She Says… Symptom Spotting

My glass is half full. Although I know there’s a huge chance I’m not knocked up, I like to think about the small chance that I am. As such, I’ve been keeping quite a close eye on my body over the last few days trying to identify any potential symptoms or signs that I’m pregnant, and not just imagining it. Since you all already know about my Google addiction, I can’t hide the fact that I’ve been constantly Googling crazy search terms like, “Feeling full sign of pregnancy?” and “Excessive thirst early symptom of pregnancy?”. I know, I should just stop. But I can’t.

So I figured instead of wasting endless hours reading discussion boards and articles, I will come clean and just share my crazy symptom spotting with you. Just remember: I am well aware that I may not be pregnant. And if I’m not pregnant, I’ll know that this was all an exercise in the power of the mind. And I’ll have to eat a little bit of humble pie. But for now, I’ll just be honest.

Here’s what I’ve experienced so far:

  • Implantation/breakthrough bleeding. This could certainly just be pre-period spotting (since Lord knows my body has NO IDEA how to have a period… it hasn’t done so in a very long time). But, it did show up conveniently 7 days past ovulation, which is exactly when implantation bleeding happens, if it happens at all. It was bright red blood, lighter than a period flow, and only lasted for 1 day. It was accompanied by some uncomfortable cramps in my lower abdomen, but didn’t present exactly like my normal (what is normal, again?) period cramps.
  • Lower back pain. I don’t generally get back pain of any sort. The last 3 or 4 days, however, I’ve felt some sharp knots in my lower back. Hard to describe, but it almost feels like the pains are coming from the very center of my body, like I’m being stretched from the inside out.
  • Light pangs in my lower right abdomen. Not uncomfortable, just feels like a little muscle spasm. Usually during yoga or when walking. Right about where I felt my mittelschmerz pain last week.
  • Excessive thirst. I always have a big Nalgene of water on my desk at work; I fill it up in the morning and usually finish it by the end of the day. But the last few days I have polished off one big bottle by 10 or 11am. And another by mid-afternoon, and maybe even another by the end of the workday. And I’m still drinking more water in the evening. I’ve read that this can be your body’s way of telling you it needs hydration to create the placenta and get nutrients to the little bunch of cells that’s trying to become a baby.
  • Very chapped lips and dry skin. Now, this could be a result of the changing seasons. It’s very quickly becoming fall here in Boston, so the dryness could be environmental. Although, I’ve read that this symptom is sometimes accompanied by the excessive thirst as an early symptom of pregnancy, since all of your body’s liquids are being pulled to support the little parasite inside of you.
  • Feeling very full. I will be the first to admit that I LOVE TO EAT. I love to get hungry so I can eat. I love to cook so I can eat. I think about food pretty much all the time. But the last few days I haven’t ever really felt hungry, and I’ve felt full after only a few bites of food. I know most people would say that pregnant women are supposed to be starving all the time, so this isn’t really a symptom of pregnancy, but I also read that the elevated levels of estrogen and progesterone in a pregnant woman’s system makes her stomach empty slower so that the body has a chance to extract all of the nutrients from the food she’s eaten. So that’s a possibility?

Bottom line is this — NONE of these symptoms are terribly convincing. And I’m only 10-11 days past ovulation, so really, there’s no guarantee I should be feeling anything, even if I am preggers. And this morning I woke up completely symptom free and walked to work in record time. Not exactly the starving, fatigued, sore-boobed woman I hoped to be to confirm my as-of-yet-imaginary pregnancy. Oh well.

So, I’ll post again once I’ve tested. Positive or negative. Although, the more internet research I’ve done indicates that I really may not be able to see anything conclusive for a few more days — it’s still very early to get a positive pregnancy test. But we’ll know for sure next Tuesday at my doctor’s appointment!

For those who have been pregnant, what were your earliest symptoms? When did they show up?

18 responses to “She Says… Symptom Spotting

  1. I do the same thing, with the thinking every little thing might be a ‘symptom.’ It is SO hard to be patient… seriously. Ask my husband just how impatient I am and how many times I have jumped the gun on HPTs!

  2. I just wanted to say, that I am 7 weeks pregnant and I have all of the above symptoms. So I’m hoping you get a positive!! We got pregnant the first time after clomid and surprisingly didn’t need it this time around. Good Luck to you!!!

  3. thebakerbee, Gah! It’s tough! I just got off the phone with my doc’s office. They discouraged me from even doing a home pregnancy test, and said if I just HAVE to do one, to do it only one or two days before my appointment next Tuesday. Umm, hello, have they ever talked to a woman who is trying her hardest to conceive?! I AM NOT GOING TO NOT TAKE A HOME PREGNANCY TEST! Ha. She may be right, though, that tomorrow is jumping the gun. Oh well, I don’t think I can wait any longer. If it’s negative, I’ll just keep testing.

