She Says… 10 dpo

Well folks, here we are again. 10 days past ovulation. This time last cycle I was starting to take pregnancy tests (since 10dpo is just about the earliest time you can get a positive on a home pregnancy test). Five straight days of waking up at the butt crack of dawn to test was exhausting and disappointing, to put it mildly. So this time? NO TESTS UNTIL 14dpo… the day of my expected period. Also happens to be the day I go in for my blood pregnancy test. I may even just wait and see what the beta results are… but Benjamin said he really wants that moment of seeing the positive test together, so we’ll probably test that morning.

This morning I woke up to a lower temp than I was hoping for, so who knows, maybe that’s a sign that this month isn’t it for us. However, I woke up several times last night, and ended up taking my temp at 4am, two hours before my normal time… so those results are probably not reliable at all. I got a 98.0 at 4am, and then 98.8 at 6am. Confusing. My nipples have been tingly and a little tender on and off for the last few days, which could be a good sign. I never get sore boobs, not even way back when I used to get my period. So who knows.

I’m restricting myself from Google, which means I might have to restrict myself from the computer as a whole 🙂  But, lucky for me, Benjamin and I have a TON to do this weekend to prepare for Turkey Day next week. Today: acupuncture, yoga, dog walks, cleaning the bathrooms, making my checklists and grocery lists. Tomorrow: deep cleaning the whole house and giving the dog a bath. Here we go!

14 responses to “She Says… 10 dpo

  1. I think you’ve mentioned that you have the book ‘Taking Charge of Your Fertility”? If not, I highly recommend it! Anyway, it says in there that it you’re taking your BBT at a different time than normal, adjust it by a tenth of a degree for every half hour — subtract if you’re taking it later than usual, add on if you’re taking it earlier.

    This math has always worked for me, the temps I then chart always seem to be spot-on for what’s happening, whether AF is coming or those 2 times I got a BFP.

    Using that math, if you were 98.0 at 4am, then you’d chart 98.4 as your roundabout 6am temp, not exactly what you actually measured at 6am, but any moving around, even sitting up in bed, elevates your BBT, which would explain the discrepancy.

    I use this method to chart on weekends and vacations so I don’t need to worry about the times I temp early or late.

    GL with this cycle! A temp drop at 10dpo is still well within the implantation window so I wouldn’t give up yet!

  2. STAY AWAY FROM GOOGLE. It will drive you bananas. Believe me. I’ve turned into a monkey!! It is so difficult waiting. FINGERS CROSSED!!!

  3. When you find out how not to Google every last thing, you ought to patent it…that secret is worth milllllions. 🙂

    I have SUCH high hopes for you this cycle!! Way to distract yourself with the cooking/cleaning and hang in there. You have a wonderful Zen-ness about you right now, love it!

  4. I think it’s a great idea to wait until 14 dpo. Nothing good comes of testing too early! Hope these next four days fly by!

  5. romancingthestone

    Best of luck girl! I’m thinking of you. Shell (PS- glad you got so much done today. i just sat on the couch).

  6. Sending you lots of good luck!!!

  7. Good luck Kate!!! I really hope this month is your month!!! I go to the doctor tomorrow =)

  8. Lara, I have read TCOYF, but I must have missed the part where they discuss this calculation. Thank you SO MUCH for sending! I just adjusted all the funky times on my chart and it looks A LOT more like what it should. Thank you, thank you, thank you! Now I see a clear step upwards pattern post-ovulation. A few more days of that and I may have a perfect pregnancy chart! We’ll see.

    Courtney F, I know, seriously. I’ve been REALLY good this time around. You’re almost there, hang on and stay away from that keyboard!!!

    suchagoodegg, Ha! Totally. I’m lucky I’ve been busy at work and home for the last week or so. I barely have the time to sit and Google all day. Lord knows I’d be doing it if I could. I am feeling quite zen about things for now, it’s a nice change from last month’s take-a-test-every-day-and-rationalize-the-negative-results-all-day-long mania. Believe me, my heart is still racing a billion beats per minute until I find out if it “worked”, but we’re almost there. Thanks for the positive vibes! Keem ’em comin’ until Wednesday!

    APlusB, You’re so right. Even if I got a positive early, then it’s longer I have to wait before I can go see the doctor to check in and make SURE it’s a real positive and that everything’s alright. I guess I’d rather just be PUPO 🙂

    romancingthestone, Thanks, Shell!

    Grace, Thank you! I need it!

    Zuly, GOOD LUCK TO YOU!!!

  9. Awwwww, praying for you guys. This would be such a fun time of year to get some great news – you deserve it!

  10. Good idea to wait til 14 dpo! I hope it’s good news, but just hang in there and keep yourself distracted by other things til then.

    Good luck!

  11. It’s so hard not to test.
    Good Luck

  12. Your temps look good! Fingers crossed for you ~ come on BFP!!!

  13. Good luck!!! I am trying to wait to test until Thanksgiving morning. I have been testing the past couple of days and just getting disappointed, so I am going to do what you guys are doing and just wait. Google be gone as well! Have a wondeful Thanksgiving, hopefully full of joy and no matter what, your time will come!!

  14. Pingback: Down go the decorations « Such A Good Egg

Leave a Reply

