She Says… All Good Things

FourLeafClover

Guess who stopped seeing red? Me.

Guess who has felt really full and bloated and had lower back pain for the last two days? Yeah, me.

Guess who is not doing a very good job of not getting her hopes up about being preggo? That’s right… me.

So, the bleeding has 99% stopped, which is a really, really good sign. It only lasted a day, but it certainly felt like an eternity. With every moment that passes, I am more and more convinced that it was implantation/breakthrough bleeding, which, of course, means that right now, as I type, I could have a little tiny bunch of cells burrowed into my uterine lining, multiplying and connecting to make a human life.

I just have to keep reality checking myself: there’s still only a 20% chance that we actually conceived. Can I just take a moment to say one thing? I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, but HOW ARE BABIES EVER MADE BY ACCIDENT?! Seriously. A 26 year old woman has only a 20% chance of conceiving each month, even when she knows when she’s ovulating. How does that ever happen without planning for it?

As it is, I’m experiencing lots of good signs that point toward pregnancy. But I still have to wait to take a pregnancy test. Today is 8 days past ovulation (dpo). I’m fairly certain the bleeding that I experienced was implantation bleeding at 7 dpo. The earliest I’ve read that one should take a home pregnancy test is 10 dpo. TWO MORE DAYS. I did a little research about the most sensitive home pregnancy tests (found this list to be the most comprehensive), and tonight I stopped at CVS and splurged on the slightly more expensive First Response Early Result test. Even though technically I guess I could have enough hCG for a positive on Friday, I’m going to wait until Saturday to test, or else I’ll go broke buying (and wasting) pregnancy tests!

Ok, enough obsessing. I can’t think about it anymore. My hopes are hopelessly high.

30 responses to “She Says… All Good Things

  1. Hey, I found your blog through a comment on another blog post about birth control pills… I think it was Mrs. LC’s. Can’t remember now. Good luck with everything πŸ™‚ I’m not currently trying to get pregnant, but I went off of the pill back in April and still no period. It makes me feel better than other women are experiencing this kind of crap, but it makes me so sad that birth control can really mess us up and no one says anything about it. Anyway, good luck again πŸ™‚

  2. I hope and pray this is it for you. My husband and I were trying to conceive for 2 years+. I am 26 as well. The earliest sign that was very obvious for me before I got my BFP was I was falling asleep during the day! (And I’m not a napper!) I am 16 weeks today and I have often wondered the same as you, how does this happen on accident??? We tried to get preggo every time I ovulated and it took 2 years!!! Good luck, Sending lots of sticky baby dust your way!!!

  3. I have my fingers crossed for you.

  4. Those are all good signs! And believe me, being one of those accident people 3 times in a row now, I have asked myself that question many times…especialy how did I not get pregnant back when I was in that unbelievable terrible 4 year relationship, but it only to me and my husband 1 day on our honeymoon to conceive…and the answer I keep coming up with is that it’s not about percentages…it’s about people, little tiny people that are meant to be in this world for a reason…if it’s meant to be it will be, regardless of some statistician’s research on percentages…

    Definitely praying this is your meant to be!!

  5. good luck – breathe!!! fingers are crossed.

  6. So exciting! Oh wait – I’m not helping am I? πŸ™‚

  7. Maggie, I know! Isn’t it crazy that even those of us buying organic food and eating a healthy diet don’t even really second-guess putting chemicals into our body every day through that little pill? And why doesn’t anyone (including the doctors that prescribe it like candy to teenage girls) tell you that your body might never be the same after taking it? I can’t necessarily blame the birth control for my anovulation, but certainly it masked a problem that has made my babymaking immensely more difficult than it needed to be!

    Brandi, CONGRATULATIONS! I can’t wait to be the one on the other side of that 20% statistic. I’m hoping it will be this month!

    Janette, Thank you! I woke up this morning feeling 100% normal — no cramps, no bleeding, no nothin’. So I hope I haven’t made all of this up in my mind! (Well, I know I didn’t make up the bleeding… but the other stuff? One can never be sure). Maybe all of these wonderful people hoping and praying for us will make it so?

    Amy, Ha! So YOU’RE one of those women πŸ™‚ That is such a beautiful description — it will happen when it’s supposed to happen. I just really hope it’s supposed to happen for me RIGHT NOW.

    Lynn (The Actors Diet), Thank you! Trying to breathe deeply and relax. NOT SO EASY WHEN I WOULD KILL FOR IT TO BE SATURDAY MORNING ALREADY! I’m going to try to go yoga today at lunch, even though I’ve been not working out the past few days out of nerves or whatever. Anything to pass the time, right?

    Tabitha, You’re helping by giving me something to do! Responding to comments passes the time πŸ™‚ And I love hearing from everyone, especially you! Hope your morning sickness has passed…

  8. Not to weaken your awesome willpower, but HCG is released from the moment of implantation…chances are you can test tomorrow or Friday…just sayin’ πŸ™‚

    Basically, I’m a terrible influence and so you should just ignore me.

  9. fingers and toes are crossed!

  10. This sounds promising!! Can’t wait for you to check on Saturday. I think all of the optimism can only help, and I’m sending a little extra your way!

  11. I randomly stumbled on your blog too. I have had the same issues. I went off of BC in January and got a period for 2 months and then nothing for 6 months. My doctor wouldn’t treat me until I hit 6 months and then she gave me provera. They did the ultrasounds and found some extra follicles hangin’ out but not enough for any kind of diagnosis. Oh and all of my hormones are normal. My doc refuses to refer me to an RE and wants to do most of the testing there even though they have no clue why I am not ovulating. I just turned 26 and my husband just came home from Iraq so we were hoping to get this started before there was any chance of him leaving again…

    Anyway, I will be crossing my fingers for the BFP.