    Jen, YOU ARE MY HERO. Thank you. Congratulations! I can only hope my story is the same!

  4. Oh, I have my fingers crossed for you! And I had the little twinges/pains right before I got my positive test. I never get cramps with my period, which is why I noticed, but I didn’t really have any other symptoms. I did have the lower back pain, but not until 6 or 7 weeks.
    I’ll be thinking good thoughts for you!

  5. Here’s what I know: I don’t have those symptoms and I’m not pregnant. So that makes me think you could be. I’m not a doctor, but I do watch a lot of Grey’s Anatomy. So that’s that. Fingers are still crossed.

  6. Thanks for the note on my blog. It made me smile. Your symptoms do sound plausible. I wish you luck. good luck with the testing.

  7. This all sounds awesome. I think your stars aligned this month!!

  8. Implantation bleeding was my first symptom. I was tired too, but nothing extreme. I didn’t have the sore boobs until much later (like now, believe it or not – whenever I wake in the middle of the night to roll over, they hurt like crazy). In fact, I didn’t really have any symptoms until I was in my sixth week and then I started to get the dreaded “sickness.” 🙂

  9. Random question for you – I noticed that your list of blogs that you read that are posted is small and from the amount of comments you get I can tell you read more blogs than that. Do you use google reader to keep track of your blogs or something else? I’ve been looking for something since wordpress doesn’t let you know when a person updates their blog.

  10. Those are all great signs!! Take a test already!!!

  11. I am 8 weeks pregnant. I didn’t start having symptoms until about 5 1/2 weeks – at that point it was extreme exhaustion. At about 6-8 weeks I was feeling nausea (no morning sickness), extreme fatigue, and depressed appetite. And my thirst levels are higher too 🙂

  12. TAKE A TEST! Even if it could be too early. I have seen tons of people get postives with the first respnse early result by 10 dpo. Even if you get a negative result, you may still be preggo. But boy oh boy, if you get a light positive, think how relieved you will feel!!! Saturday is only 1 day away! I’m so nervous/excited for you!

  13. Sue, That is so great to hear! Well, not that you had back pain, but that the twinges might actually mean something real. Today the back pain is gone, but I have felt a few twinges.

    Erin, You’re hilarious. I like your logic, doc.

    LizardRuns, Screw the stars, let’s hope the egg and sperm aligned, hmm? Thanks 🙂

    Tabitha, Ooooh, good news that even if I am pregnant, I might not be feeling much of anything right now. Plenty of time for fatigue and morning sickness later!

    Low Fat Lady, Thank you. I really appreciate your support, especially given all that you’ve been going through recently. With all of the blog reading I do, you’d think I’d have some clever solution to keep them all organized. Well, I don’t. I have saved them all as “favorites” in my browser under various categories/folders. I put my favorites at the top of the list, and the ones I read casually at the bottom. Then, whenever I have free time during the day, I work my way down the list. I have no idea when people update them, but it works for me. The blogroll on this site is just a few of the ones that I thought my readers might be interested in, not all of the blogs I read. That list would go right down to the bottom of the screen and out the front door.

    Amy, Ha! I know, I know, I should just shut up and DO IT. I’m scared, though 🙂 and trying to be frugal!

    anonymous, Thank you! Congratulations. That is very exciting! Happy to hear about the thirst thing, too. I definitely thought I made that one up until I started Googling.

    Brandi, I know, what am I waiting for, right? Soon, ladies, soon. You are so right… even the faintest line will send me into a tizzy. I’m trying to be realistic, but I JUST CAN’T WAIT!!!

  14. I was extra emotional & craved pasta salad one night when I fixed tacos. I drank tons of water in my first trimester – usually more than 2 L a day, I couldn’t get enough.

  15. Seriously, every time I click on your URL link, I hold my breath wishing and hoping that it says…’I’M PREGNANT!!!!!’ Isn’t crazy how accidents can happen to people yet others have to try for months? That’s just how the world turns I suppose.

  16. It’s impossible not to guess if each twinge and drop is a symptom that we’re closer to the prize! I’m keepin’ my fingers crossed for you!

  17. My first symptom started exactly 14 dpo and it was excessive thirst. I mean excessive! I could not get enough to drink! Oddly enough, the thirst stayed with me throughout my pregnancy and even after my son was born. I have been thirsty ever since that day!

  18. Anonymous, Thank you for sharing your symptoms!

    Allie (Live Laugh Eat), Ha. Well, I HOPE that post is coming soon, but one never really knows…

    iamstacey, I know, right? Sometimes it’s tough to distinguish between real and what I WANT to be real. I guess it doesn’t really matter if I spot the symptoms, I’m either pregnant or not.

    Alison, Strange! What a funny symptom. I am happy to hear that you didn’t really feel much until 14 dpo, gives me hope, as I am only about 12 dpo today.

Leave a Reply

