update you on in terms of symptoms, etc. More posts to come.

For those who have been pregnant, do you remember your beta numbers? What were the earliest pregnancy symptoms you had?

21 responses to “She Says… Aaaaaand, We’re Back!

  1. I’ve been waiting patiently for your update! Your beta is GREAT! Wouldn’t that be incredible if you were carrying TWINS!!! (I can’t remember my exact betas with my son, but they were around 125 and then 400-something when they did the followup). I just started Clomid this cycle and am gearing up to ovulate, and I’m so hoping to have the same result you did! I even made my husband (whose name is also Benjamin!) watch your video and told him I wanted to videotape our test this month because I’m very hopeful. πŸ™‚ Keep the updates coming! I can’t wait to hear that next number!

  2. Congratulations again, and I too, have been waiting to hear your update!!

    I am 12 weeks preggo right now, and my doctor hasn’t done any betas. I had a butt-load of bloodwork done (the normal prenatal stuff) after my last doctor’s appointment 3 weeks ago, but I haven’t gotten any results yet. My doctor is pretty old-school and relaxed… which I really love. He did an ultrasound at 7 weeks and we could see the little tadpole with its little heart beating super-fast! I go back next Friday for an ultrasound.

    The earliest symptom I had were my boobs hurting like they never had before (they still hurt, though not as bad) and hot flashes in the middle of the night. As of now, not much morning sickness, but I am ALWAYS hungry and ALWAYS tired.

    Best of luck and keep us updated!!!

  3. I pretty much am a lurker on this site but since I’ve started following your story, I’ve been hooked. When I saw you got your BFP (yes, I frequent Fertility Friend) I was literally bawling, so happy for both of you!!

    I am pregnant right now and one of the ways I had an idea that I might be is that I can cry at the drop of a hat. I mean, I started crying at work which was completely embarassing and unprofessional! Also, I am exhausted and could literally just put my head down and fall asleep. Those were the early signs I had, more recently (I’m 7 weeks) I feel nauseous and have sore boobs.

    Congratulations again!!

  4. get used to the crying!! I was not a crier before getting pregnant either, and it completely changed and has stayed that way even when I’m not pregnant, something about babies just makes your heart more vulnerable…

    I never had beta levels done, so I can’t help you there, and my earliest pregnancy symptom was sore boo boo’s (as my 2 y/o calls them)…lol, they stayed sore and tingly longer than normal PMS…so I knew something was up…and then nausea for me started soon there after with the 1st and 3rd pregnancies…I hope you get to skip that one!!

  5. Excessive thirst was my biggest one — I was thirsty before I even found out I was pregnant. Nausea didn’t set in until about week 6 for me.

    BTW, my husband’s a videographer, too, and when I showed him your video, the first thing he said was, “that’s amazing camera work!” Haha.

  6. Jenn, Ha! Thank you! Oh yes, the “twins” thing has been a big topic of conversation over the last few days. The high beta doesn’t necessarily indicate that, as it could just mean a very healthy singleton, but I would be THRILLED with either. Benjamin has his preference between the two options, though (hee hee). Good luck with the Clomid! I will admit… we videotaped a lot of negative tests, which was really hard. Each one felt a little bit more depressing because we had just filmed it. But, to have that moment on video is WORTH IT in my book. What an awesome thing for the future baby(ies) to see.

    Casey, I’m so glad you haven’t had to deal with betas and crazy tests, that must mean everything is progressing totally normally! I cannot WAIT for the ultrasound at 7 weeks. I guess I need to find an OB now that I’m “graduating” from the RE! I’ve definitely started to feel the sore boobs the last few days. I really thought I would get out of that symptom because I never used to feel anything in my boobs when I used to get my period. Not to mention the fact that they are, ummm, tiny, so I thought I might be off the hook. Not so much! Man, I never knew boobs could be so uncomfortable.

    Sarah, Thank you so much! Yes, the waterworks are DEFINITELY a symptom for me. For once Benjamin has some competition (usually he is the one bawling at everything). Exhaustion hasn’t hit me yet, but insomnia has, so I imagine exhaustion is right around the corner πŸ™‚

    Amy, Ha! Oh no, the tears may never stop! Ah yes, the sore boo boos. No nausea yet, I’m hoping I can miss that boat. But honestly, a little daily reassurance that there still a little egglet in there growing would be welcome at this point, even if it means blowing a few chunks!

    Alison, Hahaha, that is hilarious about your husband. Benjamin says thank you πŸ™‚ And yes, the thirst thing is kicking in 100%! I can’t go anywhere without a water bottle handy now. Which doesn’t help the peeing all the time. I don’t think the pregnancy peeing-all-the-time has come yet, but I ALREADY do that, so I think I’m in for a treat there.

  7. I think I agree with you about the waiting making the moment so sweet! I watched your video and, being someone who got pregnant much faster than I expected, wished I would have had a similar emotional reaction!

