He Says…Time Management

So Kate just received her new Clomid and now we have the fun task of figuring out when we have time to try to conceive.  We are both traveling a bit over the next month (I am at a conference in Las Vegas right now) and we don’t want to risk missing our window of opportunity for quality baby-making sex.  So we have gone over our calendars and tried to calculate estimated ovulation times (based on our somewhat unreliable knowledge of what exactly is going on with Kate’s body) and think we have found proper timing. Unfortunately that proper timing means we have to wait a few weeks for her to start the Clomid.  In the grand scheme of things, this is fine, but it is hard for us to wait (even though we have been doing that for the last 7 months).

I am slightly worried that if it doesn’t work out next time that this whole timing thing will become more of a hassle.  I do travel a bit, and Kate does every couple months, and I just don’t want this to become another cause of stress in the process. That said, I guess we’re lucky to be able to “choose” when these dates fall!

12 responses to “He Says…Time Management

  1. Oh, welcome to the wonderful world of TTC timing! It’s one of the most annoying parts of baby-makin’ — both that tiny window for the eggie (how in the world do all those teenagers accidentally get pg?) and scheduled around the meds. GL making it all work out this cycle!

  2. I feel your pain. Funny story…We were trying last February and ovulation day happened around Valentine’s Day. Well, my MOTHER IN LAW decided she wanted to come and visit ON VALENTINES DAY. (Sheesh! Does that woman want grandchildren or not?!) The biggest problem was that at the time, we lived in a loft apartment and the walls did not go up to the ceiling, so that was pretty tricky. During other months there was always something…the flu, traveling, more out of town guests… but it happened eventually. Keep tracking those ovulation signs. Good luck!

    Oh, and think of it this way…you are the luckiest husband in the world right now! Several months of trying should make you a happy man. After she gets pregnant, she may be like me and want absolutely nothing to do with her hubby for several months!

  3. The timing is always problematic, especially when travel is involved! Glad you worked it out for this cycle. (Hi-I am from the RubyFeather’s club).

  4. that’s awesome that you get to play around with the calendar! way to find a silver lining.

    i hope your timing works out this go ’round.

  5. I feel your pain. We used to calculate out the ovulation time frame and then realize that we had fifteen kazillion schedule conflicts – everything from business travel to late family dinners – to wriggle out of if we wanted a baby. Just keep it up! I hope your timing works out soon! =)

  6. Since this is such a common problem, it’s too bad we can’t just leave a “deposit” to be used at the right time when couples trying to conceive are not around. I know that’s gross, but it’d be practical.

  7. You’re smart to realize that it could become a hassle if you let it – so the key I guess is not to let it (easier said than done I know). Good luck with the timing and with your schedules!

  8. Wow, that’s romantic, Benjamin 🙂

  9. Argh, timing is the source of so many arguments – as if we’re not already stressed enough! Our last fight was when he had planned a fishing trip that ended up conflicted with “O” day! Now that we’re doing the IUI’s, everything is timed, though.

  10. Good luck to both of you and Im sure the baby will come at the right time. I just finished my first round of Clomid and Im praying that I ovulate in a few days. Will see we are super excited!! If not we would have to wait for December since in November my husband goes hunting =( . Good luck!

  11. I live in GA (deep south!) with churches everywhere…as I was driving home last night I passed one and the sign said “A dream delayed is not a dream denied”

    For some reason this made me think of you two and your path to parenthood. I pray for you guys (I think a lot of other readers do too), and I’m sure that God (or whomever is up there with the master plan) has something very special in store for you. Though this “time management” thing might seem like a problem, perhaps it’s all part of The Plan. I know you two haven’t lost hope or anything like that, but this whole process can be frustrating, and I was just wanting to bring a little extra hope to you two. *hugs and baby dust to you both* 🙂

  12. Colleen, Thank you! That is so thoughtful. You are absolutely right — I’m sure this timing is happening this way for one reason or another. Once we have our little one in our lives, I imagine we wouldn’t want it any other way. You are so sweet to think of us.

Leave a Reply