  12. From one anovulating girl to another, I am hopelessly hopeful that this is your month. πŸ™‚ I think it is! Your story gives all of us no-period-after-BC girls so much optimism.

  13. Ha! I always wonder how all these teenagers end up pregnant without trying when I’m so aware of how slim the chances are each month!

  14. Nikol, You are bad! I have read that, but I’m trying to convince myself that my levels won’t be high enough until Saturday to register. Mostly because I don’t want to keep buying pregnancy tests, but also because I’m scared that it will be negative. Although, at least when I test early, I can write it off as “too early” rather than “not preggo”! Also, my adorable videographer of a husband wants to capture the moment on video (to share with you guys!), so we have to be prepped and ready. CAN’T WAIT.

    Erin and Karley, Thank you, I need all of those things!

    Cate, Thanks for commenting! Welcome to the crazy, mixed-up world of “I’m having trouble getting pregnant and I don’t know why”. It’s a rocky road, but chances are good that you’ll end up with a baby one way or another. From the symptoms you listed, it sounds like you may have the very same diagnosis as me! You may want to discuss the possibility of trying Clomid with your doc. It got me to ovulate, which may have been just the kick my body needed, since hormones and everything else looked good. Good luck to you!

    LizardRuns, I hope I can become the poster child for Clomid and give other anovulatory ladies hope! Ha!

    APlusB, I know, right? It’s bananas. There should definitely be a system based on how much you WANT a baby, not how lucky you are…

  15. Those do seem like good signs. I hope, hope, hope you get your +. I would advise against DPO 10 testing because it is not very accurate at all. But of course, there are people who get their + that day, and you seem to be very sure, so I’m sure you’ll test. I do hope you get your + and it’s a sticky bean and your trials are over. Here’s hoping!

  16. Stumbled across your blog and love it! We’re about 2 weeks behind you guys (finished our first round of clomid last week and just started OPKs) so you’re like trailblazers for us! Everything sounds great and i fully expect to read (watch?) your BFP very soon!!

  17. I’m so excited for you-
    I have not started trying yet, but I have identical ovulation issues, so it’s nice to feel less alone!

  18. Ooohhhh… yay! Best of luck holding out till Saturday!

  19. Esperanza, I know, you’re right, 10 dpo is very early to test. But at least this way I can not let myself get disappointed if it’s negative… I’ll just test again in a few days. If it’s negative on the 6th when I have my doc appointment, THEN I’ll be disappointed. Very disappointed. But not until then!

    Ettie, Yay, thanks for coming out of the closet and commenting! Good luck to you — who knew it could be so complicated!

    Josie, Thank you. You are DEFINITELY not alone! Hopefully I will get my positive this weekend and give you hope for your own someday.

    thebakerbee, Thanks. You know just how hard it is!

  20. good luck!!! i will be hoping and hoping for 4 leaf clovers on saturday. you definitely deserve something awesome.

  21. I’m sending lots of good thoughts your way!!

  22. This is so exciting, I hope, I hope for you!

  23. *FINGERS CROSSED* How exciting!

  24. haya, Thank you! I certainly think we do too πŸ™‚

    Nabeela, MyHormonesMadeMeDoIt, and Whit, Thank you, thank you, thank you! We are so excited. Trying to keep our heads about us… but still so excited. Last night in bed we were huddled under the covers chatting like little girls at a sleepover party. “I really hope you’re pregnant.” “Me too!” “What will we do on Saturday morning if it’s positive?”… etc.

    If we’re not pregnant this time around, we’re definitely going to be disappointed. But, as they say, there’s always next month! Now that I at least know (am 99% sure?) that I ovulated, I feel so hopeful about conceiving like normal people, even if it’s not this month.

  25. OH WOW! I’m so hopeful for you guys!

    It’s unfortunate but most of the time it’s good people like you and your husband who have a hard time conceiving and you are the very people who deserve to have a child because you have so much love to give!

  26. My positive thoughts and prayers are with you. I’m so glad to see progress since the last time I read your blog (sorry, many weeks ago). I think I bought a box of pregnancy tests from Sam’s Club and it was negative at 11 dpo, but then positive at 13 dpo. I also got very tired right away and had unbearable heartburn right away. I thought that implantation bleeding didn’t happen until around 6-7 weeks? Baby lives off of a yolk sac for the first several weeks until the placenta grows into the wall of the uterus. Hmmm.

    Are you signed up for BabyCenter.com? They have great articles and diagrams of embryo/fetal development and they send you weekly updates about the changes to your body. They also have a great pre-pregnancy/conception section.

    Best of luck – I’m rooting for you!

  27. Colleen, I know, it’s funny how that happens, eh? Thank you! Hopefully I’ll have good news to report very soon.

    Sam, Thanks for checking back! CONGRATULATIONS on your positive! It’s really good to hear that you got a negative at 11 dpo and then a positive. Definitely gives me hope if I don’t see the answer I want on Saturday. I have seen some of the BabyCenter chat boards, but I haven’t poked around the site very much. I will take a look — it’ll give me something else to do other than be anxious about testing!

  28. You’re on my prayer list, missy. I’m crossing my fingers for you!

  29. How are you feeling? Any more signs or symptoms?? Also, have you checked out the justmommies message board? It was a lifesaver for me during the time my husband and I were trying to conceive. Keeping you in my thoughts and prayers.

  30. Katie, Thank you! We need all the help we can get.

    Brandi, New post up for you about symptoms… although I’m going to feel pretty stupid if I’m not at all pregnant. But anyone who has ever TRIED to conceive will understand! πŸ™‚ I will check out justmommies, I’ve never looked there (ohmigod, there’s a baby website I haven’t looked at yet?!). Thanks!

Leave a Reply

