She Says… Home Again, Home Again

Ahhhhhhhh. It feels so nice to be home!

On the babymaking front: I finished up my Clomid a few days ago and have been taking 2 teaspoons of Robitussin a day since then to improve my cervical mucus. Not really sure if it’s working yet, or even if it’s something I need to be doing, but the medicine’s not all that bad, and I figure a little cough medicine isn’t going to hurt me. I started using my ovulation predictor kits (OPK) yesterday morning. Negative yesterday and negative today. That is perfect; it’s kind of nice to have a few days of negatives to give me a baseline and make sure there’s a CLEAR difference between today’s reading and the positive I’m going to get in a few days (positive thinking, right?). Just to be on the safe side, my willing husband and I are covering our bases, so to speak. Last month I got my positive OPK on cycle day 15. This month, cycle day 15 should be next Wednesday. Although I’m going to be using the OPK’s every morning until then just to be sure I don’t miss it, I’m not going to be disappointed until at least Thursday if I don’t see a dark pink line. On Thursday if I haven’t gotten a positive, I will go in for bloodwork and ultrasound to check out my progress. If everything’s looking good but I haven’t ovulated yet, we’ll be instructed to use the injectible Ovidrel that’s been sitting in our ‘fridge since last month. I’m hoping that we get a distinct positive early next week and can verify that I ovulated. That would be a huge success!

In other news: Benjamin and I are enjoying our relaxing weekend together. We went on a little date to Whole Foods last night and re-stocked the kitchen with delicious food. We planned out meals for the next week and made some awesome fish tacos last night for dinner. Today I’m baking bread, catching up DVRed tv shows and exercising. Ahhh, what a wonderful life 🙂

 

10 responses to “She Says… Home Again, Home Again

  1. Glad you had a nice trip. I hope you do get a positive opk though the ovidrel really isn’t that bad to use. Stocking up your kitchen with stuff from whole foods sounds good. I need to find some new things to make, I’m getting sick of my own cooking lol.

  2. don’t be discouraged if you don’t get a positive opk on day 15. you could even be as late as day 20/21 and still be fine. and each cycle is different…last two months my follicles have been ready on day 13 for hcg shot, but went in on day 13 friday and they weren’t big enough yet this cycle. also, i’ve received the hcg shot each month to ensure that the egg is released vs leaving it up to my body to decide to release it. good luck this week!

  3. Good luck! I’ve never heard of the Robitussin trick…you learn somethin’ new every day!

  4. Yay for bing home.
    I love being able to “cover all your bases!”
    I mean you can’t miss an opportunity to play ball!

  5. Good luck this week!!! I didn’t get a positive ovulation test until I took the shot wich was a friday and my doctor told me to have intercourse saturday and sunday. I go to the doctor tomorrow =)

  6. I pretty much ovulate at a different time every month, so hang in there. I’ll be crossing my fingers for you!

  7. Hope this month is a homerun!!

  8. Low Fat Lady, I hope I get a positive OPK too, although, as you say, using the Ovidrel wouldn’t be bad. In fact, I’d almost be excited to do that, because I think the injectibles are more reliable than waiting around for my body to ovulate on its own! I would not at all be disappointed if it came to that this cycle. I’m ready to move things along.

    kwally, Good point! Thanks for the positivity 🙂 Dr. P told me to call his office if I haven’t surged by tomorrow (Tuesday), which is cycle day 14. Then he said we could set up an appointment to do an ultrasound and bloodwork to see where things are for cycle day 15 or 16. I am actually hoping things happen this way, because, as I said to Low Fat Lady, I would be more than happy to use the injectible this month to ensure ovulation! I’m tired of waiting around.

    Alison, Yes, I’m still using the Robitussin, although I really don’t know if I need to be or not. I haven’t seen much cervical mucus at all in the last few days, so who knows what that means.

    Courtney F, Right on! We certainly are up for the challenge! Although, this time around, knowing that we’re going to want to do it every day when we start getting even faint pink lines, we’re trying to pace ourselves appropriately. I’d like there to be some sperm left when the big day comes.

    Zuly, I hope the injectible worked for you!!! Today’s the day to find out!!! If not, there’s always next month. And at least this time you KNOW you ovulated.

    Amber, Good to know — I have been sort of thinking that this month would be the same as last month, but we never really know, do we? Thanks for the good vibes! Hopefully I’ll have a definite positive by the end of the week.

    Stef, Thank you! Me too. I’m trying not to get my hopes up, but it would be totally perfect to get that news in just a few short weeks.

  9. Hi Kate,

    I was recently diagnosed with PCOS and I start my first round 100 mg. of Clomid in two weeks. I was curious as to if you knew had a good way to track all your cycle days? I was looking for a a printable calendar of some sort but can’t find anything. I went of BCP in March and have yet to get a period. Provera didn’t work and neither did Estrogen + Provera. My Dr. thinks my lining is too thin. We shall see….. Good luck with this cycle. I’m rooting for you.

  10. Kelly, Hi! Thanks for commenting. A lot of people have suggested FertilityFriend.com to me for tracking cycles. You can enter daily temperature info as well as other symptoms, and it’s free to join. I use a pad of paper by my bed to record daily temps, and a combination of my Outlook calendar (at work!) and my home calendar to track my cycles. Not the most organized system, I’ll admit. I have started to enter everything into FertilityFriend and I like the way the site is set up — but since I don’t have cycles, it sort of seems like a waste. Good luck to you! Feel free to email me if you have any other questions.

Leave a Reply

