He Says… The Reader

So Kate went to her yoga class about fifteen minutes ago, but before she left she had to POAS (I really can’t believe I am using these acronyms…but Kate assures me they are common knowledge) for her OPK (man, I feel like a 13-year old girl).  But she had to run out the door to get to her class, so I was left to read the results.  I waited the requisite 10 minutes, and here is what we got:

posOPK

Now, I am not sure if this is a positive or not.  Looking back at Kate’s post from earlier this week, the line in that is clearly lighter (I guess when the line on the right matches the one on the left it is positive).  Maybe tomorrow it will be darker and match the control line.  I am not an expert on this certainly.  Anyways, Kate can look when she gets home from yoga and decide what it means.  Either way, I imagine we will decide to “cover our bases” today, so to speak.

It’s kind of weird to be getting all excited over this kind of test being (possibly) positive, as it’s really just a sign that she is ovulating…something which most women do regularly.  We still have to have luck in our favor that we will even get pregnant this time if she does ovulate.  Oh well, it’s still a step in the right direction.  Right?

6 responses to “He Says… The Reader

  1. Sorry to say, but that is definitely not a positive. I also want to say that those things never worked for me. I peed on OPK sticks for my first three months trying and I never got a definitive positive. I don’t know if its because I was drinking too much or not holding it in long enough, but I peed x2 a day for ten days and never got it. My temps showed that I have ovulated though so I know it wasn’t that. I just want to warn you that those things are not as amazing as they claim to be…

    Having said that I’m trying them again this cycle because it drives me crazy to have such a huge window for baby-making sex.

    PS I think it’s awesome that you’re contributing to the blog. I asked my husband to do the same, as he already runs a really well-respected music blog that puts on shows and records local bands and stuff. He is one of the main writers so I know he could do it. We shall see if I can convince him. Showing him your blog will definitely help, so thanks!

  2. I have no idea how to read those. People with pcos tend to get wonky readings on them and they don’t work right so I never tried. I hope you get a positive soon and get to try 🙂

  3. The common rule of thumb with POASing: a line, no matter how faint on an HPT is a positive, whereas on an OPK, it must be as dark as the control line to be positive. A woman always has some LH in her system, all month long, hence the uncertainty in a faint line.

    So, since you’re doing an OPK, no dice with the pic above. However, so many things come into play with an OPK — for example, what time did Kate POAS? Because unlike HPTs which should be done with FMU (first morning urine, another lovely acronym), OPK should definitely NOT be done with FMU. It takes the body several hours to synthesize LH, the hormone being tested for in OPKs. It should be tested no earlier than 6 hours after you wake up, and then the tester should have tried to not drink/pee for a couple of hours beforehand. Yeah, I’ve almost passed out from dehydration trying to get these things to work. Plus, sometimes the LH surge is less than 12 hours, so testing just once a day can miss it. I’ve had good luck with OPKs, but only when I can abide by the rules and test at about noon and 8pm.

    Hope that helps — from a fellow Boston IVFer ;).

  4. I’m going to jump in here and answer some of Benjamin’s comments 🙂 As it turns out, the picture posted above doesn’t really show how dark the pink line really is in person. And the last few days, I’ve gotten almost a completely blank square… so although they don’t match exactly, I think that the line above may possibly indicate the beginning or the end of an LH surge. It certainly is a lot different from the last few days’ results.

    Esperanza, I’m sorry the OPK’s didn’t work for you — it can be very frustrating when you don’t know when the important things are happening. Good luck this cycle!

    Low Fat Lady, True, I hadn’t thought about PCOS affecting the results. Hopefully I’m one of the lucky ones whose tests aren’t so thrown off?

    NoodleGirl, Thank you for the great information! I appreciate hearing how it has worked out for you. And you’re a fellow Boston IVFer! Hopefully you’ve had better results than I have so far 🙂 Like you said, it’s possible that the LH surge can last less than 12 hours, so I just dipped the stick again, hoping to figure out if it really “counts” as ovulation (it’s 8:00pm). Hope this one’s even darker!

  5. I wish I had something constructive to add to the discussion but I don’t since I haven’t used them before. I just wanted to say good luck and I think you should “cover your bases” just in case. 🙂

  6. I love that you are using the abbreviations. So funny! I really like that your blog has both of your perspectives. I hope you get a positive OPK soon!

Leave a Reply