    My earliest symptoms were fatigue, sore breasts, and… this is the scary one… spotting mid-cycle. I actually found out that I was pregnant because the doctor wanted to rule out pregnancy as a reason for the spotting before looking into other things. I have a healthy 8 1/2 month little girl and never had any complications–for me, the spotting was a reaction to the hormonal changes going on in my body. I will keep my fingers crossed for you that you skip that one–it was really scary.

  8. Well I am 15wks 2ds right now. My story was extremely similar to you but I went 14 months with 0 period and then magically ovulated on my own and happened to catch for this pregnancy (our first ever)! Since it was a flukey situation and I was a bit of a nervous wreck they sent me right for my U/S instead of BETA testing. I was already 21DPO since I had gotten a BFN at 14DPO (mean little trick). God bless charting and fertility friend because we never would have been able to time things without it!

    At 6wks 5ds we saw the heartbeat and the sac, and the little speck that was our baby. You think you cry now…

    My earliest symptoms were bloating, major bloating and mild but persistent AF like cramping that felt like a heaviness/achiness in my pelvis. Nausea kicked in pretty quickly at about 7wks.

    Can’t wait to follow you guys through this awesome time!!

    Natalie

  9. I have checked this about one hundred times looking for an update! What a wonderful suprise on Thanksgiving! You have no idea how happy I am for you. And thank you for giving me Hope! Can’t wait to read more updates! Are you going to post growing belly pictures on here? I hope so! πŸ™‚

  10. I am so excited for you two!!! I absolutely loved the video idea and felt like I was right there with you when you found out… Very neat! Thanks for sharing such great news with all of your blog friends!!!

  11. I had faith that you would get pregnant at some point but I didn’t expect it when it finally happened!! You and Benjamin must be the happiest people in the world (if we couldn’t tell already haha). I can’t wait to read about your journey through this. Congrats again and again and again!

  12. I just wanted to say congrats! I got linked over and the first post I ever read/saw was the video and I balled my eyes out like a little baby… and then watched it 2 more times and balled. Lots of hugs and congrats and I’m so happy for you guys!

  13. Laurie, Oh that sounds so scary. Yes, I hope I can avoid spotting as well — even though it’s often no problem at all, I can’t imagine how panicked I would feel.

    Natalie, That is unbelievable that you “caught” your first ovulation in over a year… crazy stuff! I’m shocked that you heard the heartbeat at 6 weeks, that is very exciting! My doctor just told me to make an appointment for an ultrasound at 6 weeks, but I didn’t think we’d really be able to see/hear much. I know everyone doesn’t hear it so early, so you are very fortunate. I hope I get to do the same in less than 2 weeks! Holy crap!

    Grace, Thank you so much. Yes, we’re definitely going to post belly pics here. Since Benjamin is a videographer/photographer, we’re trying to think of something creative we can do throughout the whole pregnancy. We’ll definitely post as we go.

    Amber, Thank you! I’m so glad Benjamin was able to hold the camera straight through the tears πŸ™‚

    Allie, Ha, I know, it was a surprise to us too!!!

    KatieMoo, Thank you so much! I’m so glad we could make so many people cry πŸ™‚

  14. Katie,
    So glad to see your happy post! Ok lets see, I had my betas checked the first time at 6 weeks 1 day and my numbers were in the 6000 range by then. I dont remember if that was high or low. But I am NOT preggo with twins. *shiver* lol….. j/k….. Congrats again. I have shown so many people your video and every one of them has teared up, as have I, every single time.

  15. I meant to call you KATE not KATIE sorry!!!

  16. Brandi, Hahahaha, I take it you are GLAD you are not carrying twins? So funny. Benjamin and I continue to show the video to people too, and I cry every time I see it! Thanks for sharing our moment with other people πŸ™‚

  17. Great numbers! Who, could be twins, I can’t wait to hear about the ultrasound. That will bring on the waterworks for sure. Congrats again!!

    I secretly hope that I’ll get pregnant with twins when we’re successful…

  18. *I meant whoa, it could be twins, not who

  19. Congrats on the high beta numbers! I never knew what mine where, but since my pregnancy is pretty ordinary, no one checks stuff like that πŸ™‚

    My first symptoms were sore boobs, gas, and thirst. The thirst never goes away (at least not for me), and I easily drink a gallon of water a day now (at 15weeks).

    Stock up on 7-up, saltines, and ginger altoids! You’ll need them in a few weeks πŸ™‚

  20. Al, Thanks! I know, the ultrasound will be SUPER exciting. Might have to bring the video camera along for that one too. The internet is going to be swamped with videos of me bawling my eyes out πŸ™‚ I hope you get the twins you want too!!!

    Kara, Thank you! Yep, I’ve got the sore boobs, gas AND thirst. Unfortunately I’m probably in for the nausea too (I just read in “What to Expect” that 75% of women get it).

  21. Hmmm… did I have Beta numbers done? I don’t even know. πŸ™‚ First symptoms – tired and nausea – fun times! But at the same time you’re so glad to be pregnant that it’s worth it.

Leave a Reply

